We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome getaway”
Review of River Bluff Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Bluff Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had an awesome stay. There were only 2 things that I can say that could have been better. The sofas/futons were very worn and uncomfortable. If anyone would have been sleeping on them they would have had a rough night. Since the surroundings were so beautiful and spent most of the time outside we made do. Also the stove did not work properly but it was good enough to make a simple breakfast. All in all we had a great time and would not hesitate and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We are very sorry that there were a couple of items that were not perfect. We are constantly improving each cabin as we go, it just takes time.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the first time I stayed at the River Bluff Cabins. I was well pleased with the over all experience. The grounds are neat and clean. Our cabins were comfortable and well equipped with kitchen essentials, TV, and small hand/dish towels. My 4 year old son enjoyed the playground and the Shoemakers friendly cats! The beautiful view of the Frio river from our cabins made our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FleurDeLys13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We hope that others will have the opportunity to make such great memories as your family has.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The cabins are very nice and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and the surrounding area is awesome. The folks running the establishment are super friendly. Definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend it to others

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasFatBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is with great pleasure that we hear such kind words about our resort and our family. We will continue to look forward to your return visit as we strive to provide the kind of customer service that we would expect at a place like River Bluff Cabins. Even though we know things will not be perfect, we will continue to do the best we can. We hope that others will have the opportunity to make such great memories as your family has.
Thanks again for your time and we look forward to crossing paths again very soon.

Regards,

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie Shoemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The cabin far exceeded our expectations. It was well kept, well appointed and had a fantastic view of the Frio river. We woke up each day with a view of the river with giant Cypress trees. We spent each night around the fire pit making smores! The Shoemakers were the very best hosts and were very generous in every way. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your time and letting us and others hear about your experience here at River Bluff. We are glad that your cabin meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed it. Thank you for the kind words about us being generous. Our desire is that we treat others as you would want to be treated.
We hope to see you soon and Please let others know about our 'Lil Piece of Heaven on Earth'....

Thanks again,

Doug, Leslie, Britten and Annslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had such a great time in the Hill Country! And, that started with our GREAT cabin and facilities at the River Bluff Cabins. We had a terrific view of the enormous Cypress trees and the beautiful slow running river babbling thru the rocks of the Frio River. Our cabin was very spacious with ALL the comforts of home. The kitchen has everything you need in order to prepare meals. There is a BBQ Grill and place to build a bon fire by each of the cabins. It took me back to camp days, having S'mores by the bon fire. The cabins are located very close to Lost Maple State Park and Garner State Park. Both are very beautiful State parks with things for all ages to do. Very relaxing trip! We can't wait to do it again! River Bluff Cabins will definitely be in our plans again in the future!

Room Tip: Cabins that face the river are well worth the money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rodshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your time and letting us and others hear about your experience here at River Bluff. Our desire is that we run our business like we would want to be treated. We are not always perfect, but will certainly try. We are glad that your cabin meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed it. Yes, some might say they like the space and the extra bathroom in the log cabins compared to the river view cabins, but we prefer to see the river like you...
We hope to see you soon and Please let others know about our 'Lil Piece of Heaven on Earth'....

Thanks again,

Doug, Leslie, Britten and Annslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our stay at River Bluff Cabins was so nice. Cabin #6 is situated above the Frio River. It was an excellent spot to watch the river, access the river, and listen to the river run. There were two of us. We had plenty of room in the cabin. We really enjoyed having a firepit and BBQ pit so handy. Leslie and Doug were great hosts. We enjoyed our visits with them. We have stayed at another set of cabins in Leakey before and remembered how beautiful the river was and how nice the cabin was. We drove by those cabins on our way out-of-town. We realized River Bluff Cabins had a way better view, more privacy, and easier access to the water. We will be back!

Room Tip: Cabin 6 was right next to the stairs to access the river for fishing, swimming, or exploring. Doug s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ostrich79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your time and letting us and others hear about your experience here at River Bluff. Our desire is that we run our business like we would want to be treated. We are not always perfect, but will certainly try. We are glad that cabin 6 was a good spot for you and that you realized that we were better than your previous stays here in Leakey.
We hope to see you soon and Please let others know about our 'Lil Piece of Heaven on Earth'....

Thanks again,

Doug, Leslie, Britten and Annslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My adult children and I had an amazing time during our first but definitely not last stay at River Bluff Cabin #7. Our favorite, besides the river, was the huge porch that we ate every single meal at..with the beautiful scenery we just "had to."
Nice touch of having our name on the map of the cabins in front of the office...little things such as that really made us feel welcomed.
It was easy to run into Leakey and get a few makings for smores and more adult beverages at the Mercantile which had friendly staff and adequate amount of a selection at reasonable prices.
I do recommend bringing your favorite skillet, knife and baking pan. The cabin's stock of kitchenware was okay but my big skillet would have come in handy for making breakfast tacos. And also, don't forget to take all your trash to the dumpster behind the office, luckily I read the check out instructions posted on the refrigerator while we were cleaning up to leave or I would have left it all in the outside trash can next to our cabin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ButterflyKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and to let others know about River Bluff Cabins! It is always fun to check our Trip Advisor rating to see what encouraging words people have to say about our place. We are glad you enjoyed our cabin #7 even though you wished you had your own pots/pans.
So again, Thanks for taking your time to let us and others know how you feel about River Bluff and God Bless!

See ya soon....

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Bluff Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bluff Cabins

Address: 389 Cooper Mountain Rd, Rio Frio, TX 78879-7004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Rio Frio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rio Frio
Price Range: $173 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Bluff Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Bluff Cabins offers the finest family vacation destination in the Texas Hill Country. Our wonderfully rustic cabins and majestic lodges are nestled along the gorgeous Frio River where you can relax, have an unforgettable time in the river or hit the trails for an amazing hike and see nature at its finest at nearby Garner State Park or Lost Maples State Park. Our “lil piece of heaven on earth” has stunning mountain views and a bazillion stars overhead at night. Great for families, reunions, weddings, group gatherings and we cater to the lodging needs of our motorcycle friends. All of the cabins and lodges, 2 BR/BA and much larger, have fully equipped kitchens, free Wi-Fi, Direct TV, pet-friendly and we even supply the linens. It’s not unusual to see European axis deer or our native whitetail deer and turkey roaming through the screensaver-like beauty of the Texas Hill Country. If you need any supplies, shop with us first for your essentials and you can always find the rest in nearby Leakey, Texas. So whether you’re planning a summer river vacation or a quiet winter retreat, remember River Bluff Cabins – the finest cabins and lodges on the Frio River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Bluff Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Bluff Cabins Rio Frio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing