We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Inn Suites
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Last Minute Trip”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Got home from work friday (8/9) night and decided to make a last minute trip. Called and booked a room and arrived at 11:15pm. Room was ready and clean. Motel has been remodeled and was better than most of the hotel rooms in Rockport. Only complaint was the beds were small and soft. Bathroom was updated and was refreshing after being out on the bay all day. Pier was new and kept clean.

If you travel to Rockport you will find older hotels that are cheap or newer hotels that are over-priced, there is no in between, the last place we stayed (July 26-28, 2013) at we paid $270/night for a condo and upon arriving there were all sorts of guys on their tailgates drinking beer, which gave the feel of a 'fish camp' rather than a family condo resort.

Only negatives for us was the bed issue and no really good area to park our boat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjf9207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
57
49
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My aunt and uncle stayed at this hotel for two nights in July of 2013 (I am writing this review on behalf of my aunt, as she has trouble typing).

Owners were so polite and helpful. My aunt is in a wheelchair and needed a handicap-accessible room. The rooms were clean, newly remodeled, had a microwave, mini fride/freezer, sink, large flat screen, table with two chairs, and electric stove top.

Not to mention, the swimming pool was heated and had a lift so that my aunt could be lowered into the pool and enjoy it like everyone else. Lots of covered picnic benches next to the pool. They also had a new pier; it was huge, lighted, had a washing station, and so many benches-which my uncle loved. He even saw dolphins one morning while he was out fishing!

Place is close to everything. We will be recommendeding this place to all our friends and family and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Analicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Would NEVER stay at this rat hole again.
The bed was uncomfortable.
The whole room smelled bad.
I must have been there on the end of their 2 or 3 year cycle of shampooing the carpets.
Had a $8.50 rip off "booking fee".
The owners are pretty pathetic when you ask for help on anything also.

Room Tip: My tip to choose a good room is to go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 3s2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family stayed here in june and we were pleasantly surprised how nice and updated this little hotel was..the owners were very nice and accomadating, pool was fantastic and the bed was comfortable...we have stayed alot of places and this one ranks really high with me...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcarosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the hotel suites . Very clean and roomy. Fit 4 adults and 5 children. The hotel owners were very kind and very lovely people. The pier was nice and great to fish from. The pool was a nice touch as well. We will be back :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked thru Expedia and they said it would be $188 plus tax. Little did I know the bill would be $224. The man at the desk said that in addition to the tax they also charged an $8.50 "booking" fee. The towels were thin and rough. The tub and shower didn't work right. You couldn't turn off the shower to fill up the tub. I left it running with the shower curtain closed and then found out the tub was too small to actually sit in. I'm not that tall but I couldn't put my legs out straight in the tub. I would not recommend this motel to anyone. Because the pool was right below our rooms and the kids playing there shrieked loudly it was not an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ava93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed memorial day weekend. Was a last minute reservation & only had two rooms available due to cancellations. Rooms are newly remodeled with fresh paint, tile & countertops, but not very good craftmanship. Price was to high for type of room. Pool was nice. Fishing pier was nice and newly built with lights for night fishing. Staff was friendly. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2pace4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.2 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#16 of 20 in Rockport
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Inn Suites

Property: Surfside Inn Suites
Address: 1809 Broadway St, Rockport, TX 78382-3540
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Inn Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Surfside Inn Suites, we are a hotel located directly by the beach in Key Allegro Island, Texas. Being in such a beautiful location, the hotel hosts stunning bay views alongside a 24 hour access guest-lit fishing pier. We offer a variety of rooms, including smoking and pet rooms, complimentary Wireless Internet Access and cable television. Coffee Makers are located in each of our rooms and we also have an outdoor pool that is opened limited time around the year for your enjoyment. So why not let our friendly staff make your vacation to Texas memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Surfside Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing