We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Texas History Told with Texas Pride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Ranch Historical Park

George Ranch Historical Park
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The George Ranch Historical Park's history follows family lines beginning in 1824 and spans more than 100 years. Just 30 miles southwest of downtown Houston, the Park is located on a 20,000 acre working ranch featuring historic homes, costumed interpreters, historic food programs, school tours, group tours, event rental facilities and livestock. It's a living history partnership of the Fort Bend County Museum Association and The George Foundation.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
474 reviews
293 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Texas History Told with Texas Pride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This extraordinary 480-acre living history site is just off from FM 2759. It’s part of the George Ranch, which is a 23,000-acre working ranch. Abundant parking is onsite. Admission is $10 per adult. For our visit, we picked up brochures for self-guided tours inside the very informative Visitor's Center. We toured the 1890s Davis House and the 1930s George Ranch House; both were full of fascinating period furnishings. Our indoor guides were excellent. All the buildings seemed in great condition of inside and out. From bleachers, we also watched some cowboys as they worked cattle in the front pens while on and off horseback. We walked part of the ranch’s tour loop, cameras ever at the ready, until we headed back to the café for water and a soda. Had we not planned to see Brazos Bend State Park on the same day, we’d have stayed much longer. We loved the sense of historical authenticity and Texas pride that we felt here!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“THE BEST KEPT SECRET NEAR HOUSTON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This historical place is a combination of history, outdoors adventure and fun. With hand-on activities kids and teens will be involve and learn about 4 generations of a Texan family thru 100 years. Very nice place with tour guide on each of the 3 houses you will visit. Better to visit during early spring or late autumn. Hot could be very suffocating on summer. You will need about 4 hours to see all the houses and places. Maybe more if you have young children

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sjveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Texian Market Days is Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've been the the Texian Market Days two years in a row and I'm looking forward to being there again this year-always a pleasure to see history come to life and they do a fantastic job!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“spend an afternoon with visitors!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The tours of the homes are fantastic, and the guides go out of thier way to show you around and let you understand the era that the homes were used. The cattle roaping demonstration is reallly good unless you are a rabid ASPCA buff, but if you go to Macdonalds you cannot complain. Great job by the volunteers who make the place really worth the $10 and a day out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpetAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived at The George Ranch with mixed feelings - we had been told how wonderful it was but my back was very painful and I was finding it very hard to walk, so I wasn't sure how I would cope as the houses etc were some way apart.

Well, I could not have been more pleasantly surprised nor more grateful to the very caring, compassionate, friendly and very well informed staff. Apart from a school party, there were very few visitors that particular day and so we had VIP treatment. Because of my walking problems, we were taken door to door by golf buggy. At each home we found the guides very knowledgeable, kind and helpful.

The exhibits gave us a really good insight into life at various periods in history in this area of the country and the whole estate is well managed and beautifully presented. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pauline9919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Ranch Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to George Ranch Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing