We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!!! Great place for weekend”
Review of River Bluff Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Bluff Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We drove in from Houston, and had a great time at River Bluff. The river view is especially beautiful, the sunset at the river is worth the experience there, make sure you get your SLR/DSLR's ready. My dog had the best time, he ventured out trying to catch fish by the river and I made sure to capture the moments :). For anyone planning to visit Lost Maples (as we did) , river bluff cabins is a great stay, Lost Maples is 30 min far and you would love the drive from cabins. We got see a different side of Texas and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Management is awesome, we got a cabin in short notice and prices are really worth your stay.

Room Tip: Get the River view cabins and plan early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harsha1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We hope that others will have the opportunity to make such great memories as your family has.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Purchased the discounted deal through Living Social and it was not a scam. To our surprise the cabins and the property was surely a surprise. Well maintained and just steps away from the Frio river, The Shoemakers are an exceptional couple/owners to talk to and to deal with. Our Log cabins were equipped for the basic needs for a group of 6 people. The Beds and private bathrooms are a plus. The Stove tops could get a little attention. Some of them get hot, while others don't.
I left behind my iPhone charger, and the Shoemakers mailed to me within a week. Good people.
Go check it out !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Koshy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We hope that others will have the opportunity to make such great memories as your family has.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I purchased a discount package through Living Social for a two night stay at the River Bluff Cabins for a weekend get-away, and I am really glad I did. We had another couple with us and the cabins were perfect for two couples. Each couple had their own private bedroom and bath. The cabins were also stocked with your everyday utensils for cooking (even a wine bottle opener), satellite TV, free wifi internet, a charcoal grill, fire pit, two picnic tables, a porch swing and 4 heavy duty chairs for sitting next to the fire. Kitchen towels and bathroom hand towels were provided, which was very nice. The decor in the cabin was rustic and beautiful. The cabin was VERY clean and well maintained. AC/Heat worked great. The Frio River was running a little and was very beautiful as well as the changing colors of the Cypress trees.
The only complaint about the stay was the squeaky bed. I am a light sleeper so if I rolled over or if my husband rolled over, I woke up because the bed had a loud crunching noise. We could even hear the other couple get in and out of their bed too because it made the same noise but it was tolerable.
I am definitely looking forward to next year and hoping they will run a special on Living Social again, as I plan on returning. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltrailercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We hope that others will have the opportunity to make such great memories as your family has.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had an awesome stay. There were only 2 things that I can say that could have been better. The sofas/futons were very worn and uncomfortable. If anyone would have been sleeping on them they would have had a rough night. Since the surroundings were so beautiful and spent most of the time outside we made do. Also the stove did not work properly but it was good enough to make a simple breakfast. All in all we had a great time and would not hesitate and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We are very sorry that there were a couple of items that were not perfect. We are constantly improving each cabin as we go, it just takes time.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the first time I stayed at the River Bluff Cabins. I was well pleased with the over all experience. The grounds are neat and clean. Our cabins were comfortable and well equipped with kitchen essentials, TV, and small hand/dish towels. My 4 year old son enjoyed the playground and the Shoemakers friendly cats! The beautiful view of the Frio river from our cabins made our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FleurDeLys13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We hope that others will have the opportunity to make such great memories as your family has.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The cabins are very nice and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and the surrounding area is awesome. The folks running the establishment are super friendly. Definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend it to others

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasFatBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We hope that others will have the opportunity to make such great memories as your family has.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The cabin far exceeded our expectations. It was well kept, well appointed and had a fantastic view of the Frio river. We woke up each day with a view of the river with giant Cypress trees. We spent each night around the fire pit making smores! The Shoemakers were the very best hosts and were very generous in every way. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your time and letting us and others hear about your experience here at River Bluff. We are glad that your cabin meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed it. Thank you for the kind words about us being generous. Our desire is that we treat others as you would want to be treated.
We hope to see you soon and Please let others know about our 'Lil Piece of Heaven on Earth'....

Thanks again,

Doug, Leslie, Britten and Annslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Bluff Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bluff Cabins

Address: 389 Cooper Mountain Rd, Rio Frio, TX 78879-7004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Rio Frio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rio Frio
Price Range: $173 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Bluff Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Bluff Cabins offers the finest family vacation destination in the Texas Hill Country. Our wonderfully rustic cabins and majestic lodges are nestled along the gorgeous Frio River where you can relax, have an unforgettable time in the river or hit the trails for an amazing hike and see nature at its finest at nearby Garner State Park or Lost Maples State Park. Our “lil piece of heaven on earth” has stunning mountain views and a bazillion stars overhead at night. Great for families, reunions, weddings, group gatherings and we cater to the lodging needs of our motorcycle friends. All of the cabins and lodges, 2 BR/BA and much larger, have fully equipped kitchens, free Wi-Fi, Direct TV, pet-friendly and we even supply the linens. It’s not unusual to see European axis deer or our native whitetail deer and turkey roaming through the screensaver-like beauty of the Texas Hill Country. If you need any supplies, shop with us first for your essentials and you can always find the rest in nearby Leakey, Texas. So whether you’re planning a summer river vacation or a quiet winter retreat, remember River Bluff Cabins – the finest cabins and lodges on the Frio River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Bluff Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Bluff Cabins Rio Frio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing