We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Courts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Rockdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surrey Inn(Caldwell)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
311
18
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
311
18
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roommotor courtcarriage househistoric motelcollege stationcentral texasfull kitchenmodern amenitiesplace to stayfront officechain hotelscoffee makerthe cottagesstayed longerroom was spotlessflat screenwi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 331 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife stayed at Rainbow well over 50 years ago when her family moved to Rockdale. It hasn't changed in character but has been modernized.

We were forced by illness to stay at Rainbow instead of with family. Our room was small but it was clean and bright and the staff, office and housekeeping, were warm and friendly. Rainbow is a bit pricey but we had to take the rack rate with no "deals or offers." $50 extra for our caged pooch was also a steep - especially since it was flea season in Texas and the lush St. Augustine grass lawn was loaded with them. Had to administer Frontline spray twice during a four day visit.

There was an air cleaner in the room. My other half is allergic to everything and that was a much appreciated touch.

You are near the railroad as you will be in all Rockdale lodging. Trains are a sound from my childhood and I find them soothing. If you feel differently, stay somewhere else.

Maybe I sound negative but I would stay there again. The place has character. You don't come away with the "where am I" feeling that you do at the chain hotels. In the end my only complaint is fleas in the grass.

Room Tip: Reserve early for best selection.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Jim M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Rainbow Courts Motel. We appreciate you and your wife as a customer and love receiving feedback. Fleas are a problem in Central Texas because we do not have a winter cold enough to kill those nasty pests. Spraying the lawn area only helps temporarily until it rains or we water the lawn. Hence the pet fee for treating the room after a pet has been a guest and in our lawn area. We are relatively new at being pet friendly and have asked our pest control company to alert us if any new product becomes available that is more effective. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope it is not another 50 years before you stay with us again. Joan Ratliff, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect, booking online from 1000 miles away, but were happily surprised with our accommodations in the old schoolhouse. The full kitchen and spacious room made our week long vacation a joy. We will definitely book next time we are in the area. Thank you.

Room Tip: There is a variety of rooms in separate buildings. Interesting and historic and fun. A pool would have been nice, but we found plenty of activities for our two year old grandson.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived quite late and received a very warm and friendly welcome from the owner. Our room was exceptionally clean and nicely renovated in keeping with the motel's vintage. The grounds are well manicured and very nicely landscaped. Rainbow Courts is an excellent place to step back in time, relax, and enjoy a bit of nostalgia without sacrificing comfort and cleanliness. It's a definite place for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

How long since you stayed in a "court"? Probably never for most. Courts, you know, those things you pass by sometimes that are falling in, weed overgrown, and uninhabited for who knows how long. Well, the Rainbow Courts is a different story.

This place is the real deal. It is the longest continuously operating motel in Texas. Since 1918. I have never seen a cleaner bathroom in a lodging establishment, regardless of stars. Small rooms, yes. Coffee pot, fridge, tv, microwave, wireless. Grounds are very well tended. You drive right up to your front door. Little porch in front of every room, with chairs. A real jewel in the rough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Believe the great reviews and the "Traveler's Choice" Awards - all well deserved - but DO NOT BOOK through Expedia! The reservations will not be sent to the hotel and even though we had an Expedia confirmation number, the room for four was not available when we arrived. Fortunately, the owner had rooms available and was gracious enough to comp an extra cottage so that our teenage children didn't have to sleep on a foldout bed. If you want personal service from a family owned business in historic and parklike setting, this is your place! Just be sure to call the hotel directly or reserve on their website.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crushski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews