We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pimiento cheese sandwich I've ever had!”

Chocolate Angel Cafe and Tea Room
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Murphy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The best pimiento cheese sandwich I've ever had!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a wonderful tea room for 'ladies lunch'--complete with tablecloths, furniture, little nooks with knickknacks. They offer a variety of salads and sandwiches. They have two platters that have pimiento cheese sandwiches: 'Some Like It Hot' and 'Miss Matties.' The 'Some Like It Hot' is delicious--with toasted nuts, chopped candied jalapenos and bacon on sour dough bread. The desserts are also very good, especially the coconut pie. Since this place does become very busy for lunch, I strongly recommend that you make reservations.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
1,726 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

OK--I did not visit this location, however my wife did along with some of her girl friends and she has insisted that I list the Chocolate Angle. They just love the place, the food and especially being able to sit after lunch and talk. The food was delicious, service good and the coffees afterwards very good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food....even better atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I have dined here several times and the food is consistently good. Nice surroundings and good service. An all around great place to eat. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic food and Atmosphere, it's a great place for women to meet and enjoy the wonderful food!”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The chocolate Angel is a perfect place for ladies to meet for a special occasion, or just for lunch or brunch! The food is fantastic, they have several delicious salads, and a beautiful atmosphere! Reservations are necessary, they keep em coming!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T4452WVamym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Excellent restaurant! Everything that I have ordered has been delicious. My fave is the bacon sandwich - excellent bacon with huge slices of avocado. The desserts are to-die-for. Order the coconut cream pie! It is old fashioned coconut cream with real whip-cream topping, just like my grandmother used to make. If you don't have enough room for that (or want to bring something home for the family) you can get some cookies and brownies next door in the "to-go" area.

I strongly recommend that you make reservations. It is always packed and you might not be able to get a table if it is for more than 2 people.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rockettmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Angel Cafe and Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Chocolate Angel Cafe and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing