We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Richardson
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

Beautiful open, modern lobby. Lovely, clean, renovated rooms with the Marriott bedding package that I so adore. Nice big plasma TVs in room. Wireless internet. Good breakfast in the restaurant. Freindly and efficient service. What more could you want?

  • Liked — New, fresh, functional
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    125
    75
    25
    14
See reviews for
111
60
21
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed here due to evac from Hurricane. They gave us a $79 rate abd didn't even charge us a pet fee. First time staying in a Pet friendly hotel and to much my surprise this hotel was very clean. Has the Dart system right at the Hotel that can take you almost anywhere for only $3.00 per day. Has a indoor pool when raining and an outdoor water spray that my kids loved playing in. The food was also wonderful at the Hotel. I always stay in Marriott's and this was a top choice. First time my parents stay in a Marriott and they just loved this hotel and wanted to take the beds home with them. All the staff were very friendly and helpfull with letting us know where we could bring my children and entertain them. They even printed out driving maps for us. We didn't have any problems like other people have listed, no bed bugs either. Our rooms were very clean. My pet never has fleas and he didn't leave with fleas either.

  • Liked — clean, friendly staff, pet friendly, good food, Dart system
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cajunpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

I stayed at this location a few months ago. Upon review from my travel agent I was clearly impressed, and when I arrived at the hotel it was artistically designed, a little over the top in some areas.
I went to have a meal at the restaurant, I waited for about 15 minutes with no service, and no one insight to ask so I left and went out to have something to eat. Very Poor service indeed.
I stayed the night as scheduled. I woke up the next morning covered in bed bugs. I complained to the Front Desk staff who seemed barely affected by it. My room was changed but I couldn't stay there.
For the above reasons I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Nothing, very disappointing stay
  • Disliked — Service, cleanliness of hotel, Foil staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

The hotel room was great comfy bed and warm duvet. My friend and I were in Dallas to catch a cowboys game he enjoyed the hospitality also, This hotel has a great breakfast buffet.!!!
(aprox 25 mins from Irving TX Cowboys stadium)

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Location from Downtown
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amazingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
140 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

The modern structure gleams in the distance as you approach from US-75. The spacious, open-air lobby replete with comfortable sitting areas introduces you to the Renaissance Richardson. The glass elevators ascend and descend the 12 floors and banks of plants hang over the railings. All of these touches signal modernity; unfortunately, the rooms hail from the previous Marriott era. Yes, the bedding package is of the new Marriott style, and there are flat screen TVs. But the tired green carpet, plain walls, and beige-colored bathroom lack character. It is if this new hotel transplanted the furniture and decorum of an older Marriott. The location is fine if you have your own transportation, otherwise there are no restaurants within walking distance. Also, if you do have a car, the daily parking fee is $9. The lobby restaurant is good by any restaurant standard if not slightly overpriced. Finally, approximately half of the rooms are adjacent to the bustling US-75, and despite being on the 11th floor, the gentle hum of the freeway was evident and may be distracting to some. The non-freeway rooms should be quieter assuming there are no outdoor events on the plaza.

Reasons to stay: Excellent weekend prices (<$99), good restaurant by any standard; Other considerations: Uninspired rooms, daily parking fee ($9), walk to convention center but not much else

  • Liked — Excellent weekend rate and good restaurant by any standard
  • Disliked — Tired rooms, dismal location without a car (parking fee if you have one)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

Had a training class in Richardson, Texas and I selected the Renaissance Hotel because of its rating from Trip Advisor. Have not gone wrong yet with the recommendations from Trip Advisor. I went with one other person and we both agreed to the comments below. Since this was more or less a business trip, but for training, my review will be slanted more toward the business person. The pros, which are few are:
1) right next to highway 75 which will than take you to the other major highways in the area. Great location. Right down from Plano which is loaded with resturants, of your choosing, plus a mall for shopping.
2) right next to the light rail system for Dallas. Never used it, but it would come in handy if you needed to get somewhere and did not want to drive.
3) The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were clean. The bathroom was a nice size.
4) The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. No problems with the staff (even though they didn't tell us about all of the resturants which were about 1/2 mile donw highway 75 in Plano, but had us going the other way which did not have as many resturants. Disappointed in that.

That is really all that was good about the hotel.

Now the negatives.

1) Had to pay for parking. They made you feel special since it was at a discount. But, it was $8.00 a day. Hampton Inn down the highway was free.
2) No contintenal breakfast. No free coffee in morning. Nothing free. Again..Hampton Inn and others serve this free.
3) No mini fridge in room. I like the mini fridge so I have a place to put my bottle water in to keep it cool. That was bad.
4) No bathroom fan in bathroom (of course). That is not good if you are sharing the room with someone else.
5) Our room was on the 10th floor, but we still heard the lobby noises from the 1st floor. Also heard the noises from the outside of the building. Good thing we had the rooms on the other side of the highway. I would hate to hear what those rooms sounded like.

As you can tell from my candid reviews, the hotel was fair. Would I stay again. No. I think this hotel caters more to the business world, but if I was on business, I would not stay here, myself. I would try the Richardson or Radisson or even the Hampton Inn.

The rooms also still were using the glass glasses in the bathroom. I will never use those since the news out about how hotels don't really wash these glasses. I would rather have seen plastic glasses in the room. I never used the glasses and it was a drag also.

The only good thing about the hotel is the location to the highway, but the Richardson and Radisson are also right next to the highway. Oh well, next time I will try one of these hotels if I'm in the area. But probably will not.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CANDD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

Great brand new business hotel. Room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping always did the room to perfection every day. Easy self-parking across the street.

Tip to those driving from the north: coming southbound on the N Central Expy my GPS would tell me to get off at Galatyn Pky, immediately get right back on the N Central Expy northbound, and immediately exit right to E Lookout Dr. Trouble is: the ramp from Galatyn Pky to the N Central Expy northbound puts you in the leftmost lane of the Expy, and you must exit right about 100 feet after you merge on the left, cutting across four lanes of traffic. While that can be done (illegally, but at least safely) at midnight, it is impossible at 5pm. The proper way to get there is to continue straight on the Galatyn Pky to the next intersection, turn left at Performance Dr, left again at Performance Ct, then right at Plaza Blvd to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richardson hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency North Dallas/Richardson
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dallas - Richardson
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dallas / Richardson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Dallas/Richardson
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richardson/Dallas
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Dallas Richardson at Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel

Property: Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel
Address: 900 E Lookout Dr, Richardson, TX 75082-4104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Richardson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richardson
#3 Family Hotel in Richardson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel located right off of Hwy 75 North bound at the Galatyn Park (DART rail)exit and next to The Eisemann Center. Right in the center of the Richardson telecom corridor. Modern ecletic decor featuring hand blown glass work by atrist Jim Bowman. AAA Four Diamond Hotel with all of the expected amenities and services of a Renaissance. A warm Texas hospitality through out the hotel and expert Navigators to help you to "Live Life To Discover." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Richardson
Richardson Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing