We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEYOND SATISFYING!”
Review of Shempy's Grill

Shempy's Grill
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
south padre island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEYOND SATISFYING!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ate here for the first time since moving to Rockport last year ... charming, busy place with the best Soft Shell Crabs I have ever eaten - split em with my hubby and we were beyond satisfied. Even better you can BYOB and they will ice it down for you in a bucket at the table. Room for improvement - the hush puppies, and the cold slaw - improved those and it would be a 5 star rating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveLifeLove222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    69
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You will love this place”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I have been going here for years love the place. My wife. Not being a beach person finally joined me on a trip and I took her here now it. Is a must on our list every time. LOL The food is great the service very friendly and you never leave feeling wonderfully satisfied. It's very small but I have never really had to wait very long to eat but don't be in a hurry because the wait is totally worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A favorite stop each time we go to Rockport”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Recommended to us by a Rockport resident,, this little diner is always busy but well worth it. The lobster bisque is excellent! The hush puppies and bread pudding are deliciously different and our seafood is always cooked to perfection.
Casual family atmosphere with friendly service; prices are in line with other area restaurants.

Note: Our last visit was on a festival weekend AND the first weekend of spring break. Though busier than ever, the service was still friendly and food just as good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank calico9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food undercover”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Food was wonderful with friendly service. Crab shack look. Ate there twice and was same good food. Come as you are dress.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoutout14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Shrimp and soft shell crab combo was good but shrimp could have come out of the fryer a minute earlier. Very Done and hush puppies oddly very sweet like rolled in sugar. Not my favorite. My date had redfish and enjoyed it very much. BYOB. Very casual.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kitsuanddate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shempy's Grill also viewed

 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shempy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing