We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip in the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Jennifer and rusty are great hosts. They want you to feel at home in their B&B and they tell you from the start. There is nothing like chatting with the locals to know what is going on somewhere, and they are very good at that.
Their home is like a trip in the past. The decor is full on 19th century and goes perfectly with the house. You can tell that Jennifer and rusty have enjoyed giving it this authenticity.
We were fishing, so we did not stay for breakfast, which looked like a major mistake, but Rusty packed some killer breakfast tacos for us to take on the boat.
Going out to dinner that night was walking distance. A very nice address to keep in Rockport!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Well I'm not sure if the real locals would consider us locals just yet, but we've been here 5+ years and both of use have taken the leadership program. Jennifer is on the board of the Chamber and I am a city councilman. We try to make ourselves useful. Ok, so the fishing is great, but my formal breakfasts are at least a close second! What I made for you to take on the boat was just a snack.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very much enjoyed staying at Angel Rose B&B! This place is so welcoming, calm, clean, and the breakfast is awesome!
The house has such a great porch to enjoy the evening. What history on this house too.
The owners totally make you feel welcome. Nice gesture of them to keep the guests informed on events around Rockport.
Again, don't miss breakfast here, it is that good!
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Rockport is a good place to unwind and is steeped in history, but it's a fun place too. There is usually one big event a month, except August. Sea Fair is October 11th, 12th & 13th. The music lineup is fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

There were many places to relax and just chill. It is in the downtown area and a easy walk to the marina and shops. I never like to slow down but this place lends to that action. Rusty and Jennifer were very helpful and accommodative. They really love their job and it shows from the breakfast to the details of the house. We had the Violet room and were quite happy. They served cold brewed tea for the afternoon and had fresh water bottles and cookies every day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GunpowderSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

This place just lends itself to slowing down. Yes, we keep cookies out for those mid-afternoon hungries and late night cookie attacks, but if you don't eat them I am FORCED to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were looking for a romantic getaway to celebrate our anniversary, and the Angel Rose was just the place. Rusty and Jennifer were gracious and kind hosts. We loved the charmingly restored home and its period furnishings and inviting porch swing, and we enjoyed the easy walk to the Rockport's picturesque harborfront.

Room Tip: We liked how the spacious Iris Room on the ground floor got the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We love sharing our place with you on your special occasions. You are welcome to share our porch swing anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We found this b&b on TripAdvisor; priced the same as a generic chain hotel down the road. Innkeepers Rusty and Jennifer were welcoming and resourceful, and they have a small nice dog named Lacy. Stayed in the Iris Room because it featured a king bed and ensuite bath. It's right off the front door, but for us was alright since we were the only guests at that time. The bed was comfortable, sheets nice and clean, plenty of pillows. The A/C unit was quite loud, but kept the room cool. The bath is scheduled for upgrading soon, according to Rusty, which is good because the claw foot tub advertised on their site is actually a half-length tub with a shower over it. There was a strong mold/mildew odor emanating from the sink drain, but overall the bathroom was clean and well-stocked. Rusty cooked two delicious breakfasts but the surprising standout was his fruit cup topped with yogurt and granola. Refreshing and nicely presented. The living room was comfortable and we watched a little TV before bed there. The front porch has a wonderful breeze. We ate at Glow, which was a disappointment, because not many restaurants are open on Mondays (in July). In fact, most of Rockport's galleries and shops are also closed on Mondays, which we did not know beforehand. But this b&b was a very pleasant place to stay, and well-located for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guitarstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank You for taking the time to post a review on your stay. Sometimes that's the only way we know there is an issue with a room. This home was built 131 years ago with no concept of air conditioning, but the Fisher family (ones who did the restoration) made the decision as to how it was to be cooled (wall mounted window units as opposed to central air). The thru the wall mounted window units we can buy today that fit into the fixed size opening have almost twice the capacity of the older units we replaced and are more energy efficient, but they still are noisier than a central air system. I have a degree in refrigeration mechanics/air conditioning technology/ solar. We have priced a modern whole house system and it's approximate cost is $45,000. It's a project on our list, but it's not on the radar just yet.
I remember my mother telling me the story of when during WWII they were allowed to buy an indoor bathtub. The two 6 foot claw foot tubs and the two 4 foot "shorty" claw foot tubs are appropriate for a time after this home was built, but have been professionally recoated and all hardware, from the ground up, was replaced with period replicas that have modern "guts". Originally this home had a room with a tub, a wood fired stove to heat the water, and a shaving mirror. The "two holer" was out back. There just wasn't enough room to squeeze in a larger tub in two of the rooms.
We use Simple Green cleanser in the bathrooms and I appreciate your reporting the musty smell. I'll try a little bleach a few times and see if that clears it up.
I try to put 4 to 8 fruits in our fruit cups using seasonal fruits, so the mix changes day to day and also to keep variety in them.
Yes, We have a world class front porch with a swing and rocking chairs. The typical 5 to 15 mph breeze blows across it almost every day. Evenings with a glass of wine are unforgettable. Sorry about Glow. It's not on our recommended list. They're new and trying to get better. This is a resort town and lost of businesses close on Monday. It's their weekend, but we stay open 24-7-365. There is lots to explore in Rockport. Come see us again, Maybe during one our many festivals. Hummerbird Festival is in September and SeaFair is in October! Thanks again for choosing us for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location in cute Rockport, this little B&B is full of history, and goes full in with the Victorian era theme. It was very quiet despite being a couple of blocks from the beach. A few things to be aware of: this is not great for people with disabilities, I haven't seen the room on the lower floor, which may be better, but the upstairs room are up a very steep staircase, and the bath tubs, although beautiful, are really high and can be difficult to manage for people with knee or ankle problems. Also, breakfast offered no options to guests, same for everyone unless you have a food allergy, and no choice of simple cereals or just toasts.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Entente-cordiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Rockport IS a quiet little town with deep roots in the history of Texas and Angel Rose is a fine example of a true Victorian era home. The Bracht family was an important piece in the story of the German settlement of Texas. Because of our small number of rooms Angel Rose is not subject to all ADA requirements. The stair cases have been the same since the late 1800s, but the family stairs are straight and have a good hand rail. The formal stairs are a bit trickier. The 12 foot ceilings on the first floor dictate a longer climb than homes today, but guests can use either stairs at their discretion. We chose to live upstairs to free up the master bedroom for our guests who have difficulty with stairs, but as a rule, summer availability in that room requires reservations a month in advance. The restored claw foot bath tubs are taller than tubs today, but there is no easy fix to maintain the Victorian age look and address the height issue. Some guests stay with us just for that experience! We do have options for breakfast. We don't put you in a line for a buffet breakfast; rather we serve a gourmet breakfast to you on our 150 year old dining table. We serve 7 or 8 gourmet breakfasts, of my choosing. The decision as to which I serve is based on many variables such as food allergies, Diabetes, Vegetarians, Vegans, lactose intolerance and guests with Celiac disease (to name a few). It takes 2 hours to prepare one of our signature breakfasts, but if you ask for a bowl of cereal, I will gladly serve that to you instead. The economics of a bowl of cereal versus our stuffed French toast with an apple pie toppling lean heavily to the cereal for breakfast. Thank you for the review, let us know your dietary restrictions, and please come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were looking for a good place to stay on our first trip to Rockport Tx. Our daughter had mentioned the Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast to us. She was familiar with the place. We decided to check it out. I could tell from the day we made our reservations that this was the right place for us. Rusty provided us with all the information we needed to make our stay wonderful. When we arrived there, we were met by Jennifer. Immediately she made us feel at home. She told us, 'mi casa tu casa', And it was so. We stayed in the Iris Room and our son stay in the Rose Room. Both were excellent, clean and quiet. The next morning we were surprised by one of Rusty's great breakfast. Needless to say, our stay was something to talk about. Jennifer and Rusty are great hosts and we will return soon.

Room Tip: Make your reservations soon if you are going. If you don't like stairs, choose the Iris room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so pleased you had a great stay and get away to beautiful Rockport. Please visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.5 mi away
Bayfront Cottages
Bayfront Cottages
#13 of 18 in Rockport
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Rockport
Motel 6 Rockport
#12 of 20 in Rockport
32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
0.5 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 902 E Cornwall St, Rockport, TX 78382-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $182 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angel Rose Bed and Breakfast is a charming 1881 Victorian home located in Rockport Texas, The Charm of the Texas Coast. This Victorian Lady was remodeled and first opened as a bed and breakfast in 2001 by the Fisher family. It was subsequently purchased by Rusty and Jennifer Day to continue the tradition of warm hospitality and great food. We welcome you to rest, relax, and enjoy historic Rockport with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing