We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of character even though a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in a 1st floor bayview room. The rockers outside our door were fun. The beds and room were a bit tired but the good old fashion beach feeling made all that seem minor. Housekeeping forgot to replenish basics for the 2nd night. Terrific breakfast buffet compared to most. Fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, sausage. Great orange juice. There is a full bar that serves some sandwiches and appetizers. The pool and jacuzzi area were adequate, the fitness center had a good view but the equipment was tired and the treadmill dangerously torn on the walking surface. 3 good restaurants within walking distance. It's quit windy there and no beach area. Fishing seems to be the thing to do but we occupied ourselves even with no poles. The staff was helpful with lunch recommendation to Paradise Key. You wont' find it without directions but it's a must.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredlady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 960 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

Waterfront keepers cabin
3rd floor bayside two queens. Nice room with small tub combo. Desk and chair and recliner. Robes and bedding worn, towels fine. Balcony with two rockers and small table. I really appreciate that the air conditioner was quiet even though it vented to the balcony. I didn’t have to turn it off to use the balcony. Walking distance to a few good restaurants. Clean pool and area. Housekeeping polite and consistent. Hot breakfast included. Free wired internet so don’t forget your ethernet cable for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXStoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

The personnel were lovely and very attentive, rooms were great (overlooked the pool) and appointed nicely but the bed was a little hard but passable. Pool/hot tub were great and the "gym" really just a couple of treadmills were very nice in that they looked out over the water. Breakfast was terrific...don't get many places now who serve full breakfast for free...and you got to watch the shrimp boats come in while you ate. Unlike other reviewers we did NOT love the Italian restaurant down the street. Quite a pretty setting - quiet and cozy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Nice cozy family run place. Highlight of our stay was seeing two dolphins from the dock attached to the back of the hotel. You could probably see them from your balcony if you get a seaward facing room. Nice cozy library at front corner of lobby was a nice place for quiet reading. Great family place-walk to several local seafood places. Near Whooping Crane tours, Aransas NWR and Goose Island State park. Stayed with wife and 2 kids.

All the ocean-facing rooms were booked but our room looked down on small garden so--not bad at all--but assuming we go to rockport again we'll book earlier for an ocean-facing room.

Only downside, my son found some flip-flops and a soda can under the bed from previous guest-so maybe the maids aren't getting into all the corners. Room was clean other than this.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernerjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed here for two nights, and although I would consider staying here again, it probably wouldn't be my first choice. My main selling point on any hotel stay is the comfort of the beds. My suggestion would be an upgrade in mattresses. The beds are the "not so much" in my title statement. Also, don't expect to stay in and eat. The dinner they serve in their bar area is not worth eating. Although, the drinks at the bar were pretty good. Also, their complimentary breakfast was decent. Overall, the stay was enjoyable....the lack of comfortable beds will negate my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

superb location,views to die for,peace & quiet, lovely rooms,huge bathroom.rocking chairs on balcony were fab,breakfast good,pool lovely.
Only bad thing,man on reception very rude & no smiles checking in or out, get him on a course of customer service!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights here, but wish we had spent more time there. The hotel offers all the amenities including plush robes! A hot complimentary breakfast includes eggs, bacon or sausage, hash browns, fresh fruit, etc. & you are right on the water. The staff could not have been nicer. The pool is not heated and was rather cold, but we were there in early April. One recommendation for a restaurant was a disappointment. . .one of the staff at the front desk recommended crab cakes at the Moondog restaurant and we personally didn't think they were that good. Also, I booked the 2 nights by phone the night before our stay and they quoted me a rate for the 2 nights. When we checked in, they gave us a higher rate for Friday night, but when I showed them my notes (I had them give me a total price including taxes for the 2 nights) and they gave me the lower weekly rate for both nights--no problem at all.
We absolutely enjoyed our stay & it exceeded our highest expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
18 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Address: 200 S Fulton Beach Rd, Rockport, TX 78382-7736
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $99 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Inn is the perfect choice for a vacation on the Texas coastal bay, with full-service accommodations in the beautiful Aransas Bay. Relax and enjoy a laid back Texas getaway with luxurious guest accommodations and amenities and our friendly staff. Positioned at the entrance of Fulton Harbor with a magnificent view of Aransas Bay, enjoy modern amenities, shoreline access and our excellent location close to local attractions and things to do in the Texas Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Aransas Bay Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel At Aransas Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing