We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there is a new location on FM 359; Richmond, Tx 77406”
Review of Karl's at the Riverbend - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Karl's at the Riverbend
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“there is a new location on FM 359; Richmond, Tx 77406”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very good place to eat. We ate at the old location last year or so and the restaurant was quiet and the food was good. The "when" did we visit date will be approximate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flamingogal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food by a master chef”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

lovely dining in a rural environment outside of town. Exceptional food. Karl is Austrian and serves a great game menu. We celebrate our anniversaries and special occasions here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank drstexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We will miss you!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is their last month of operations but we have really enjoyed eating at this very senic and wonderful Swiss restaurant. The food is creative and there are two different menus. If you can get here by the end of 2012, you will definately enjoy yourselves. Try a Monday thru Thursday for the best prices. The owners/operattors are retiring. There was a month early waiting line for Thanksgiving buffet!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osgoodsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice place but you have to hurry”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had dinner at Karl's last night to celebrate my mother-in-law's 80th birthday. It was a perfect setting for a family event. The service was excellent, the atmosphere was just right and the food was very good. I felt the filet was a bit over cooked for medium but it was very tasty and the sides were excellent. Karl's is a great place to take family and friends when you want a change to eat, enjoy your company and have a leisure time but you must hurry. Karl takes the time to visit each table and during the conversation I found that their lease it up and he will be closing the restaurant at the end of December... so hurry in and enjoy it while you can.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awsome country/German fare”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

great buffet - excellent seasoning - service a little slow. We liked the drive out in the country and will return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert_VZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl's at the Riverbend also viewed

Richmond, Texas Gulf Coast
Richmond, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Richmond, Texas Gulf Coast
Richmond, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing