We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but too short. Need to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Hondo, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay but too short. Need to go back!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a nice place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful, even providing a discount based on purpose for our trip to Rockport which was fishing with a guide. View of bay was very nice. Very large king bed with small living area and kitchenette provided everything we needed and was nicely decorated (especially for a coastal inn). Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: We liked the waterfront view and ad a suite which wasn't too pricey when compared to some places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay. I am pleased to see that you took advantage of the discount program we have with our local fishing guides. They do such a great job of taking care of you on the Bays and we hope that we in turn take care of you here at the hotel. We all hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    262
    93
    40
    23
See reviews for
247
453
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here two nights with friends after a wedding in San Antonio. Lovely property right on the water with great views, on site pool and spa, and bar and restaurant. Staff were very friendly and very efficient. Cozy bar for that late afternoon cocktail. Included hot breakfast was great - real biscuits and gravy! Central location is excellent for visiting nearby towns and shopping. Plan on staying here again in May on another trip.

Room Tip: Review the website to choose a view category and floor (3 floors in all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for writing this wonderful review about your resent stay with us. I am so pleased that you made the trip from San Antonio to Rockport. Your kind comments about the hotel staff are greatly appreciated. They work every hard to provide a high level of customer service and it is very nice when it is recognized. We all look forward to your visit in May

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Lighthouse Inn. We stayed in the Captains Suite Bay View so we had a view of the harbor. There is also a fishing dock behind the hotel for guests who want to fish. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room includes a breakfast buffet that is excellent. It would be nice to have more fruit on the buffet (such as cut fruit and bananas). We also had one evening meal.The menu is limited but very good food. The Blue Moon next door became a favorite go to place for casual food as well. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a casual friendly hotel in Rockport.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseL1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your stay. I am pleased to see that the staff took care of your needs. We will be serving cut fruit in a few months when it looks a bit fresher. Then we usually have it for the entire summer. “Moon Dogs” is a great casual restaurant within walking distance but I am thankful that you also eat in our Palm Room Bar and Grill.
We ALL look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The photos and description on the website give the impression of a boutique hotel rather than a strict commercial/franchise-type hotel, but it doesn't prove it up close and in person. It's a beautiful setting (probably better than any other lodging in town), and it was fun to see dolphins from the end of their pier, but the distinction stopped there. Our "pool view" room only had a view of J&B Guns & Ammo across the parking lot. It's also a rather noisy place, not from outside but rather from the hallways. It works both ways: hallway noise streams into the room and when you're walking down the hall, you can hear every word of the conversation inside a room 2 doors away. Fortunately, we had considerate neighbors during our stay. The room had decent furnishings, but still had problems. There was only one bedside lamp, and the dresser had several handles missing (making one drawer completely unusable). The TV reception was very bad ---- if it was satellite, they should look at re-aiming it.
The hot breakfast was fine. No issues, but pretty standard fare for hotels these days. On our second night, we decided to eat dinner in the hotel since several of our other choices were not open on a Wed night ...... they must be on a winter schedule yet. I had a very plain chicken breast sandwich (the fries were good, though) and my wife had the high-priced (translation: overpriced) sirloin steak with baked potato. The potato is included with the steak, but apparently only with butter. When we asked if we could get things like cheese and chives on the side, this apparently transformed it into a "loaded" baked potato, which meant the little cups cost an extra $1.95. This was not explained when we ordered.
All in all, our visit was OK, but did nothing to bring on one of those "wow, I can't wait to come back" reactions. Maybe our timing was awkward, but the whole town made a similar impression, with a number of places closed during the week and not quite the flavor we expected. The Lighthouse Inn felt like a wanna be boutique hotel in a wanna be town.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel as well as cities of Rockport and Fulton. I must apologies for the missing dresser knobs and only one lamp in the bed room. They should have been replaced prior to your arrival. We have cable TV and it sounds like a loose contention. I just checked the room you were in and it appears to be fine now. The cable company is eliminating the analog channels and we will only have HD in the near future. You may have seen their trucks in our parking lot during your stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about the hotel, as I discuss each guest review with the entire hotel team and look at ways we can improve how we take care of our customers and property.
Sincerely
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lighthouse inn. A warm reception, and delicious breakfast, and wonderful view of the bay form our deck were the highlights of the trip. Suite was very clean and comfortable.
Will definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent visit. I am very pleased that you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer. We ALL look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This picture must have been taken 50 years ago. Didn't tell us that the pool wasn't working and construction above us went on into the night. Couldn't open windows onto the gulf and room was so tight we had to rearrange furniture. Staff was generally apathetic or unhelpful. The morning breakfast buffet was fair but you had to toast your own bagel and make your own pancakes. To top it all off, when leaving a cockroach ran up my neck and head and when I said something to attendant she just looked at me with a blank stare. Had to sit in our rental car for 15 min. on arrival because they wouldn't let us into our room until the 3:oo check in (we came by plane) so didn't have much control over arrival time. Didn't offer or have a place open to have even a drink while waiting. Never again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoutout14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how disappointed you were with your stay, the hotel and staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies. I am embarrassed and shocked at my team’s lack of customer service towards you. This is something I can fix immediately. I review every guest comment, good or bad, with ALL of the employees. I can assure you that we will be reviewing yours line by line.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
302 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was staying here to teach a class. The room I had was facing the street vs the bay but it was a nice room with a balcony that was a great place to relax and read a book. If I was staying on vacation I would have wanted a bayside view. Breakfast was great with waffles and a good selection of meat. I am platinum at Holiday Inn where they have replaced the waffles with pancake machines so this was a real treat. The meeting room was very nice with a beautiful view. The support from the staff is outstanding.

Room Tip: Sushi luck is a great place for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Guy, thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure getting to spend a few minutes chatting with you while you were here. I hope that the meeting was a success! Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and will be reviewed with the hotel team. I do hope that you have the opportunity to return very soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
0.3 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
147 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#16 of 20 in Rockport
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Property: Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Address: 200 S Fulton Beach Rd, Rockport, TX 78382-7736
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Inn is the perfect choice for a vacation on the Texas coastal bay, with full-service accommodations in the beautiful Aransas Bay. Relax and enjoy a laid back Texas getaway with luxurious guest accommodations and amenities and our friendly staff. Positioned at the entrance of Fulton Harbor with a magnificent view of Aransas Bay, enjoy modern amenities, shoreline access and our excellent location close to local attractions and things to do in the Texas Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Aransas Bay Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel At Aransas Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing