We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View but Disgusting Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Came for a holiday weekend with my husband. It was our first time on the Texas coast and I was looking for a hotel room with a nice view. The view of the water is nice but considering that it is not on the beach and the terrible condition of the hotel and rooms, I paid too much money. The room smelled like a mix of mothballs and mold and the walls were smudged with dirt. I was able to take a damp towel and wipe the dirt off the walls! Wallpaper is the hallway was blistering. Clearly the hotel is old and badly in need of repair. We tried to air out the room by opening the patio door and it was clear that the integrity of the building was poor. The door was difiicult to open from what seemed like the bad condition of the door combined with the humidity. We had to settle for hot fresh air or stale air conditioned air. In the end, the breakfast was decent and the pool was clean, but I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend anyone stay either because the cost is not worth what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evergreen813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liabgm, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the condition of your room and the hallways. I have reviewed your comments with the entire hotel team to insure that we all have a true understanding of our guest expectations and what happens when we do not meet those expectations. I have also reviewed your comments with our corporate office as we are starting our “off season” capital improvements and some of the areas you pointed out are in our plan and need to be attended too quickly.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 959 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

wonderful experience, great location & comfortable bed. We were in a suite on first floor,bedroom & sitting area had doors that opened to patio with two rocking chairs . This was on the bay side so we could sit & watch boats coming in every evening & the beautiful sunrise in the mornings. Staff was very friendly & helpful. I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: first floor on bayside is nice because patio has sidewalk that leads to water & you dont have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edj206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liabgm, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for this wonderful review. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to tell us about their experience at the hotel. I am so glad that you got a chance to see the beautiful sunrise over Aransas Bay and watch the oyster boats bringing their catch back to the harbor. The entire team thanks you for your kind comments about them being friendly and helpful. They work very hard to please our guest and it is so nice to be recognized for doing so. We all look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lindy was great, as were breakfast folk. Didn't eat at the bar, so can't comment. Heard from others that food was average at expensive prices. Our room #29 faced east to bay-front; door blind was 3" shy of covering glass at bottom, so we got very bright sun/water reflections as wake-up call both mornings! One of two hand-towels had hole in it; rust in tub; towel rod fell as soon as you touched the towel. Mattresses need replaced. No liner-bag for ice bucket first day; one showed up the second. Coffee pot not rinsed out after room was made up. Rockers & railing on balcony needed paint job. With some small details this place could go to 4-stars, but 3 is the best we can do now...

Room Tip: 2nd floor has great view; check door blind will cover completely on check-in. Get another room if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 516NickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liabgm, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is important to hear about what you enjoyed during your stay but even more important to hear and take action on the areas that need improvement. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your room not being up to our usual high standards. I have reviewed your comments with the hotel staff and we all agree that there is work to be done in room 29 and additional training with the housekeeping team. Your input is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our second time to stay at Lighthouse Inn. Both times we had a bayside view, but this time we were on the third floor instead of the first floor. It seemed so much more private and was much more enjoyable. But that is just a personal preference. The room was nice and clean and the beds are very comfortable. They serve a nice hot breakfast with Starbucks coffee. If you love birds and the ocean I don't think you could find a better place in Rockport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATexasNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liabgm, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for this wonderful review. We have found that many of our guests prefer the upper floors for a better view across the bay. We do hope that you will make your third trip to your special place in Rockport very soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Traveled on business for years as sales and marketing director for major railroad and
Have stayed at many nice, expensive resorts, hotels

The Lighthouse is up there with many premium hotels with location on Aransas Bay,
Value, cleanness and service

I have stayed here several times. And findThe Management very hands on. Several
Miner issues have been addressed and I will update on Yelp noted issues resolved

Dale W

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liabgm, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dale, thank you for coming back to stay at the Lighthouse Inn. I appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. As I have mentioned many times in my responses to guest reviews, we do listen to our guests comments and concerns about the service and conditions at the hotel. We also take the actions necessary to make corrections. It is so refreshing to hear that we made the corrections to the things that you pointed out on a previous stay. We will continue to keep our service standards high and take care to our guests and property. We all hope to see you return soon.
Sincerely
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We met my parents here for a weekend getaway just last Sunday - the rooms are charmingly furnished, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, and hotel and grounds are extremely clean and invite guests to explore. After dinner (at Charlotte Plummer's), we strolled around the bayside of the grounds and walked out onto the private fishing pier - all of the other guests out that night were so friendly - we got to chat with many interesting folks from all over Texas and other states. What we enjoyed the most was the "coziness" of this boutique hotel - at the complimentary breakfast, folks from other tables would make pleasant comments to diners and we soon found ourselves enjoying breakfast with people would never have met otherwise. It's this atmosphere that keeps my hubby and me going back to the Lighthouse Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liabgm, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to right this wonderful review. I am so pleased that you and your “hubby” enjoy the atmosphere at The Lighthouse Inn. I enjoy walking thru the Palm Room during breakfast and watching complete strangers talking and sharing stories about their time at the hotel and what adventures they had in the Rockport Fulton area. We look forward to your many return visits to our hotel.
Sincerely
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Lighthouse Inn is a great place to stay! Not only are you right on the bay with a private pier for hotel guests use only, but the facilities are fantastic and the staff are friendly! The rooms are of good size and very clean. It was my first time to visit Rockport and the stay was just wonderful! My fiance and I will definitely come back to stay at Lighthouse Inn in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longhornjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liabgm, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your first visit to our hotel. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. I hope you will think about coming to Rockport for your Honeymoon. We do look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
3.2 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
360 reviews
16.9 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Address: 200 S Fulton Beach Rd, Rockport, TX 78382-7736
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $99 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Inn is the perfect choice for a vacation on the Texas coastal bay, with full-service accommodations in the beautiful Aransas Bay. Relax and enjoy a laid back Texas getaway with luxurious guest accommodations and amenities and our friendly staff. Positioned at the entrance of Fulton Harbor with a magnificent view of Aransas Bay, enjoy modern amenities, shoreline access and our excellent location close to local attractions and things to do in the Texas Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Aransas Bay Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel At Aransas Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing