We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new place close to my place of business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Dallas Richardson/Plano
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Richardson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This place is brand new which has it's own advantages. Breakfast has both hot and cold items and all the rooms are set up as mini suites.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel popped up when I was doing a search when I logged in my Marriott account. I had no idea of its existence. It was recently opened in 2011 but I am not sure whether it was early 2011 or late 2011. Hotel's address is George Bush Turnpike but its main entrance faces the street behind. From the feeder of the Turnpike, there is a small drive way to the back side of the hotel. Hotel has 4 floors. We looked into the exercise room and it was nice. There were 2 treadmills and a couple more cardio equipments with some free weights. We did not use the outdoor pool that is on the freeway side (back side of hotel). At night, they lighted up the firepit, which is located to the side of the front entrance (in front of the breakfast area).

This place has contemporary decor. Lobby furniture, breakfast area and everything about the hotel exude a "new" feeling. Service at check-in was pleasant and speedy. When you enter your room the refrigerator and microwave is on one side and the living room, desk and bed are on the other side. The bathroom and toilet areas are behind the refrigerator and microwave. Therefore, bathroom and separate toilet including a small sink are at the end of your bed. The TV is situated to the side of the refrigerator, opposite the desk and in between the bed and living room area. It's sort of an odd placement in my opinion. I prefer for the TV to be at the end of the bed or directly opposite the couch in the living room, not at an angle. But I understand that they have to work with the minimum space available. After entry into your room, you have to slide the card key to the slot next to the door to activate power to turn on the lights, etc. This instruction was also given to us at check-in.

We were excited that a new hotel can't be bad. As soon as we put up our suitcases, we decided to check out the bed. We pulled the sheets back and to our horror there was a piece of hair on one of the pillows. We immediately went to the front desk to inform the lady of the situation and went out to visit family anyway. We asked for the sheets and pillowcases to be replaced. At that moment the maid walked to the lobby area, and was told by the front desk lady to go change the linen. That was around 3:30 PM. When we returned to our room at 10PM, nothing was done. The sheets were pulled back in the exact same position where my husband left it, with one of the living room roll pillow next to the fold. That was when we knew the maid did not bother to change it. The rest of the sheets looked new and clean. We realized that sometime when laundry is done that there is a possibility of hair remains. But we were disappointed that house cleaning did not even bother to change the sheets as requested. That left a sour taste in our mouth.

Besides that the bathroom was clean. The toilet and a small sink are in a separate room with sliding door. The shower area and a larger sink and mirror are in the next room with sliding door. Both rooms are at the end of the bed. There were plenty of towels and a hair dryer was provided. Due to the modern decor, there is no towel bar in the shower area, just the bar that is attached to the shower door. In the toilet area, there is one hook to hang hand towel after you wash your hands in a very tiny sink. However, it was adequate. None of the bathroom felt claustrophobic.

The bar is opened at 5PM and we did not use it. Breakfast area is opened at 6AM. There is scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, oatmeal (with nuts, dried fruit topping), toast, bagel, muffin and a do-it-yourself waffle maker. There is a small refrigerator below the juice area where milk and yogurt are provided.

Our room was on 4th floor and faced the Turnpike and it got slightly noisy. Fortunately there was not a lot of traffic on this Turnpike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, not facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanaleimomTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Richardson/Plano, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

I wanted to, personally, thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. I would have responded sooner but was away from the hotel, for personal reasons, and was unable to.

My staff and I are glad you chose the SpringHill Suites during your visit to the Richardson area. As a member of the Marriott family of hotels, we take great pride in providing all guests with a clean and comfortable suite … one that exceeds their expectations. It is our goal to provide top-notch service in an environment that allows guests to relax, as well. Your feedback – which is vitally important to us as a “brand new” hotel – shows we missed ‘the mark’ during your stay. I apologize for that …

It is never pleasing to find a hair in your suite … whether on the floor, on a counter-top or on the pillows/sheets of a freshly-made bed. The fact you did find a hair on your pillow horrifies me in much the same way it horrified you. I think I was, honestly, more surprised to read about the failure of my staff to quickly respond to your very simple request … changing the sheets. We have utilized your feedback in training sessions with members of both our Front Desk staff and our Housekeeping Department. I am, as I said, sincerely appreciative of your candor and am confident it will help to, hopefully, prevent the recurrence of this issue.

I smiled as I read the remainder of your review. I have never seen such a thorough and helpful review on Trip Advisor. You, obviously, have an eye for detail. That is always a bonus …

Should your travels bring you back to the Richardson area, I hope you will choose the SpringHill Suites, again. When you do, I am confident your stay will be memorable for very different reasons and we’ll be able to count you among our fully-satisfied guests.

All the best,
Sean Craft
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Several girlfriends & I went on a short weekend trip in February, 2012. I did not expect much for this hotel because honestly, I had never heard of it. I was impressed as I stepped in the door! The contemporary decor was a surprise to me and not at alll what I expected. My home is a classic old-world traditional look with subdued colors & charm. I love that look. However, this contemporary design was a visual treat to my senses.

The adjoining rooms that we had were beautiful as well. Even the door cards were different, as you just held them up to the door sensor and didn't need to slide it in. Once inside, we couldn't figure out at first how to turn on the bathroom lights. Then we realized that there was an energy saving device that you inserted a room key. As long as the key was in it, the lights would stay on. When the key came out, the lights went off. What a wonderful way to save energy! I had heard about that before, but had never seen it in person. I could go on & on, but needless to say, I would go back in an instant!

Room Tip: We needed 2 adjoining rooms to hold 7 ladies. We ended up with a handicap room & a regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texascouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Escoge habitaciones opuestas al tollway, son mas silenciosas aunque el sol le pega en la mañana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si es muy delicado con los ruidos, pedir habitación del lado contrario a la autopista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lu7dco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedir habitacion que de hacia el frente del hotel, ya que la parte trasera da a la autopista turnpi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnEricJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Richardson/Plano, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richardson
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dallas / Plano-East
2.9 mi away
HYATT house Dallas/Richardson
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richardson/Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dallas/Richardson
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dallas - Richardson
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dallas / Richardson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Dallas Richardson/Plano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dallas Richardson/Plano

Address: 3251 E George Bush Turnpike, Richardson, TX 75082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Richardson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Richardson
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Dallas Richardson/Plano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dallas Richardson/Plano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing