We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Enjoyable stay!”
Review of Drifters Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifters Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We are first timers and are VERY satisfied. We enjoyed the peacefulness the property has to offer, the awesome trees and the nice people. Our cottage/cabana was clean and I like the fact that the cleaning people do not enter your room while you're away. That is something I never felt comfortable with at a hotel. All they do is just leave your goodies in a bag outside by your door and I loved that. My husband grew up going to Rockport but it was my 3rd time going and Drifters was the best place we have stayed at to date. We will definitely consider it again next year because we definitely will be back! Thanks for the wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Guest Relations Manager at Drifters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

We are delighted that you found Drifters to be a comfortable and peaceful place to stay while in Rockport. It is always such fun to have native Rockport folks come back to see how their town has grown. We hope your husband was happy with the growth of our town...but then it is nice that the small town atmosphere is still a part of our community. At Drifters, we enjoy that our guests can feel at home as far as security and friendliness and are glad the housekeeping protocol worked out so well for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This place is absolutely magnificent! The pictures and reviews that you see posted do not lie! The resort is very well maintained, the hard work of the staff does not go unnoticed!

We were at the resort for a family reunion and stayed in a cottage for 3 nights. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Being in a cottage, we kind of had our own little place, which allowed for some privacy. The cottages were not piled up on each other, and there was no shortage of large oak trees to provide plenty of shade during the day!

We used the pool 2 days and enjoyed the company of other guest. Every one was very friendly, you almost feel as if you are at home and hanging amongst your open friends.

Again, I cannot say enough about the staff. They go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant! They always greeted us with a smile and were prompt to fulfill any request. They also made some great local recommendations.


If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and affordable place to stay, then look no more. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Guest Relations Manager at Drifters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

They say "Home is where the heart is" and we are delighted that you felt so relaxed and happy in your cottage. The oaks do provide a nice respite from the warm Texas sun which it sounds like you were able to enjoy during your stay. Thank you from the staff for your thoughtful words. They do work hard to provide you with the clean rooms (and RV sites), sparkling salt water pool and pleasant surroundings at Drifters. We hope you can come back to your home away from home soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is truly a "Hidden Gem" between Rockport and Arkansas Pass. We stayed 3 nights in a cabana and it was absolutely perfect! From the friendly staff and family atmosphere to every detail provided in our cabana. We loved the quiet, peaceful surroundings of the Resort along with the amenities of a fitness area, laundry area, our own porch with Adirondack chairs, a BBQ and our own picnic table. The sparkling saltwater pool looked inviting, but will have to wait until next visit. Everything is clean, manicured and well taken care of and we really appreciated the Non Smoking inside policy for us who have allergies. Thank you again Drifters Resort for a truly enjoyable experience!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Guest Relations Manager at Drifters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Your wonderful review is the reason our staff is here! We are very pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you found everything to your liking. "Perfect" is hard to improve upon however we welcome any suggestions you may have to make Drifters even better. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be able to return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at Drifter's Resort. My family and I booked a small cabin for two nights for a short weekend getaway of fishing and beach combing.

Drifter's is very conveniently located between Aransas Pass and Rockport, TX. They have a beautiful, very clean establishment with both RV pads and cabins for rental. We really enjoyed the sparkling saltwater pool, the friendly staff, and the shade of the lovely live oak trees.

I recommend taking mosquito repellant with you if you are heading anywhere along the coast- it's a natural hazard in South Texas.

Room Tip: Pets are welcome if you bring your RV. They are not allowed in the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleKitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Guest Relations Manager at Drifters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

We are so happy that you came back to Drifters for your weekend getaway and, thank you for the nice review! You pretty much summed up why we have so many return guests...location, cleanliness, pool, shade...if there is anything we can do so that you can add to that list, please let us know. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Drifters is a clean and tidy park with lots of trees. It is attractive and the people were all very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It was close to several sights we wanted to visit and out of the Big City atmosphere.

Room Tip: Cabana was ample for two people. All are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J.stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Guest Relations Manager at Drifters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

The location of Drifters is a big part of the reason we are so popular. Close to the Rockport beach, historical district and tourist attractions but also in a quiet area between Aransas Pass and Rockport. With the marinas only 3-5 miles in either direction, the fishermen and women love it! Thank you for your nice review: we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can visit again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I've been staying at Drifters since around 2006 when my granson and I travelled to the area to fish. My stays at Drifters have always been great, friendly & helpful staff, great location, clean and comfortable accommodations, and very competitive prices!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Guest Relations Manager at Drifters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for the great review about Drifters! You, our returning customer, is most valuable to us because we then know you were happy with your stay. The next time you visit, please let the office know of anything more we can do to make your vacation relaxing and enjoyable! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a cottage for 4 nights while birding in the area. The cottage was very clean, well organized and included everything we needed. Location convenient for all our day trips. The office and maintenance staff were professional and helpful. I would highly recommend Drifter's .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martheandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Guest Relations Manager at Drifters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed Drifters while bIrding in the area! No matter what time of year, there is always a special species to look for in this region and we hope you were able to spot a few. We are also pleased that you found our rental unit clean and with everything you may have needed for your four day stay. As you know, we are halfway between Rockport and Aransas Pass which allows easy access to many local birding sites (and boat launches/tours if you should decide to look for dolphins on your next trip!)
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you can come back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
4.9 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
8.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 20 in Rockport
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Resort

Address: 4401 Highway 35 S, Rockport, TX 78382-7098
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Price Range: $89 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifters Resort is an RV park with cabins for rent conveniently located between Rockport/Fulton and Aransas Pass. Our facility is in a park-like setting with plenty of outdoor space and lots of trees. A few of our amenities include a beautiful pool with spa, fitness center, onsite laundry, cable, wifi, plenty of boat parking, a charcoal grill and picnic table at each cabin and a picnic table at each RV site. Come sit on your front porch and enjoy your morning coffee, take a cool dip in the pool and then relax in the spa, let the kids ride bikes and play in your front yard, bring the boat and park it in your driveway...come see why Drifters Resort should be your first choice when visiting the Coastal Bend area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drifters Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing