We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-the-top service for a charming, delightful get-a-way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlelight Cottages by the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight Cottages by the Beach
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Over-the-top service for a charming, delightful get-a-way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The experience started off with the most accommodating and kind owner, who --in his laid back way -- worked with me , with my weird circumstances! Our plans kept changing, and I never quite knew if I could pull off the trip. He was very flexible and made it easy for me...even when I also asked for an early check-in! This is the best customer service I have ever had, truly.

Then , the place itself was a dream. Even though I had low expectations about a trip to Rockport, i was delighted with this cottage ....and the beaches, and the city. The place is adorable, with the shaded picnic table, the bbq grill, the free wifi, the set table, the well stocked kitchen, the plush bedding, the lighted candles, the cleanliness...everything was perfect! I can not wait to return!

Also, the location was ideal...close to the beach, nice neighborhood, not much traffic, no street noise, no loud crazy residents, plenty of parking, all for a quick in/out to the beach!

Room Tip: Cottage F could easily accommodate 4, and it only has one neighbor...has more green space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bschmidtandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We just got back from a two-night stay at Candlelight Cottages in Rockport. This place is really amazing. We stayed in the family cottage (Cottage A), which is basically the upstairs of a house. I was blown away by how neat, clean, and well-appointed this place was. When we came in, the lights were on for us, music was playing softly, and there was a welcome basket in the kitchen with all kinds of snacky foods - a really nice touch. Everything was super neat and clean. There is no check-in desk like at a hotel, and no one bothers you at all the entire time. It is in a quaint, quite little area about two blocks from the beach. The beach was fantastic and exactly what we were looking for - almost no one was around, it was quiet, and there was plenty of room for us to dig in the sand and play in the water. We had a fantastic time in Rockport, and I know that staying in Candlelight Cottages was a big part of it - this trip would not have had the same "awesome beach trip" feel to it had we stayed at the Days Inn. Wish we could have stayed another night, but they were booked. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JK7909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is how you take the family to the beach. Beautiful little "cottage". Full kitchen, washer/dryer, 1 bedroom and a pullout bed in the living area. We walked in and there was music playing on the DirecTV, a candle burning, and a welcome basket with some chips, cookies and bottled water. Place was very well kept and my daughter wanted to live there. Are there cheaper places to stay? Sure, but I wanted something nice and close to the beach. This was above my expectations. I would recommend this place to anyone with a family or anyone looking for something with that little extra you won't get in your typical hotel. Already planning my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speedrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The wife and I frequent Rockport and the Candlelight. Beautiful place and kept up very nicely. The owner takes care of you and respects your privacy. Highly recommend travelers stay there and won't regret it. This place has been our only place to stay in and Rockport itself is a great place to visit as well.

Room Tip: All his rooms are nice. We liked F the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtanner63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnett, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

These cottages are nice! They are new, clean, neatly decorated, smell fresh (no musty/mildew or fishy smell) and well equipped for the traveler. The washer/dryer unit in our cottage came complete with laundry detergent. The cottage itself came with a welcome basket full of snacks and bottled water (nice touch). The porch had two large rocking chairs and a bbq grill. They even welcomed our small dog. Our kids can't wait to go back. They loved the large checker board on the picnic table outside our cottage and the horseshoes set up in the side yard.

Room Tip: We called instead of booking online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FutureWinterTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We always stay at Candlelight when in Rockport. After staying in every hotel there, we found the cottages to be immaculate, well appointed and management will go the extra mile to make every guests comfortable. It is always very quiet and the beach is just across the street, so that is very convenient. They have a new observation deck that we thoroughly enjoy. All in all, this is truly a gem in Rockport, and I would never stay any place else.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the cottages. They are all great, well appointed and the main thing...they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fergie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We wanted to stay someplace new since our longtime place to stay is being parceled and sold. We were a little leery of the "pet friendly" status that the place might have a pet odor, but it did not. We were in cottage D. Later we found a Febreze deodorizer stuck in an electrical outlet, which had its own strong odor, so we unplugged it. The place was very clean. We really liked the big screen TVs and the 2 rocker recliners. I would have liked a bigger container to boil pasta in, although the owner could have probably come up with one if I would have called and asked. The mattress was covered with vinyl, which is a good thing nowadays. We were there during the week, and it was very quiet. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Heartlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.8 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Cottages by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Cottages by the Beach

Property: Candlelight Cottages by the Beach
Address: 612 N Wood St, Rockport, TX 78382-2800
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing