We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Maid Service”
Review of Pelican Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Maid Service”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. There was no soap in the bathroom. A girl came by in the morning and asked me if we needed towels or our trash emptied and I said "Not right now."
We left shortly after and we left the sign on the door requesting service. When we got back that night, our room had not been cleaned and no one brought us clean towels. I had to run to the office in the rain the next morning to get clean towels. We are not the type of people who like to complain but I just feel that for what we paid, we should have received maid service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I just the Memorial day weekend at this lovely little vacation resort in Rockport,Tx.
we rented our own little cottage in this complex, and were very pleased with our accommodations.
We had a beautifully decorated one bedroom cottage, with a fully equipped kitchen.The fully equipped kitchen included a dishwasher, large refrigerator with ice maker, coffee maker,and toaster. The bathroom was very nice and included glass blocks to let in natural light. Did I mention that this complex is pet friendly? We brought our two Lhasa Apsa's, who enjoyed walking to the complex's long pier at the end of the property. My husband enjoyed fishing off of this pier. Pelican Bay also has hotel rooms available, a lodge, and a community room.We found the accommodations to be very clean and wanting for nothing. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were very happy at the Pelican Bay Resort for a quick weekend getaway. We loved that it was dog-friendly and had its own fishing pier. We were able to fish and even caught a few!

The hot tub and pool area was nice, though I didn't realize until too late on my last morning--hoping for a quick soak--that you have to call ahead for the hot tub heat to be turned on!

The cottages are nice and really quiet. The oak tress that surround them are enchanting. There were a few bugs in the cottage, but that's to be expected at the coast.

We're already ready to come back--hopefully for a longer stay next time!

Room Tip: 8C was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank socodivka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I had stayed here a few years ago and thought it was great! However, they obviously have not done any repairs,rennovations or updating in quite a while. Bed lumpy. Wallpaper in bathroom peeling and dirty. Blood splatters on wall in bedroom!! Hideaway bed broke. Couch smelled bad. No internet hookup in room. Wifi in clubhouse spotty. TV reception in and out. Cottage was quiet. They took dogs which is why we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2texanstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

So many places online look great until you get there. Pelican Bay Resort cottages look exactly like the their website photos! Their staff are all very nice and the rooms are very clean and especially like the blackout curtains in the bedroom. AC kept the room at 68 degrees even in this 100 degree weather! The resort is not within walking distance to my view the best restaurant in Rockport, Charolette Plummers, however the drive their is about 3 minutes. What we didn't use but will when we go back is their pier into the bay was very long, nicely built, lighted with several fish cleaning stations with a water hose! Can't believe we didn't try our luck! Lastly, searched Rockport for pet friendly places and Pelican Bay loved our pet! Thanks Bianca!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a very well managed and maintained facility. The staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful. We came to relax, enjoy the beach at Rockport and do some fishing; all of which we accomplished. It is a nice stroll to the waterfront and pier, but it's worth the walk. We are already booking our return trip to stay even longer the next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amatuer_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed in C14 (cottage 14) and it was wonderful! It was a one-bed bedroom, bathroom and large living room. The air conditioning was fabulous & responsive; the bed had some sort of topper (like maybe a pillow top) under the fitted sheet, so it was very comfortable; the living room had an incredible kitchenette with a dinette table/4 chairs, an electric range/oven, a microwave, a spacious fridge/freezer, plenty of countertop with sink, a dishwasher, and get-this, real glass china & glasses in the cupboards!!
The restroom had a hair dryer, a shower/tub, and toiletries. There was a coffeemaker with supplies, and even some snacks like a granola bar. There were two TVs, one in the living and other in the bed room. GET THIS—There were two extra pillows and an extra blanket in the closet! The linens on the bed seemed amply cleaned/bleached and the pillows were very acceptable. There were lots of end tables, and in the living room was a sofa and a micro-fiber recliner! The ONLY complaint I had was the sofa looked a little, shall I say, well-worn. Oh, did I mention there’s a working, built-in ice maker in the freezer? Another glitch was that the ice maker rumbled periodically throughout the night. There was a porch with two rocking chairs—we were hoping for a good rain as an excuse to sit out there and just appreciate some nature, but it didn’t happen.
There’s a nice pool and spa/hot tub that are actually shaded under old oak trees. The “bubbles” switch/timer worked just fine and the spa was properly about 105 degrees or so. There were courtesy towels at the pool—how generous is that? And then, there’s the path down to the ocean, pier & waterfront gazebo! It’s lighted and relatively safe in the dark. You can fish off of the pier or just absorb nature.
We regret not staying there more nights. I also recommend Butter Churn Restaurant in Aransas Pass.

Room Tip: C14 (see above for info) is tailored for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmsatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
4.3 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#16 of 20 in Rockport
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay Resort

Property: Pelican Bay Resort
Address: 4206 Highway 35 N, Rockport, TX 78382-7712
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely the finest accommodations in Rockport/Fulton, Texas, the Pelican Bay Resort features free-standing New England-style cottages and poolside mini-suites nestled among the shady live oaks for which the Rockport/Fulton area is famous. Minutes away from the best restaurants in town, and only a short walk away from Aransas Bay and our 400 foot lighted fishing pier and gazebo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing