We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go in Cold Weather or During Spring Break Season”

Boiling Pot Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 99 Restaurants in Rockport
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Don't Go in Cold Weather or During Spring Break Season”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This joint was highly recommended to us and we drove up while vacationing in Corpus Christi. We went for dinner with our three young children, but didn't realize that it was an hour commute from where we were staying, so we arrived later than we expected. When we arrived, the place was packed with college kids who were all drinking, but we stayed because it was late, our young kids were starving, and we had already taken note that this was the only restaurant we had seen on the drive up that was still open. It was very cold that night, and the only sitting available was on the patio. The food was just okay, and the servers essentially ignored us to attend to the drinking college students. It took forever for the food to arrive at the table. It was very expensive, and I felt very over-priced for what we actually received.

  • Visited March 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirbyBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    116
    72
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Drive on by”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I wish we had read the reviews before we joined friends here. All of the previous reviews are true. The only thing we have to add is that the Key Lime Tort is small, mostly whipped topping out of a can, and the crust needed the crab hammer to break it up. Not a great seafood place. The waitress was nice and tried to joke with us but it just didn't make enough atmosphere to equal the price of an overpriced and over advertised meal.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keliana_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not for everyone”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Very limited menu. You can either get the sampler which is about $18 or you can order ala carte. That's it. We, 3 of us, ordered the sampler and added a 1/2 pound of shrimp. We had water with our meal and the bill was still $30 at lunch. What they do is put everything in a pot - whole peel and eat shrimp, sausage, corn, 1 whole crab, new potatos and dump it on your table for everyone to dig in. No silverware, no plates. If you've never had to pinch the head off of a shrimp, it's a little gross for those a bit squeemish. In fairness, we didn't know what we were getting into, and I would bet during the summer it might be a fun place. Not for the food, but for the atmosphethere and the band. Been there, done that, won't go back.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank advicebygrege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst place ever......”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

This "restaurant" is by far the worst experience ever. Should have listened to the wife as we approached the entrance, she started to rebel. It looks like a "DUMP" on the outside and inside was just as bad, atmosphere??? and we paid dearly for that atmosphere. Everything on the menu (except oysters on the half shell, very good) was boiled and boiled and boiled. My wife not wanting to stay, yielded when the waitress said the the BOILED shrimp were of a GOOD size. So she ordered the ONE POUND shrimp bowel (shrimp, corn and potatoes). Well the waitress never mentioned the shrimp had the heads on, bottom line take the heads off and you end up with one half the edible shrimp if you could peel them, could not peel the shrimp. Do the addition, double the price of the meal and the Chinese buffet looks like a great deal I opted for the stone crab 1/2 pd and 1pd crawfish. Out of the one pound of crawfish I could hold and peel MAYBE three of them, over cooked, like "mush". Stone crab tastless frozen.

After all said and done, the waitress compted my wifes shrimp and we walked out paying the tab of $48.00 W/O tip,= 1/2 pound stone crab, 1 pound crawfish, 1/2 dz oysters on the half shell 2 soft drinks. We are traveling the country for the 4th winter and this is by far the biggist rippoff for POOR FOOD.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BingoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just GOOD”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Ate at several restaurants on our trip. This one was good, but that's it. Service was fair. I think there were ten employees and nine were teens. People from out of town dine here for the atmosphere. Its worth going once if you have never been, but for the price, it isn't great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovethesun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boiling Pot Restaurant also viewed

 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Boiling Pot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing