We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, dirty, BED BUGS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I booked a cabin. When we got there we went to look at it and it was extremely dirty and smelled like gas. When I went back to the office and told them the response was, "Again?" Seriously? We upgraded to a suite and it was dirty. We tried to make the best of it, but the second night my son woke me in the middle of the night as he was covered with bug bites. We pulled back the mattresses on both beds, and yes, bed bugs. I was so grossed out and I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMLESH P, Front Office Manager at Hunt's Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Maam
This is not true we offer to up grade you cause you said the cabin smelled like gas. Then the last day you was here and ready to check out you com into the office demanding a refund which was given to you. We ask if we could check this problem out you gave us excuse after excuse .Not to mention your friend who was staying here too did the same thing to us and she was refunded her full amount left before we could go check out this problem How many other motel/hotels have you done this too Are room are deep cleaned steam cleaned and housekeeping does their best to take care of the guest here I feel what you all did was wrong but we acted very professional about the whole thing with out getting loud as you all did

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Hunt's Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 360 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

As usual, Ken and his staff go above and beyond to make us feel at home. Each and everytime we come back, more improvements have been made, making this great place better! We have been returning for 3 years now and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTWigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is great! Very clean and comfortable..loved the pool and hot tub..not to mention the pier where I caught my very own fish! Wonderful hospitality..gave the group I was with free donuts and drinks in the morning. Friendly staff and I felt at home! Hunts Castle is a the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicy42o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visited 31-Mar-2013 thur 2-Apr-2013
Arrived and warmly greeted by manager. Received a room upgrade at same rate. Staff was courteous and helpful. Service was great ! Water front suite was Large, Main room is a combination / full sized kitchen / breakfast table & chairs ,and a den with cable TV, couch and a queen sized bed. Phone, alarm clock and Wi-fi provided . Kitchen had a nice new refrigerator-freezer, electric stove, microwave and Coffee maker. Bathroom had two sinks and shower with room for two. Bed room had comfortable queen sized bed, cable TV and alarm clock. Floors had been freshly mopped and rooms were clean and neat. Breathtaking View of the water beautiful sunrises here. Swimming pool and jacuzzi right at the front door. Location cannot be any better. Water street is the prime location in Rockport for a hotel as well a Home, lots of history here . Great time walking along quaint little boulevard. Bring your bikes. Many attractions, Texas' only blue water beach. Restraunts offer up fresh seafood to Italian to Mexican food. Shops nearby offer antiques as well as beautiful paintings by local artists.
Really nice place to relax. Will definately return here. Oh Yes ,Very long pier with Green fish-luring lights at night.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are the best for pool fun and beautiful views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 271Richard271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we had the best time wth our 5 and 7 year old grandsons.view heavenly. nice family place. owner and all staff very friendly and nice. only thing that would have made it better would have been the cooperation of the weather. thank you everyone. the carlton family

Room Tip: 3d floor. sea side
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carltonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

the price and size of the room were excellent. but after the first nite we found out that the floor had probably never been mopped. walking around in the room barefoot or with socks in about ten minutes the bottoms were black i took pictures if you want to see them this is no lie. i have stayed at this hotel since it was built and before. i know they do not mop cause this morning while we were packing i observed the cleaning crew cleaning and never saw them once with a mop bucket. i saw a mop on their cart but never once did i see them use it. if u have babies or toddlers i would not advise letting them crawl around on the floors. the bathroom floor was actually sticky it was so dirty.door jams were cracked and falling apart. the microwave had so much rust on the inside i wouldn't even warm my dogs food in there. the pier is nice and the people were friendly the pool is clean but the hot tub was green. they either need management that looks at what the cleaners do or new cleaners all together i never even heard a vacuum running or anything while they cleaned. looks like all they do is change the sheets and put towels and toilet paper. this place is gonna start losing business if they don't clean better.oh and there was a plug with exposed wires not very safe for small children.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAREDISE, Manager at Hunt's Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Mr Thorton
First let me say i truely apologize for the present condition of your room. As you know we are in the process of hiring new housekeepers. Sir I do unstand the seriosness of this and we are addressing the problem both in housekeeping and maintance departments. And again I apologize for the inconvence of your stay. If there is anything that the manangement here can do to get you to come back please feel free to le us know by emaill or phone

Thank You
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived to find our reservation had not been forwarded by Expedia, although we had a confirmation number! However, we were given an upgrade for the same price. Our first impression was that the whole place needed a very thorough cleaning - thick dust on the fan blades, a loaf of bread left in a cupboard. The room was obviously meant for longer stays as there was a complete kitchen, but no cutlery, dishes, cooking pans etc. We did not require any of this, but ask about it if a long stay is planned. There was a full bed and bunk beds in our room - pefect for a family. By the time we left, we would go back in a flash! The staff was very friendly and helpful. A number of good restaurants were recommended. The best thing of all was the fabulous location. On a one way street, basically at the end of the road, and on the water, the hotel features a balcony all along the front with comfortable rocking chairs by each unit. Morning coffee sitting in the chairs, watching the gulls, and waving to the apparent "locals" walking their dogs or doing an early morning jog was a very memorable experience. We did not use the swimming pool or hot tub, but were able to look down on them and they appeared well-maintained and clean. The hotel boasts a private, 1/4 mile long pier with green lights that light up the water - and are a great landmark at night from far down the beach. We were easily able to find our way home! Walking out on the pier at night was the highlight of the stay. Everything was so quiet, including the people fishing who would suddenly appear out of the shadows, and who were actually catching fish! There are benches along the way. Chilly while we were there, but we noted the barbecue pits and tables as well as the kayak and paddle boats. If ever back at a warmer time, we'll definitely take a dust cloth and book for a longer time!

Room Tip: A room on the front is a must!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 20 in Rockport
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunt's Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunt's Castle Hotel

Address: 725 S Water St, Rockport, TX 78382-2439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $68 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunt's Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have one of the longest piers in Rockport lit up with green lights. We also have music on Friday and Saturday. A newly added boardwalk in front with BBQ pits. Paddleboat rentals and kayaks A swimming pool and a hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hunt's Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunt`s Castle Hotel Rockport
Hunts Castle Rockport
Hunts Castle Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing