We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anthony's by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anthony's by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 6 Rockport B&B and Inns
Harlingen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Needs upgrade. Food excellent, just a bit run down & needs renovation. Bed was hard and pillows were old.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night in June, the first of our two week road trip round the Southern States. We wanted a relaxing day and night on the coast at Rockport to get over the jet lag and have a rest. It was a lovely B and B, with two great friendly owners who served an amazing breakfast! The best one of our holiday. We sat outside under the trees in their garden and enjoyed the fresh coffee and juice, and then the food. An excellent start to our Texas road trip. Would definitely recommend this for something different, and to give your money to a local business rather than a chain hotel. The room was good, with a fan, nice clean bathroom and cold water in the fridge. We stayed in the Fiesta suite, and you can put your car right up to the door outside, which is handy when you have heavy bags. All round excellent stay. It's a short drive into Rockport, and the beach there is excellent. We had a very good meal at the 'Boiling Pot' - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed four nights at Anthonys. It is a ranch style home with a large covered patio in back and an extra couple of buildings that include additional accommodations. It is in a quiet, decent, residential neighborhood. Others stayed there during my stay and Beth and Smitty made sure to give us all room and privacy, while still being very friendly and accommodating. My room was clean, quiet, and the firm bed gave me the best sleep I have had in months. It had a TV and my own bath cross the hall. Each morning they offered me three choices for breakfast that all sounded excellent and proved to be. The home also provided covered parking, nice in the blazing sun of summer. It is more downhome style lodging than upscale, very informal and relaxed. There is not a view of the water, but you can ride your bicycle or even walk to everything from there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paca1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

I got married in Rockport and our wedding planner suggested Anthony's Bed & Breakfast to me. My husband & I loved it so much we stayed an extra day and we didn't want to leave when it was time to go. Beth & Smitty are the best Hostess I have ever had. If you want a cozy, comfortable & clean place that feels like home away from home...stay at Anthony's By The Sea in Rockport, Texas. Hey my mom lives in Rockport and I am going to stay at Anthony's instead. Beth & Smitty treat you life family. Oh and the breakfast was totally AWESOME!!!!! So awesome I had them send me the receipes. Please give it a try. I promise you will never want to stay anywhere else in Rockport ever again! I miss it already. They also host large parties. They cook the meals and you will love the patio area. I can not say enough about that place. I am ready to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KellyFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#14 of 20 in Rockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthony's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's by the Sea

Property: Anthony's by the Sea
Address: 732 S Pearl St, Rockport, TX 78382-2420
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anthony's by the Sea is secluded among the Live Oaks in historic South Rockport near Aransas Bay. You will be able to enjoy amenities such as a gazebo, water fountain, swimming pool, covered patio and grill in a beautiful, natural environment. Weekend mornings you will be spoiled with a gourmet breakfast served in the dining area or on the patio. Daily, weekly, and monthly rates are available. Anthony's is located near Rockport Beach, downtown shops and museums and adjacent to the Zachary Taylor Arboretum Park. Rockport is a great place for birding, fishing, kayaking and sailing. Special Memories - No extra charge! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing