We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but tired out-of-date room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Richardson
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good food but tired out-of-date room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were pleased to be allocated an upgrade ($39) to a mini suite which we had requested when booking our room with Hyatt points. However we were somewhat surprised to find we had been allocated two adjacent bedrooms with an armchair pressed up against the intercommunicating door!
I found both rooms to be dull and uninspiring - lots of yellow orche pain and dark furniture - and the second room was especially unattractive as it was largely occupied by a low double bed. I then realised this was a Murphy bed and assigning it to its upright position and rearranging the furniture improved matters considerably. Both rooms lacked useable electric sockts as ours need enough space to use foreign adapters but we managed to improvise by balancing table lamps on books.
We had a late night meal in the hotel bar - food was good but took more than half an hour to come. The continental breakfast was outstanding value for the excellent selection of food on offer.
Check out was as incompetent as our room allocation. We were given two room bills, neither of which included our upgrade supplement !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    184
    118
    42
    37
See reviews for
120
89
43
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The whole staff seemed to be a bit off. The gentleman at checkin was alittle too interested in the geneology of my last name. The servers at the bar, though nice, we're very disorganized. I left my ironing board against the wall with a note that it was broken and it was still there at the end of the day.

Iwas there for a conference. Those facilities were fine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jantonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hyatt Regency North Dallas would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback. Without this valuable feedback our ongoing path to perfection would be increasingly difficult. I have passed on the notes about your last stay to the appropriate departments and hope that you visit us again. Please feel free to contact me before your next stay and I will make sure we have everything taken care of in your room.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Beeman
Guest Service Manager
972-619-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed in 16th floor on business. Staff was very friendly and outgoing.

Had a problem not getting my check at breakfast after nearly half an hour and needing to go to a meeting. I had to go to the front desk to finally get someone to check me out. The story does have a happy ending though as while I didn't complain to anyone or as anything, apparently someone saw what happened and placed a personalized letter, chocolates, and. Bottle of wine stating that they apologized for the inconvenience and wasn't how they typically treat their guests.

I was very n pressed by their proactive handling of this situation I didn't even report. Went from a negative experience to a positive one.

Rooms were nice but I found the bed to be extremely firm, to the point I think something may have been wrong with the mattress.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BCMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattFOM, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hyatt Regency North Dallas would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. We apologize for any inconveniences and were glad to hear of the satisfactory resolution. We appreciate your business and welcome you back at any point in time.

Thanks,

Andrew Beeman
Guest Services Manager
972-619-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here when i was unable to book either the doubletree or the embassy. Rooms were comfortable. No free breakfast which was disappointing. parking is somewhat inconvenient. Rates are pretty high. The hotel was clean and pleasant

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chet_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattFOM, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hyatt Regency North Dallas would like to thank you for your response. During your next visit with us, we do offer a bed and breakfast package available that does provide breakfast for two. If you need help setting up your reservation be sure to let us know.


Thank you,

Andrew Beeman
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nice looking hotel! clean and good customer service. Food @ the restaurant is delicious! Okay pool and gym. Overall nice would stay again for a business trip. Location is not the greatest. Its far from fun. Nothing fun around to do, you have to drive quite a didtance. But quiet enough to relax

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bollo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattFOM, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hyatt Regency North Dallas would like to thank you for your response. We will share your comments with the rest of our team and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Jim Smith
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed one night at this location. Was concerned being so close to the 75 Freeway and the DART tram line. However, the hotel was both comfortable and quiet. Check-in was great. Both fast and friendly. I had a great sized room with two double beds. I feel asleep almost immediately. My room was clean and very well kept. The bathroom/toilet combo not a fan, otherwise, everything else was great. I made the mistake of using the bottled water because of the funky taste in the tap water. There was a 7-11 just across the street. Tried to replace the bottom, but was charge the $4 fee anyway. Not sure how they know, but I got caught. Would stay at this location again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjaysfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Richardson for 4 nights for business. Hotel is right along highway, but in need of some TLC. The carpets and furniture are worn. My two biggest issues are that the floors do not seem to be vacuumed and the place is noisy.

My room had dust balls on it, and near the elevator on the 9th floor, there was a candy wrapper that sat there for 4 days!!! Every morning and every evening I was shocked to see it still there. Not tucked in a corner, but in the middle of the floor. How does that happen?

Also, the hotel is not very sound proof. I could hear everything in the hall, doors closing, and conversations next door.

No free breakfast at this Hyatt.

On the positive, the bed has pretty comfortable, and it was convenient to UT-Dallas. Also, the staff is very friendly.

In summary, do yourself a favor, stay at the Hotel Palomar about 5 minutes closer to the city. It's a much nicer place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SightseerAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattFOM, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hyatt Regency North Dallas would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out the guest survey. I have notified Housekeeping of the issue and we appreciate your feedback. I would like to welcome you back to stay with us again. I will personally make sure everything is ready to go for you.

Thanks,

Andrew Beeman
Guest Services Manager
972-619-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richardson hotels
0.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richardson/Dallas
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Dallas/Richardson
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dallas - Richardson
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dallas / Richardson
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Dallas Richardson at Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson

Property: Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson
Address: 701 E Campbell Rd, Richardson, TX 75081-6748 (Formerly The Richardson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Richardson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Richardson
#5 Family Hotel in Richardson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Richardson Telecom and Insurance corridor, at the heart of the area's high-tech district and minutes from UT Dallas. Relax in our oversized rooms, furnished with plush Hyatt Grand Beds, flat-panel TVs with 60 HD channels, or try our thoughtfully sourced and carefully served cuisine through In Room Dinning. Use our 24 hour fitness center at your leisure, or relax at our pool, hot tub and shaded deck area. Socialize and dine at one of our two restaurants. Our shuttle service will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel, including two golf courses. We're also located near some of the nation's best shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson Hotel Richardson
Hyatt Regency Richardson
Hyatt Richardson
Richardson Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing