We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serene and beautiful view of Frio”
Review of River Haven Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio Frio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Haven Cabins
Ranked #1 of 2 Rio Frio B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed in cabin i and had a view of river and got to see deer and turkey feeding every morning and evening. Be sure to put a hummingbird feeder on porch and you'll have hummingbirds galore! Very relaxing long weekend! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goliver71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED our stay. The whole family ranging from 1 to 90 enjoyed it.
We rented 3 cabins facing the river and it was worth it!
Now, the decor is outdated but it didn't matter.
Everything else makes up for it.
You can go right out in the mornings and sit on rocking chairs by the porch and see and listen to the river. We even saw a herd of deer.
We especially liked sitting around the fire and telling stories and making s'mores at night.
Inside the cabins they had everything you need to cook a meal. They do have Wi Fi since its hard to get cell phone service.
It was nice to have a fireplace on those cold evenings.
A beautiful place to make great memories!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomasloera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here so many times I couldn't count. Cabins are great, the river is beautiful and the managers are warm and friendly. Sandy and Margie are so very helpful and nice I feel they are kin. Leakey springs cabins are part of river haven but with my sweet little furry travel companion I have to stay here. The cabins are just as great but no fireplace. I usually stay a week at a time and just relax. Love it and will go back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

These are great cabins along the Frio River, just outside of Leakey, Texas. The cabins were very clean, we'll maintained, and had TV with a satellite service (Dish or Direct, did not attention as to which). There was also wi-fi at the cabins, but could not pickup on the back porch.

The cabins have all the linens and all the kitchen utensils needed. There were BBQ pits by each cabin.

The view of the Frio River from the covered back porch was awesome. Plenty of deer to see with morning coffee at dawn and when relaxing at dusk.

There are good restaurants to eat at in Leakey.

The staff was fantastic...cannot say enough good things about their customer service.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msscull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The setting for River Haven Cabins is simply incredible, we were so excited when we drove up. The exterior of the cabin is charming and rustic, if a bit too close-set to its neighbor. The cabin was a disappointment for me, and I feel bad saying that. But it felt claustrophobic and dark, lighting that did exist was poorly placed or harsh (such as the wall lamp just above the bed pillows with uber bright bulb). Kitchen is hard to maneuver in due to an awkward bar, with the table too close to it. Bathtub/shower area is really cramped. Oh, and just for glee, flush the toilet and you just might have that drain water back up into the tub drain. Also lots of Don't Don't Don't on the bulletin board in the cabin, didn't feel quite welcoming. Positive note, the covered porch was very pleasant. Excellent views of the Milky Way, and we really enjoyed observing deer, wild turkeys, and bats. So, positives and negatives here, just depends on what matters most to you. Next time, we will opt for a different location on the beautiful Frio.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexianChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed with the wonderful folks at River Haven for years! The cabins are like rustic (but well-done) condos.......just bring your food & you are set for a wonderful, relaxing time on the Frio River! The cabins are completely stocked with kitchen "stuff", but bring your own charcoal if you want to BBQ on the grill located next to the front porch. We like going in the winter when it's quiet, too. But in spring through fall, the cold Frio River is a nice respite from the heat. You can sign up with a float concession in Concan or at Happy Hollow & float the Frio at whatever pace you choose. There are rockers & a picnic table on the front porch so you may dine outside. They have flat screen TV's & a fireplace, too. The Wi-Fi is sketchy, depending on which cabin you're in. We always have cell phone service. It's a short walk on the improved concrete walkway down to the river. Lots of birds for the birding bunch, we had a hummingbird nest in the tree in front of our porch one time......cute! One our favorite all-time places to relax! Cheers!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

These rustic looking cabins are located just above the banks of the Frio River outside the small town of Leakey Texas. Our cabin was comfortable and cozy and the kitchen was well equipped. The river is just a short walk downhill and the sound of the songbirds and the rushing river will fill your senses. If you are looking for more activity, Garner State Park is 5 minutes away which offers more challenging hiking, fishing, swimming and dances every Saturday night during the summer. I highly recommend these cabins.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin on the banks of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Haven Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Haven Cabins

Address: 2644 Ranch Rd 1120, Rio Frio, TX 78873
Location: United States > Texas > Rio Frio
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rio Frio
Price Range: $155 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
River Haven Cabins Hotel Leakey
River Haven Cabins Rio Frio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing