We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have enjoyed this one for many years.”
Review of Holy Frijoles

Holy Frijoles
Ranked #114 of 412 Restaurants in Richardson
Restaurant details
richardson
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We have enjoyed this one for many years.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were one of the first customers at this tiny "hole-in-the-wall" restaurant in North Richardson. They have very friendly staff and wonderfully fresh food. Over the years, Mario [the owner] has added touches that have created a modern - bistro feel. Their queso, salsa and barracho sauces are made from scratch and are the best you will find, anywhere. I love to get the San Miguel Allende plate. It is enough for both my husband and me. I also love their tortilla soup and Frijoles salad. Their cheese tacos have a subtle flavor reminiscent of Peruvian flavor. Now the restaurant is very popular with the locals - especially teachers and other professionals. Mario and his wife have opened I gemeli (sp?), an Italian place in the same shopping area, and another Holy Frijoes in Plano. Try them...you will love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small place with a Big personality!”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I have enjoyed eating at this restaurant almost weekly for about a year. The waiters are always very friendly and very helpful. From the moment we walk in to the moment we leave, we are always treated very pleasantly. All of the waiters pretty much know what we eat and drink. Occasionally we might change something up, but have always enjoyed every dish we order. We are also sold on the amazing $3.00 margaritas! A great little place with a great big personality!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarshall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Taco Salad & Service”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Try the Richardson Holy Frijoles ... Gentlemen waiters are excellent and recommend the best choices. Friendly atmosphere for friends, families, business ... or for a date !! This combination of really good food and service is a real find. Go see for yourself !!@!@

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great local flavor”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Service couldn't have been better. Food came out quick and tasted great. It looks a little worn on the outside, but don't let it fool you. Great meal on a budget, but you get a lot of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great non-chain Tex-Mex!”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Holy Frijoles is a small Tex-Mex restaurant in Richardson, Texas, on Arapaho west of Central Expressway. It is an independently owned restaurant where the owner appears frequently and his family celebrates the kids' birthdays.

It has a surprisingly broad Tex-Mex menu (for such a small restaurant), even with several fish dishes. While most is standard Tex-Mex, the breadth of the menu (including the occasional hamburger and French fries for the unrepentant gringo) means that nearly every one can find something to eat there.

My favorite is the Tampiqueña, a thin grilled steak served with one cheese enchilada, rice & beans.

This restaurant was awarded the Reader's Choice Award for Best Tex Mex Food in Richardson by the Dallas Morning News in 2006.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Frijoles also viewed

 

Been to Holy Frijoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing