We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep I've ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a King Suite on the bayside. Clean, comfortable bed, ice cold A/C, balcony with beautiful bay views, dolphins swimming close to the hotel in the morning, and Starbuck's coffee (reg and decaf)! I love this place! Sure, there may have been signs of slight wear & tear (i.e., wallpaper in bathroom needed some repair, some rust on the side fo the fridge), but overall, the room was clean, the location was great and waking up to the sound of seagulls was just what I needed! We'll definitely stay here again! The only negative thing I could say is that the fitness room could use a makeover. The treadmill wasn't working, and the seat on one of the bikes didn't work (couldn't adjust it). The view, however, was fantastic! The pool and hot tub also looked nice, but we didn't use. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay. I am very pleased that you found almost everything to your liking. We are working on getting the treadmill up and running as well fixing the seat on the bike. The view for the exercise room is spectacular but we must have all of the equipment operational to really enjoy the experience. We hope that you will be back with us soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 960 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Once again I have to compliment the management and staff the Light House Inn. After a long drive we were greeted with a friendly hello and after getting settled into our room a call to make sure everything was OK. The view from the third floor bat side is unbelievable. The sun rise over the pier with dolphins swimming by left my daughters excited to come back. Both managers, Brian and Judy engaged us in conversation and wanted to make sure we had the best time. Breakfast, pool, bar, steak dinner...you almost do not need to leave.

Room Tip: Bays side or pool side...stayed in both. Kids like the pools side but the view on the bay side is am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDannyMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dr. McCoy, it was so good to see you and the family again. Thank you for taking the time to write this wonder review. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Kingsville to see the Blue Angel as much as you did the Dolphins swimming just off our fishing pier. I know the girls enjoyed the swimming pool from all the pictures you took! We all are looking forward to seeing you back again this summer.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

From Mike S.

Over the last few years my wife and I have stayed at the Light House Hotel 5 or 6 times and our last visit was at the end of March 2014. The Light House is right on the bay and the upper floor rooms have a balcony from were you can watch the fishing boats come and go while having coffee in the morning or wine in the afternoon. The hotel was very busy with a wedding party; however, the staff received us in a friendly manner and our bayside room was ready for us. The hotel has a nice bar and a small restaurant plus there are several restaurants in walking distance. This is a great place to stay while visiting Rockport which has some interesting attractions like the maritime museum in downtown Rockport. This hotel is not the Ritz; however, it is the best hotel in Rockport. I also don't understand how a current reviewer who was attending the wedding party gave such a negative review as my experience and hers were not about the same hotel!

Room Tip: The bayside rooms are worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Mike, thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The staff does work very hard at providing a high level of customer service and it so nice that you recognized their efforts. There really are a lot of things to do and see in Rockport-Fulton. Several within walking distance as you pointed out. We ALL look forward to you next visit!
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We came for a destination wedding and stayed in a captains suite facing the water. There was a nice balcony with a wonderful view--very relaxing. The hotel is old but well-maintained. There is a complete kitchen and small sitting area. The signs on the entry door stating check-in was at 3pm were a little overkill--but having traveled quite often, you cannot always check-in early so not surprised. The staff was working hard to get the rooms ready as soon as other people checked out and but could have been less impatient with guests who had to get dressed for a wedding after driving from other parts of Texas. There was a pleasant place to sit and complimentary coffee was available.
The room had a certain old world charm with old fashioned door trims and moldings. The bathroom was clean. The bedroom was small; no luggage racks so either put the suitcase on the couch in the living room or on the floor. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were HARD. They need replacing. Wi-fi worked well when I connected.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would love to come back and make use of the full kitchen and enjoy the sights in the area. (probably bring my own pillow)

Room Tip: be sure to get a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about your stay this past weekend. The wedding kept all the staff hopping but it turned out to be a great weekend. I am sorry that your room did not have a luggage rack. There should have been one in the closet in your bedroom but was not .We do purchase new pillows each month and certainly can be more efficient in weeding out the harder ones. We all look forward to you next, longer stay, when you can utilize the full kitchen and more.
Sincerely,

Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our visit to this hotel was not pleasant. Starting with the "reception" at check in, the employees were NOT accommodating in the least. Check-in time is 3:00 pm and check-out time is 12:00 pm and there are two huge handwritten signs on the entry doors announcing that fact - HOW TACKY IS that??? We were directed to stay at the hotel because we were part of a large wedding party that was using most of the rooms. I have always been under the impression that hotels should display gracious warmth and hospitality and be especially accommodating to large groups using their facility. NOT THE CASE HERE!! Since we were only able to stay one night and the wedding was not until 4:00 pm on the second day, we asked if we could have check out a little later than 12:00 pm. Their negative response was so swift and so emphatic that it took me by surprise. It was especially surprising when on our second day at the hotel we went out to breakfast and when we returned to our rooms around 11:30 the front desk staff stopped us to verify we would be leaving by noon!! I was astounded at their rude behavior and will never even consider this dirty, tired disgusting hotel ever again.

The pictures do not tell the true story of this hotel. It screams for painting, updating, refreshing, pest control, and cleaning. The bathrooms are circa 1970, the mattresses and pillows are not at all comfortable, there is not enough parking, and all that is in addition to the extremely rude and inhospitable management.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank LisaHouTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this candid review about your recent stay at the hotel. The typed and laminated signs were posted on the entrance doors because we had received so many requests from the wedding guests for late checkouts and requests for early check-ins for the same wedding. I apologies for any inconvenience this may have cause you. I will use your comments as a training tool to remind my team and myself that above all customer service comes first.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I spent a 3 day weekend at The Lighthouse Inn and were very pleased with this place. Our room was comfortable (king bed suite, so we had a kitchen). The balcony facing the bay gave us the opportunities to watch the oyster boats come in to Fulton Harbor in the late afternoon, and to see the porpoises playing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And the complementary breakfast was generous.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the bay offer the extra of watching birds and porpoises in the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryC4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the view from your balcony. We feel it is the best view in the Coastal Bend. I very much appreciate the kind comments about the accommodations, breakfast and especially the staff. We are grateful that you stayed with us and look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a nice place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful, even providing a discount based on purpose for our trip to Rockport which was fishing with a guide. View of bay was very nice. Very large king bed with small living area and kitchenette provided everything we needed and was nicely decorated (especially for a coastal inn). Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: We liked the waterfront view and ad a suite which wasn't too pricey when compared to some places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay. I am pleased to see that you took advantage of the discount program we have with our local fishing guides. They do such a great job of taking care of you on the Bays and we hope that we in turn take care of you here at the hotel. We all hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.3 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
150 reviews
18 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Address: 200 S Fulton Beach Rd, Rockport, TX 78382-7736
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $99 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Inn is the perfect choice for a vacation on the Texas coastal bay, with full-service accommodations in the beautiful Aransas Bay. Relax and enjoy a laid back Texas getaway with luxurious guest accommodations and amenities and our friendly staff. Positioned at the entrance of Fulton Harbor with a magnificent view of Aransas Bay, enjoy modern amenities, shoreline access and our excellent location close to local attractions and things to do in the Texas Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Aransas Bay Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel At Aransas Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing