We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”
Review of JD's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

JD's Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: JD himself is the chef in this locally owned and operated restaurant serving up local fresh seafood, authentic Philly cheesesteaks, Mediterraean salads, Blackened Redfish Ponchatrain with Crawfish Etouffee, chicken fried steaks including fried cheesecake and deep fried bananas.....Come see us!
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food was very good, but it was VERY expensive we thought. It was a lot of food on the plate and my son and I could share but it was still very high prices. The service was not very good either. Not sure if we'd go back honestly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXMom2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    30
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best Po Boy outside of New Orleans!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to get there famous shrimp Po boy. Thing was huge! Loaded with shrimp, so much that you have to eat some off before picking it up. Like everyone says, the service is slow. But it's not a 4 star restaurant. It is a fast food joint! I would for sure go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxepr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
300 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Where the locals get their seafood”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

JD's is a BYOB informal establishment with just very good food. The Mediterranean Salad is chock full of shrimp, olives, feta, and other wonderful veggies. The Chicken Fried Steak is huge and well cooked. I try to eat here every time I come to Rockport - just a few miles south on 35...take the drive! And you must start your meal with the shrimp and artichoke dip with homemade potato chips.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Noni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devine, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Two hour wait for food!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have been patrons of JD since day one. We have been loyal, rolled with the price increases and still enjoyed the food. But tonight was the second time we have waited an extremely long time to be served. Last time we waited an hour. Tonight it was 2 hours! No salads, no chips, no crackers, no bread and we had a 2 year old with us. We placed his chicken fingers order the minute we walked in. Didn't even enjoy the food when it finally came due to the anger of the wait! Should have walked out, but stayed and paid the $90 tab and will never go again!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not a really great experience. Watching my friends enjoying their good (but expensive) crab stuffed flounder "special" while I tried to gag down cold, doughy crab cakes did not make for a good evening. Had everyone else at the table try my crab cakes and they received a unanimous thumbs down. Seriously. It is a seafood place. How hard is it to make a reasonably edible crab cake? The bright spots are the no-corking-fee BYOB and the nice helpful wait staff. Still doesn't offset the price/value issue on the food for me. Place was pretty busy and recommended by locals. I guess they know what to order and what not to order there. With all of the other seafood choices in Rockport, I probably won't be going back to this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Puertoboy1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JD's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing