We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, Nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sportsman Manor Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice place, Nice price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed two nights and loved it. Great place to meet and visit with friends. Covered pavilion with picnic tables, pool tables, hot tub & swimming pool. Rooms were clean, plenty of hot water, tile floors, fridge, sink/counter, stove & microwave, dinning table in my room. Fantastic view of sunrise over the bay. No coffee in room but plenty in the office. If you are expecting a Crowne Plaza or a Westin for $60, you will be disappointed. But if you want a comfy place on the water for family/friends this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRiderTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    37
    24
    15
    33
See reviews for
80
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harker Heights,TX
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

Be sure you lock everything up. I wrote the manager a letter of complaint but did not received a reply. Michael A. Jeffrey 1126 Cedar Oaks Lane Harker Heights , 76548

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rockport hotels

San Antonio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

I am a state Licensed Home Inspector out of San Antonio and I have stayed here Many times. I find the Rooms and Pool Clean and Well Maintained, the atmosphere and the area is Great, Relaxing Fun. The owner Mr. B is always on the premises taking care of business ! This motel is 50 feet from Fulton Beach road , which is ON the water, There is a well Lit New Pier . The Prices are (2) bed / (1) room about $50-$75.00 a night depending on the Season....... If you are used to a $250.00 a night Motel , there is One a mile away from here- Go Stay there, This place has everything you need at a Very Good Price !

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank precisioninsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sportsmanmanormotel, owner at Sportsman Manor Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
We would like to apologize for any money that turned up missing.We were not aware or infomed of this happening.We have not recieved a letter as stated in your review.
The time of the stay was March of 2007, but the review was not posted until Feb 2010, we would take any report of anything missing from a room seriously and have never had any questions about the honesty or integrity of our employees.
Any questions you have regarding this matter please feel free to call my cell phone # 361-688-4711 and ask for MR. B.
Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

It would be easy to rip this place as there are many things that can be improved upon. I had read previous reviews and can confirm a few of the bad parts. Our room had a particular odor, which needed some Fabreeze to cover , there was a smoke detector..unplugged and stashed under the night stand and the small pool was accompanied by a hot tub with an interestingly colored water. (I didn't dare step into check the "hotness" of said tub.) What you will find is motel with a friendly staff, very friendly occupants and a very laid back atmosphere. I would have to say that the overwhelming majority of people who stayed here don't often read web reviews or care how many stars their lodge has. Just about everyone had a fishing rod in tow as there are many places to fish, including an on site pier. Rockport Beach is about 5 minutes away, and I dare say is one of the best FAMILY beaches in Texas. If your looking for a no frills place, with a great location for a decent price - this is your place. If your in need of turn down service, a USA Today at your door every morning, room service and valet parking keep on going.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPrestonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Driving up to the room door to park, I noticed litter all over the sidewalk and parking lot. Bees buzzing all over a nasty trash can right outside our room door. I have never seen so many cigarette butts in one place. Floor was dirty and the bar soap was awful.
Rockport is a great place to fish and visit Mustang Island State park but next time I will be staying somewhere clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMaillady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

The room reeked of chemicals when we walked in. It was so bad we had to get fabreeze. Even though it was a "Kitchenette" you couldn't have paid me to cook on that stove, as if you had anything to cook with. Apparently you have to bring all your own utensils. There is no Sea View as promised but the driveway is on the water. We stayed three nights and our room was serviced one time. The cleanliness of the sheets was questionable at best. There is no cell service for AT&T in the room and the phone does not work. I went down and talked to the manager who promised to "be right down" to check on it. That was the last we saw of him. They are rude, their breakfast consists of coffee and not much else. If you want to get internet access you have to go outside to get a decent signal and then you have to beg for the password to connect. It's their fax number by the way. Please, save yourself some money and go to Aransass Pass or on into Corpus Christie. Don't bother with this place. It really SUCKS!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcdown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria,tx.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

Me and a buddy wanted to spend a couple nights,but we stayed only one night. Our room smelt like dirty laundry.The fire alarm was just hanging from the ceiling. We stayed our second night at another hotel. The people that checked in next to us left as soon as they opened the door. Our fishing trip was a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfishVictoria_tx_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
4.3 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
1.0 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Manor Motel

Property: Sportsman Manor Motel
Address: 1075 N Fulton Beach Rd, Rockport, TX 78382-7659
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sportsman Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sportsman Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Manor Hotel Rockport
Sportsmans Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing