We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oaks Manor is delightful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Great Oaks Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night, and loved it! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable, too, which is always a plus. It was a fantastic alternative to staying in a hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nawlinsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for The Great Oaks Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed at The Great Oaks Manor over a weekend as a reprieve from Hurricane Ike. We were in the Verandah Room and the furnishings were nice. The place was very clean and the bed was most comfortable. The Manor is beautiful, expertly decorated, and Carey and Fred were good hosts. Carey prepared delicious breakfasts and she put out fresh baked goodies upstairs at the Coffee Bar each evening. It was a peaceful and restful weekend and not far from great restaurants and shopping.
Sherry and Michael
Pearland, Tx.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PartyMartiniHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed here shortly after Hurricane Ike. Very clean, quiet, thoughtful amenities, pleasant and comfortable. The owners are terrific hosts; wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BostonElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

The place was excellent. From first getting into the driveway and seeing this lovingly restored building and the grounds, I knew i had picked a good place for a romantic weekend!

The decor has been carefully restored and looked great, and the owners were lovely, friendly people who were only too happy to show us around the place. Our room was just as described on the website and filled our needs perfectly.

I'd paid extra for flowers, chocolates and toasting glasses and it was all in the room when we arrived and helped make our weekend very special.

There was plenty for breakfast the next morning and it was all good, we spent some time in the morning admiring the grounds and working out when we could next visit! It was a lovely place and somewhere where we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wanderer051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

I chose this B&B after looking at many for our 15th anniversary. I was drawn by the history and workmanship of this home. My husband and I choose the Pirate's Liar themed room and it was very nicely decorated. There are lots of shopping areas with a variety of restaurants to choose from very close by in Rosenberg, Richmond, Sugarland and even Houston. Breakfast was just delightful, especially Carey's blueberry scones. The Croissant roll French toast with strawberries was exceptional. Since the house was moved from its original site, we went into Richmond to see the where it was built and where the owners were laid to rest. Would love to go back when they have completed the room they are now working on.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bcoscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We had a wonderful time! The room was beautiful, the property very nice with a great story behind it. We went to have dinner at a restaurant close-by and came back to admire a beautiful scene of the house. It was an amazing and unforgettable stay and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dieg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

This was a perfect weekend, from arrival where we were graciously greeted and shown about the place, through the amazing breakfasts, until we walked out the door. Carey and Fred are graceful, warm, and inviting people. The accomodations were spacious, top notch, and very attractive. The room itself was so romantic and warm. The "kitchen" space outside the room was perfect for snacks, and drinks. It was a real plus, and delightful surprise. And the Toffee Brownies are to die for. The first night when we got back from the theatre, turned into the drive and saw the house, I cried. It was so beautiful. It was like a dream. Food-well, I would have come just for that. Carey is amazing. Hated to have to come home. But both of us are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Rosenberg
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Rosenberg
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston / Sugar Land
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Sugarland Inn
Best Western Sugarland Inn
#3 of 9 in Sugar Land
268 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Rosenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Oaks Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Oaks Manor

Address: 419 Macek Rd, Richmond, TX 77469-8306
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $125 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway with a jetted tub for two, a fireplace and a full breakfast, or the perfect location to relax when visiting the Richmond, Sugar Land, or Houston area, come to historic Great Oaks Manor. Built by Clement Newton Bassett who fought in the Civil War, this grand home is full of history on two acres of century-old oak trees. "Southern Grace and Charm with Texas-size Hospitality!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing