We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel!”
Review of Drifters Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifters Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bridge City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A real jewel!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a bungalow at Drifters Resort on the recommendation of our fishing guide. Wasn't sure what to expect, but were warmly welcomed by the front desk. Our bungalow had shade trees, chairs on a front porch, and was tidy and clean. We had plenty of towels, paper towels, shampoo, and kitchen towels. The kitchen had a stove and microwave, plates cups, glasses etc. The pool area looked inviting, although we didn't use it. This was located near the meeting point for our kayak guide and was half the price of the beach hotels of Port Aransas. Of course, drifters is not on the water, but is near all the sights and activities in Rockport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txgirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Owner at Drifters Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments about our park and staff. We've tried to stock the cabins with everything you need so you don't have to sweat the small stuff. You're here to enjoy - not worry about paper towels. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
67
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our family vacation at Drifters Resort. We have some family members with RVs and some without so this place was perfect for us. We used 2 RV spaces, side by side, and a cabin and a cottage. They were all very close together and we were able to congregate in either the cottage or between the 2 RVs. The office staff was very helpful. They made several personal phone calls to each of us before we arrived and made sure that our reservations were correct. The cabins were clean and spacious!! We loved the shade trees all around! Our grandchildren were able to ride their bikes all around the area as well!! Thanks to the staff at Drifters for a great time!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Owner at Drifters Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We know that "group planning" can be a major undertaking - we're just happy that you were able to enjoy the fruits of your hard labor! Thanks for staying with us at Drifters...we hope to be your location of choice for the next family get together...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was very impressed with Drifters Resort. The grounds were very well maintained, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the cabana we rented was large and clean. It was obvious to me that this place was run like a well oiled machine. I was impressed all the way around. They also ended up going above and beyond. The day I returned home, I received a call informing me that the cleaning staff had found a pair of earrings we left behind. They arrived by mail a few days later. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Owner at Drifters Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you - we appreciate the wonderful comments. Our staff really does care about Drifters and our guests...we are very fortunate to have them as part of our team! And, thanks for letting us know that you received the earrings,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about this place. Everyone was so friendly we will definitely being going every chance we get. Very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. Having a laundry area there was great especially when we would come back from the beach. Reasonable price we enjoyed our 5 days there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymoon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Owner at Drifters Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review! While we're sorry that you had to do laundry while on vacation, we're glad that you were able to do that chore without leaving the park. Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Drifters...hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have a few friends with RVs who 'live' at Drifters every summer. This year rather than being RV guests we rented a cabin and it was perfect! The Drifter's staff accommodated our very late check in [11pm], the cabin was spotless and fully stocked and the kids loved riding their bikes around the camp. The location of Drifter's itself is perfect - just minutes from the beach, shops and boat docks for the fisherman. Drifter's will be an annual vacation spot for us many years to come!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Owner at Drifters Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We know that not everyone can be here right at check in time, so we try our best to accommodate our guests. I am happy to hear that the whole family had a great time. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Rv spaces were nice and shaded! Was a little upset that when we get there and realize we have yo connect some box to each TV to get cable but we could never get it to work! So no TV. Also no barbecue pit! The cabins have them but not RV sites. Hopefully cable situation gets fixed, we would like to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batmlopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Owner at Drifters Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to send a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit but, like yourself, we are very disappointed in the cable service. Within the last month the local provider in the Rockport/Aransas Pass area switched from analog to digital service and informed us that the only way to provide cable to our guests is through the cable box we gave you when you arrived (this conversion affected all businesses and residential customers of CableOne). Although this change happened rather quickly, we made every effort to make sure our maintenance crew was prepared to assist our guests. I wish that we had known you were not able to watch television during your visit because we would have made every effort to get cable working for you. Please come visit us again – we have a cable box and a member of our maintenance staff waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent a month at Drifters. The facilities were great, restrooms spotless, and the staff were the most helpful. Spaces are paved, wide, and under very old live oak trees, creating shade most of the day. Swimming pool was well maintained, despite large numbers of people using it. Daughter's family came to visit and they were able to rent one of the small cabins which were clean and equipped like an upscale hotel suite. Location allows a person to be shopping, fishing or on the beach in minutes. Neighborhood is safe, although construction across the street kicks up a lot of dust. We put ourselves on a waiting list for future trips.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Owner at Drifters Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
8.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
4.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Aransas Pass/Corpus Chris
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
8.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Resort

Property: Drifters Resort
Address: 4401 Highway 35 S, Rockport, TX 78382-7098
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifters Resort is an RV park with cabins for rent conveniently located between Rockport/Fulton and Aransas Pass. Our facility is in a park-like setting with plenty of outdoor space and lots of trees. A few of our amenities include a beautiful pool with spa, fitness center, onsite laundry, cable, wifi, plenty of boat parking, a charcoal grill and picnic table at each cabin and a picnic table at each RV site. Come sit on your front porch and enjoy your morning coffee, take a cool dip in the pool and then relax in the spa, let the kids ride bikes and play in your front yard, bring the boat and park it in your driveway...come see why Drifters Resort should be your first choice when visiting the Coastal Bend area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drifters Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing