We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Weekend”
Review of River Bluff Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Bluff Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
1 review
“River Weekend”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Once a year, in October, we pack up and go for the weekend to the Frio River, specifically The River Bluff Cabins. It takes 3 cabins to accomodate our large family and the very reasonable off-season rates make renting the 3 cabins possible. The cabins are immaculate, comfortable and artfully designed to feel spacious and even airy (perhaps the high ceilings help with that.) Even so, we're rarely inside because the attractions outside call us. I'm older and spend much of my day down at the river, enjoying the other worldly sense of peace and serenity in the flowing river and overhanging trees. I watch the kids (and dog) play in the water, raft and tube downstream and paddle back up. It's dim, and cool and utterly enchanting.
Meanwhile the younger families in our party love the circular set up of the cabins where a kind of communal life takes place with children playing in the central playground where parents can keep an eye on them from the patio swings. We barbecue our dinners at the provided grills and roast marshmallows at fires in the bonfire pits till late into the night.
Coming to the River Bluff Cabins is an event that all of us in my family look forward to all year long.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many many thanks for taking the time to write this review and to let others know about our 'Lil Piece of Heaven on Earth'! It is always a great pleasure to hear such encouraging words as you wrote. The description you provided of the river and the circle of cabins as well as the activities associated with the cabins couldn't have been better.
So again, Thanks for taking your time to let us and others know how you feel about River Bluff and God Bless!

See ya soon....

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Damon
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A very good place to stay...First time to the the cabins..Doug and Leslie were very helpful..Doug was very knowledgeable of the area..He imformed me of good resturants to eat at and good roads to ride..The twin cypress lodge was very nice...Has great view of the river.....Will definately recommend it to family and friends...Will stay there the next time I am up that way.. Thanks Doug and Leslie

Room Tip: The Twin cypress lodge is a very nice cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and to let others know about our Twin Cypress Lodge, your experience here and how great our place is. It is always a great pleasure to hear that we have another happy guest. We are certainly glad we could offer you help to enhance your riding trip as well. This is the best place to ride in TX.
So again, Thanks for taking your time to let us and others know how you feel about River Bluff and God Bless!

See ya soon....

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our first visit to River Bluff cabins, we couldn't have asked for a nice place to stay, The cabin was big and comfortable, the view was fabulous and the water refreshing. My husband and I and our 8 children stayed for 2 nights and are looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many many thanks for taking the time to write this review and to let others know about our 'Lil Piece of Heaven on Earth'! It is always a great pleasure to hear such encouraging words as you wrote. Most important is that you are planning a return trip with all those kids. Hopefully they will get plenty of water time next trip.
So again, Thanks for taking your time to let us and others know how you feel about River Bluff and God Bless!

See ya soon....

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The central Texas Hill Country boasts of many beautiful natural springs and rivers, but few are as beautiful and relaxing as this little slice of heaven on the Frio River headwaters. The cabins are situated on a bluff that overlooks the river and spring that feeds the river. My wife and I went with another married couple for the weekend. The view from our cabin #4 veranda was in a word... spectacular. The cabin itself is a bit small and cramped but overall quite suitable for 2 couples looking to getaway from the city and have some serious downtime. There is an adequate kitchen stocked with all the basics you need, a private charcoal grill, and a wood pit for a campfire, all of which we made use of. Cabin 4 has a large covered veranda with an iron table for 4, there was also a large private wood picnic table.

The drawbacks about the cabin, they have double beds which are small and not that comfortable; there are no curtains on the windows just mini-blinds; and the door to one of the bedrooms would not close which is not the best thing when wanting to have sex! These are the only reasons I gave it 4 out of 5 rating.

As far as hospitality, the owners Doug & Leslie were great! Long before we arrived they answered all questions I had either by email or text within < 24 hours. They were also courteous and helpful.

The real draw for these cabins is the location on the Frio River, the owners are blessed with a perfect spot and believe me you will be impressed. Everything about it from the babbling spring to the canopy of large shady cypress trees says... shut up, chill out, relax, and enjoy the beauty of this place.

Room Tip: 1. Bring your own food to cook/eat with you there are large enough refrigerators for plenty of stock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and to let others know about what you thought of your relaxing weekend at River Bluff. Our motto is, "We know it won't be perfect, we will just give it our all". Although we aspire for everything to be perfect, we believe you had a great trip. We will be checking out the door immediately as this sure could be an inconvenience. Thanks for the many other encouraging reviews and tips for others as well. Hopefully your advice will be read by many that they just need to come and chill....
So again, Thanks for the review and hopefully you will be back.

Until next time...

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferris, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a great time! The cabins were clean and the owner was friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful view of the Frio River. I Love the Texas Hill Country and can't wait to go back and get away from the city. Would definately recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Texas_Girl0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and let others know about the Texas Hill Country and our lil spot! It really makes us happy to know that our cabins were clean and the Frio is what you expected.
Most important is that you will tell your friends/family to come see us and that you are planning a return trip! That makes all of our hard work worth it. Again, Thanks for taking your time to let us and others know how you feel about River Bluff.

See ya soon....

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a beautiful property...My family of 4 stayed there 2 weeks ago and we loved it! The office staff was very helpful and courteous from start to finish. My toddlers loved the two play sets and the ample room to run and play. The cabins are beautiful, clean and well stocked. We enjoyed barbecuing and just relaxing from the hustle of the city. I found this through LivingSocial at a great bargain. I've told all my friends about this beautiful spot. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the cabins are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bleu2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our lil spot. It is greatly appreciated. We won't promise everything will be absolutely perfect, we can just try our best. We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience and liked the cabins. We are also very glad that we got some feedback from our Living Social guests and that in fact you want to return. That is the real reason we do what we do, it is to bring families together, make memories and send you home rejuvenated. Hopefully our mission was accomplished. Again, thanks a million for taking the time to tell others about your experience.

Doug, Leslie, Britten and Annslie
River Bluff Cabins owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a most remarkable place...a slice of heaven for sure:)

We wanted a cool getaway from the Round Rock, TX, heat. The float on the Frio was exactly that...sooo refreshing! Plus we found new friends in a wonderful family...Leslie, Doug, and Annslie...hope to meet Britten next trip. Yes, we already booked for next year same time plus an additional day. The beauty of going after Labor Day was less traffic for our ride in the Hill Country. The ride through the Hill Country was just what we wanted...scenic and soul satsfying. If you are traveling that way, stop in Medina at The Apple Store. The smell of apple pies baking will make you swoon with good memories. We traveled lightly so we didn't bring much in the way of supplies, so for your info Stripes is super conveniently located right there in Leaky, TX., includes a Subway. We also found Mama Chole's in Leaky, tacos are excellent...compare in quality to Chuy's in Austin area. Garner State Park is nearby for summer family dances. Our spirits soared with the awesomeness of God's creation in nature...fits right in with our current study of "Exploring God" at our local church. Last night the full moon made us remember our amazing ambiance during our stay at River Bluff Cabins....imagining how lovely it must be through those majestic cypress trees!

Linda and John Cooper
September 19, 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBluffCabins, Owner at River Bluff Cabins, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Many many thanks for taking the time to write this amazing review and to let others know about our 'Lil Piece of Heaven on Earth'! It is always a great pleasure to hear such encouraging words as you wrote. Our motto is, "We know it won't be perfect, we will just give it our all". Hearing what you have to say energizes us to keep going. So, THANK YOU!
Most important is that you are planning a return trip and it will be longer! An rebook that you extend means we have done a good job. That is what we pride ourselves on, making our customers 'have' to come back. That makes all of our hard work worth it.
So again, Thanks for taking your time to let us and others know how you feel about River Bluff and God Bless!

See ya soon....

Doug, Leslie, Britten & Annslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Bluff Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bluff Cabins

Property: River Bluff Cabins
Address: 389 Cooper Mountain Rd, Rio Frio, TX 78879-7004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Rio Frio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rio Frio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Bluff Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Bluff Cabins offers the finest family vacation destination in the Texas Hill Country. Our wonderfully rustic cabins and majestic lodges are nestled along the gorgeous Frio River where you can relax, have an unforgettable time in the river or hit the trails for an amazing hike and see nature at its finest at nearby Garner State Park or Lost Maples State Park. Our “lil piece of heaven on earth” has stunning mountain views and a bazillion stars overhead at night. Great for families, reunions, weddings, group gatherings and we cater to the lodging needs of our motorcycle friends. All of the cabins and lodges, 2 BR/BA and much larger, have fully equipped kitchens, free Wi-Fi, Direct TV, pet-friendly and we even supply the linens. It’s not unusual to see European axis deer or our native whitetail deer and turkey roaming through the screensaver-like beauty of the Texas Hill Country. If you need any supplies, shop with us first for your essentials and you can always find the rest in nearby Leakey, Texas. So whether you’re planning a summer river vacation or a quiet winter retreat, remember River Bluff Cabins – the finest cabins and lodges on the Frio River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Bluff Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Bluff Cabins Rio Frio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing