We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Reliable”

Cappuccino Italian Bistro
Ranked #83 of 417 Restaurants in Richardson
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Reliable”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We've been dining at Cappuccino's for a couple of decades, even in its original location at LBJ and Midway. The move lost the old world charm of the original setting, but most younger and newer diners are probably happier with its new Italian villa facade, anyway. Regardless, becoming a regular is one of the best moves you can make. The biggest offering here is value. The style is as formal as most restaurants that are a notch more expensive, the service is always attentive and efficient and often unusually warm and friendly. The wine list is modest in size but well and carefully chosen and there is a full service bar. The menu is excellent, a somewhat electic mix of Italian and Mediterranean themes as well as American standbys. (There's a kid's menu but only those big enough to eat at the table are appropriate.) The lobster bisque and Caesar salad are superb; the variety of entrees is wide with chicken piccata, grilled salmon and other dishes rivaling that of the best restaurants in town. Their speciality pepper steak with cognac sauce is the best I've had in town, matching the biggest named steakhouses. In addition they have usually three specials every day that feature great fresh fish such as sea bass or halibut in creative sauces, chicken dishes prepared in original ways and other specialities. The dessert menu is no slouch either, the creme brulee and Cappuccino pie can't be beat. Best of all, when the bill comes you will realize you are paying about 75% what you would shell out for the same or lesser meal at a 5-star trendy spot. But before you leave, there's a final treat that's not on the menu. Look like an insider and request for a Cafe Pierre -- a coffee concoction using brandy, Grand Marnier and Kahlua flamed at your table. The show alone is worth the price and the coffee's luscious.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Pretty good Italian”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had dinner here earlier this year when on town in business. It was a nice experience. Atmosphere was relaxing; service was reasonably attentive. The meal was just fine -- really, nothing to complain about other than the restaurant sitting quite a ways back from the street and hard to find if you don't already know where it is located.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay-cee-1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible, bland food”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had our spaghetti and meatballs, lasagne and garlic bread delivered using "dining in" delivery service. Both meals were tasteless, and the meatballs were a particularly unappetizing greyish very fine mince. The garlic bread looked lovely, but had a strange after taste.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissCaroline71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, attentive staff, good food”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We've gone to Cappuccino's 3-4 times when a friend of ours plays in a band there. We usually eat outside and have our toddlers with us. The inside looks very nice - we just walk through. We've ordered "standard" american-italian food, and it has been delicious. They even serve escargot! They get food out quickly for my kids. Our servers have seemed to be attentive. This last time, one of my toddlers slipped while playing and one server quickly gave me a napkin with ice to put on her boo-boo (without me asking) - I really appreciated that. If we lived closer, we would go here more often, but we have enjoyed our times there and certainly enjoy hearing a live band while playing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agvball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frisco, texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“what a huge disappointment”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

this is not Italian food, and appetizer, to entree, to desert, were all lousy and tasteless. do yourself a favor and don't throw good money away at food like this

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ajricca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappuccino Italian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Cappuccino Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing