We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Blast from the Past!”
Review of Rainbow Courts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainbow Courts
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rockdale
Certificate of Excellence
Grapeland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A Blast from the Past!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived quite late and received a very warm and friendly welcome from the owner. Our room was exceptionally clean and nicely renovated in keeping with the motel's vintage. The grounds are well manicured and very nicely landscaped. Rainbow Courts is an excellent place to step back in time, relax, and enjoy a bit of nostalgia without sacrificing comfort and cleanliness. It's a definite place for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
81
98
23
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephenville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

How long since you stayed in a "court"? Probably never for most. Courts, you know, those things you pass by sometimes that are falling in, weed overgrown, and uninhabited for who knows how long. Well, the Rainbow Courts is a different story.

This place is the real deal. It is the longest continuously operating motel in Texas. Since 1918. I have never seen a cleaner bathroom in a lodging establishment, regardless of stars. Small rooms, yes. Coffee pot, fridge, tv, microwave, wireless. Grounds are very well tended. You drive right up to your front door. Little porch in front of every room, with chairs. A real jewel in the rough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Believe the great reviews and the "Traveler's Choice" Awards - all well deserved - but DO NOT BOOK through Expedia! The reservations will not be sent to the hotel and even though we had an Expedia confirmation number, the room for four was not available when we arrived. Fortunately, the owner had rooms available and was gracious enough to comp an extra cottage so that our teenage children didn't have to sleep on a foldout bed. If you want personal service from a family owned business in historic and parklike setting, this is your place! Just be sure to call the hotel directly or reserve on their website.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crushski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Cannot say enough wonderful things-beautifully maintained and cared for by the owners. Has the feel of a bed and breakfast because of the welcoming atmosphere. I stayed in the Carriage house which was wonderful. The rooms are beautifully decorated-great place to stay for the Round Top antique show or even just for a getaway. Truly an amazing find.

Room Tip: carriage house/room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingdogvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We so enjoyed our two night stay in Rainbow Courts, the rooms are wonderful, beds are amazing (I can't sleep anywhere but my own bed and I actually slept very well here). The staff are so helpful and are willing to assist you in anyway they can. I would give them the highest rating that I could. Our little cottage was decorated in antiques and was so charming, we have our reservations for again next year. Try them, you won't be sorry.

Melinda Switzer

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had family reunion nearby, and Rainbow Courts was recommended by a cousin. Wow! My expectations were met and exceeded (never ventured to Rockdale, so very unsure of what to expect)! Stayed in a single unit which was very efficiently arranged. As in many small, rural communities, the trains lumbered through occasionally, but very little disturbance thanks to air units. The bath toiletries were better than most high-end hotels I've stayed in recently. The grounds are immaculate. Joan and her husband (owners) were charming and very accommodating.
FYI...in the jargon of my sweet cousin, "Rainbow Courts is the oldest TRAVEL COURT in Texas. It is NOT a Ho-tel."

Room Tip: All of the rooms were comfortably furnished. I was in #1, which was closest to the main road and RR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubbock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Clean, attentive and took care any and all needs. Staff was very professional. The cat Saphire moved in with me. Had a great catered appreciation dinner for the guests. The rates are very reasonable. The property was well kept and clean and grass was always cut.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockdale
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Rockdale Texas
Days Inn Rockdale Texas
#2 of 4 in Rockdale
143 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 4 in Rockdale
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 3 in Caldwell
42 reviews
13.0 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites Cameron
19.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Surrey Inn
#1 of 3 in Caldwell
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Courts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Courts

Property: Rainbow Courts
Address: 915 Cameron Ave., Rockdale, TX 76567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Rockdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rockdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Courts 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Courts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing