We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texas Maritime Museum

Texas Maritime Museum
Ranked #6 of 39 things to do in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The kids loved this and was a nice way to cool off from the heat! Very educational. We will be back to visit:)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank targuijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    51
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Every museum is very interesting it even showed us where the aquarium was which is our next visit. Heading to the aquarium tomorrow

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
338 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Long Lost Ships”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is our first trip to the museum and it was really interesting. The people working there were terrific to explain things. This was built to educate people about a French ship that was lost 300 years ago off the coast of Rockport and eventually a lot of the ship and artifacts were recovered. It Shares the coastal experience a lot of the local history. A really fun and educational place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Rockport Festival of Wine and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We first visited the Rockport Festival of Wine and Food last year after becoming residents of the great city of Rockport, TX. There are over 100 varieties of wines, food demonstrations, vendor booths, and some of the best music in the coastal bend. The festival is held on the ground on the grounds of the Texas Maritime Museum. We volunteered at the festival last year, had a blast and plan on doing the same this year!

In addition, if you're looking for somewhere to learn about the rich maritime history of the Texas Coastal Bend you might want to check out the Texas Maritime Museum prior to heading to the wine festival. It's a small museum, but packed with all types of interesting artifacts and exhibits. The museum is supported solely on the graciousness of donors and they have two major fund raisers each year. The Festival of Wine and Food is one of those major fund raisers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

There's quite a bit to take in here. I bought a membership to really take my time section by section but I think it's a must see for anyone passing thru the area. Beautifully laid out. I think families with young kids might be disappointed but that's just my opinion. Very nice staff. Great view from the upper outdoor area. Especially informative if you have an interest in the local Texas history. I learn a few new things everytime I go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank davaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing