We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good solid Indian food.”

Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #79 of 405 Restaurants in Richardson
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
richardson
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good solid Indian food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A great place to get always good indian food with very good service. The lunch buffet is small but very good. Good Value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An Upper Scale Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Mumtaz challenges the boring atmospheres of most Indian restaurants. And they serve very good food, too. With a beautiful mural of the Taj Mahal. and warm wainscoting in warm wood colors, I felt that the management really cared about my comfort. The wait staff was friendly and attentive but not hovering. We went because their menu includes goat dished. The soups and main courses were delicious and well presented.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussianRiverWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Tasty Indian food at a great value. Came here for dinner and was pleasantly surprised at both the prices and tastiness of the food. They even allow you to BYOB!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigZee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve - time for some good Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

When you're a newly reminted bachelor and working 1,500 miles from home the holidays can be rough. But, when you've got two friends also in the metroplex from California who are also suffering the holiday blues you've got the makings of a nice silver lining.

Gathered my friends up and went looking for an open restaurant at 8pm on Christmas Eve, not the easiest thing to do in Dallas if you don't want fast food. After, much driving around and trying to get my friends to commit to a restaurant ended up at the Richardson Fox & Hound -- figured how could you mess up a burger and let's down a holiday beer. But, two minutes before we walked in the door the kitchen had closed. So we wandered across the parking lot to Mumtaz.

When we arrived there was a party of about 25 Indian people gathered up (the owner's friends and family) and we were seated on the other side of the room. The place is well lit, and clean and my friends quickly settled in while occasionally watching some good looking women dancing in a Bollywood production on a TV.

I ordered the Vindaloo (spicy, just the way I requested it), one friend ordered goat curry (milder) and the third friend stuck with a Chai tea. Flatbread was fresh and nicely made. And the two entrees were, both, very good. Total bill for two entrees, bread, and two drinks was $34. Which is perfectly reasonable. Though, if you're looking for a bargain I understand they run cut rate buffets on Mondays or Tuesdays.

After one meal, it's hard to give a definite "yes" or "no" on a place, but they made a fine first impression and I expect to go back to see if they are consistently delicious. Based on last night, I recommend them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Monday Lunch Buffets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best value monday lunch buffets. Amazing food, amazing price! Keep up the good food! Recommended any number of times!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shsmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing