We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food & Unique Atmosphere if You Can Find It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Hangar Cafe - CLOSED

Blue Hangar Cafe
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Small, family owned diner located on the taxi-way of the Northwest Regional Airport. Please note that the planes have the right-of-way as you enter the airport to get to the Cafe. Great food with a friendly, casual atmosphere. Come in for lunch and watch the planes land and take-off out front.HOURS: Mon - Fri 10:30am-2pm Sat 7am - 2pm (breakfast served 7a-11a) Sun closed
DFW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food & Unique Atmosphere if You Can Find It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Like some others, we drove past the road and the signs directing to the airport and a smattering of businesses until one day we made it a point to check it out. We drove up and down the road past the airport until we looked across the runway and saw a BLUE HANGAR, duh! When you come down the road from Cross Timbers, take a left as soon as you get to the runway, cross over and you are there.
The owners, Brian & Tavia, are personable and provide a fun, down home cafe experience. We had breakfast, Saturday only, eggs, cakes, bacon, sausage and hash browns... all excellent. we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A neat little airport cafe with a twist.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Yeah, it might be a bit pricey and the setting is somewhat lowborw, but the staff is wonderful and where else can you go on a Saturday morning, eat breakfast outside while airplanes taxi right up to you to fuel up. Quite a variety of unusual small planes too for the aviation buff!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aztec01_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A true hidden treasure, off the beaten path & laid-back fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

To be honest, I have lived in the Roanoke area since 1992 and I did not know this airport (Northwest Regional) was even here, much less a very cool cafe on premises of the airport. I found it via TripAdvisor (wild, since it's only a few miles from me and I had to find it on TripAdvisor!) and we went Saturday. It was so good! The food is a fare of burgers, sandwiches, and the like and it is fresh, cooked to order, and very fairly priced. A constant flow of pilots of the hangared planes was in and out and you are so close to the flight line the refueling takes place right outside the door of the cafe and the taxi way and runway are just a few feet beyond. Sit on their patio area (shady in the morning) and enjoy the food and views! Ruth was our waitperson and was excellent. One of us had a cheeseburger, big and the old-fashioned kind and 'finger lickin' good', a steak sandwich of sauteed nice chunks of beef with a gravy-type sauce (my niece said it was the best ever), and I being a vegetarian, ordered a "Veggie sandwich". I was expected just a typical sandwich bread with lettuce, tomato, etc., but it was a delicious grilled dish on a kaiser roll. Extremely tasty. Can't wait to go back and see the nice folks who run the place and work there, as well as eat their great food. And, watch planes take off and land right out our door! Was told it was pet-friendly on the patio plus BYOB. Daniel

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank danielyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gemstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Wow what a great place !!! We decided to stop there after reading some great reviews we heard there burgers were great however we stopped for breakfast. The place is filled with down to eath people who great you with a smile and treat you like family every one knows every one kind of thing and we got to see planes take off and land.. Let's talk food scrumptious ! The pancakes were light melt in your mouth eggs cooked to order perfectly and bacon thick and juicy! We will go back to try their lunch and of course breakfast heard French toast is to die for! If your around this area please try just call to verify hours of operation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BBB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Loved this unique airport dive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Tried this restaurant for lunch today, and really liked it. The food is your basic burgers, sandwiches, fries and salads and it is excellent, with very reasonable prices. The service was great- both servers and the owner came to our table to chat, and were very happy to have us there. We were treated like old friends.
This restaurant is just feet from the main runway of the Northwest Regional Airport, which adds to it's charm. There is outdoor seating which would be ideal to see the planes take off and land, if only it weren't 100+ degrees outside. It is anything but fancy, but the plane pictures inside, and planes parked out front by the runway make this restaurant very unique. I posted some pictures so you know what to expect. They are open M-F for lunch, and Sat for breakfast & lunch. We will be back to try the breakfast the next Saturday morning it is cool enough to sit outside!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Christian377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing