We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

on a whim, we left Austin on Labor Day Sunday. Trying to save a buck, we reserved a room at a Rockport hotel who shall remain unnamed, but took one look at the room and declined to register. I walked out of that hotel, saw the Holiday Inn Express to the left and checked with their front desk: a king suite was available and the rate was comparable to what we would have paid at the other place to enjoy clothes that smelled like Febreeze for the rest of the week.
The Holiday Inn Express in Rockport was an absolutely first-rate experience. Every single employee we encountered was cheerful and helpful, everything looked, felt and smelled brand new, the bed (including the foldout) was comfortable and even the shower was above average in terms of water pressure, coverage and temperature control. The common areas were also all in top condition. The location also had us at the beach in under 5 minutes in the car (including the stop at the booth to pay for our one-day registration.) We intend to return to Rockport and will happily stay here again. How this place is #1 on TripAdvisor for this area is beyond me.

Room Tip: We had a bay view room which included a view of the port a cochere, but, if you tilted your head up...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barlandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one nite. First impression with lobby>Very cozy feel like at home with blue green interior color. Friendly staff at check in. Room wa very clean, carpeted all the color in the bedroom are matching.Make you feel relax. Bed was so comfy. Bathroom was clean and towel are fresh.

Hotel corridor was so clean,Gym room was small but clean , great had flat screen TV while you do excercise/ .Love the breakfast. Had so many choices. Only pancake machine does not work at that time. It need to be fixed since a lot of guests tried to use it.

Hotel location is in the middle of the town. Easy acces to Fulton beach Rd.Aquarium and TX Maritime museum is within walking distance. Beach park is about 3 minutes walk.

Good check out time at noon. So, after breakfast you still have some time to see around small town Rockport before check out.

This hotel is very recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ida2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was awesome with plenty of choices to please anyone.

We would have liked to have used the pool, but it is very small and appeared to be very crowded even though there were only 3-4 people in it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songstress815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, very clean and exceptionally friendly staff. My room was spacious and I really enjoyed the view of the Bay from my room. This was my first vacation in 5 years and I enjoyed my stay here and will definitely be back, the great room for breakfast was always clean and the breakfast and hot coffee were great, my room was very comfortable and modern, I'm very picky about beds and I found it to be very comfortable and slept great.

Thank you for a great vacation!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This was a very clean hotel and the staff was nice. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars across the board was that their beds aren't comfortable. They're on the hard side. We had 2 queen beds and this was the case on both and all of our party of 4 complained of this.
On a positive note, these rooms get COLD and is much needed for a room close to the coast where it's hot and humid.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Clean, quiet, nice. Room was great. Our room, 327, had an amazingly long entrance area (which allowed us extra space to store kid's pool noddles, etc), Really liked breakfast room area which was clean and modern. Breakfast selection good. Our room 327 was on the top floor and on the end of the hotel that allowed us a view of the bay. Be sure to ask for a similar room when making a reservation.

A few other comments:
1. Outdoor pool small, but clean.
2. Breakfast was good. Only improvement here would be to replace the pancake making machine with a standard waffle maker. The pancake machine never seemed to work properly.
3. Very close to Rockport Beach Park which is great, but the day we went had a jelly fish problem (see my seperate review).
4. Front desk staff friendly and helpful.
5. Hotel had nice modern decor.
6. Within decent driving distance of Port Aransas.
7. Very close to Bay Museum, which has an amazing globe presentation (see my seperate review).

My overall recommendation is to strongly consider this hotel if staying in Rockport. Price was decent and about half of what would have been paid for the same quality room in Port Aransas.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 327, which had an excellent view of the water beach area.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is truly an amazing hotel--10 foot ceilings, impeccable rooms, great service, and a delicious hot breakfast. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 20 in Rockport
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#16 of 20 in Rockport
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View

Address: 925 Lady Clare St, Rockport, TX 78382-3132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rockport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2013 TORCHBEARER AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN HOSPITALITY AND SERVICE. We are excited to share that Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG) has awarded the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bay View Rockport with the 2013 Torchbearer Award, it is the highest honor for exceptional quality and guest satisfaction. This prestigious hospitality award goes to the top 3% of all Holiday Inn Express hotels in North America, and is measured by overall guest satisfaction scores. Rockport Hotel's Guests Enjoy Home Away from Home. The Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel & Suites Rockport - Bay View stands out among Rockport hotels thanks to its convenient location and amenities. Boasting impressive views of Aransas Bay and easy access to local businesses and attractions, this hotel is perfect for your Rockport, TX trip. The hotel's business guests enjoy being near companies that include Pro Build, Kiewit, HEB and Air Logistics, as well as the Paws and Taws Convention Center in Fulton. Free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access makes it easy to stay in touch with clients, and the Business Center is open 24 hours.Leisure guests lodging in Rockport, TX enjoy an abundance of attractions and activities near the hotel. The historic Fulton Mansion provides a glimpse into the late 1800s, and the Texas Maritime Museum educates visitors about the state's rich history. Recreational activities are also popular, and Rockport Beach Park's Blue Wave Beach and Goose Island State Park make it easy to enjoy hiking, biking, picnicking and much more. Enjoy outstanding amenities while lodging in Rockport, TX, including the free Express Start Breakfast Bar and complimentary coffee and cookies in the lobby throughout the day. A 24-hour Fitness Center encourages you to maintain your workout routine, and the outdoor, heated pool is a great place to relax. This 100% smoke-free hotel is ready to welcome you to the Rockport - Fulton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rockport / Bay View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing