We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was horrible.”
Review of JD's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

JD's Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: JD himself is the chef in this locally owned and operated restaurant serving up local fresh seafood, authentic Philly cheesesteaks, Mediterraean salads, Blackened Redfish Ponchatrain with Crawfish Etouffee, chicken fried steaks including fried cheesecake and deep fried bananas.....Come see us!
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was horrible.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The wait to get our food was very long. The food was very bad. We will not be back. I do not recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    30
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large portions, made from scratch and great tasting food!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

When you pull up to JD's you may not be impressed. When you walk in and sit at the very simple table and and chairs you'll wonder if its going to be good. I ordered the crab cake stuffed flounder with shrimp on top and oh man was it good!!! I ordered the fries and greens beans, as recommended by the waitress. The fries and hand battered and very light and crunchy. The green beans a French style with bacon...very good. My husband got the chips with his. Don't be fooled...these aren't ordinary chips. They are thin slices of potato made into chips. They were SO good! We would definitely eat here again. Come hungry...Leave happy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crm413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slowwwwwwwwwww!!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Waited over 90 min for our food for lunch. Prices are a bit high. We wasted half our afternoon waiting for our meal. Decent food but not worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Texas Gulf Coast Food!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Our family group of six adults thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. It is typical Texas Gulf Coast seafood at its best!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanAnSheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aransas Pass, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had heard this place was good. Not so. Food was not hot or fresh. Slow service. Philly chicken sandwich had more cheese than chicken and the cheese was cold. Will wait for Shempy's next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JD's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing