We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best poboy ive ever had hands down”
Review of JD's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

JD's Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Description: JD himself is the chef in this locally owned and operated restaurant serving up local fresh seafood, authentic Philly cheesesteaks, Mediterraean salads, Blackened Redfish Ponchatrain with Crawfish Etouffee, chicken fried steaks including fried cheesecake and deep fried bananas.....Come see us!
Sherman, Texas
1 review
“best poboy ive ever had hands down”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

i visited this establishment over the fourth of july weekend with family and some friends . yes it was busy but the wait staff was very friendly and up beat sure there was a little wait which was to be expected anywhere due to the holiday i ordered a shrimp poboy all i can say is awesome

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPH122088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    30
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Squeez is Worth The Juice”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Try and get in early as they will close the place down if it gets to packed... No kidding, We arrived at 4:00 only to be told that the place would open till 5:30 so we waited and it was worth the Damn wait the fried crab stuff avocado with mango salsa was of the chain. this is a well kept secret to outsiders but again get there early,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Save your money, don't eat at JD's”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Saw great reviews and they were so wrong! Salad had dark spots on lettuce and the good pieces tasted dirty. Crab cake was mushy stuffing with some crab on top. Grilled fish was cod ( which our server told us afterward) that was not fresh (not surprising since it's not caught in the gulf). Blackened shrimp was good, as were the clam strips. Definitely not worth $35 per person.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank radiant555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“listen to the locals!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My sister and i were having a seafood marathon during our short stay at the beach. We ate lots of great fresh seafood, but the Mediterranean salad with grilled shrimp and lump blue crab really stood out in this crowd!
We were sent here by the owner of the shell shop in rockport and need to go back and thank her!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We happened to go at 7 pm on a Sat night. It was packed but we got seated pretty quick. It did take a long long time for the food but it is definitely worth waiting for!! Very fresh tasting shrimp and order the crab balls for an appetizer- yummy!!! We will definitely go back but will try to be there before the rush next time!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasBlondie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JD's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing