We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Reviewed July 12, 2007

The website showed a beautiful resort. We were expecting a wonderful experience based on the photos and the prices. However, our condo was one of the dirtiest rooms I have even seen. The walls were dirty, the carpets were stained, the upholstered furniture was stained, the refrigerator reeked and the entire condo smelled. When we checked out, I left our comments at the front desk. I would have expected the management to have least replied to our concerns. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Sherry

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank razorback1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 379 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2007

Stayed here last week and booked based on the photos on the website. We booked a condo (both sides the efficiency and the bedroom). But only by lucky accident......When I called I said I needed a condo or villa with kitchenette for 4 people. They said they had a condo with kitchenette and we went through the process of reserving the room. Just as I was about to hang up I asked are the beds queens or doubles? The person on the other end said, "Oh, there are no beds, it is a fold-out sofa" For four people?? So, he suggested that he could add the other side of the condo (the one with the beds) for $10.00 more. I am not kidding. Of, course, add the other side, we are four people.

When we arrived, there were ashtrays on EVERY available table and an odd smell, and the electricity was out on the bedroom side. I called the front desk - they assured me I was in a non-smoking room , despite the smell and 4 ashtrays.

It took 3 hours and 2 phone calls to get the breaker tripped and the electricity on in the bedroom side. I finally said, "If I go to dinner and come back to a dark room, I'm not going in".

There was no hairdryer in the room or clock radio , no clock at all, ??? $351 for 2 nights, seems like it should include a clock radio and hair dryer.

We stayed here before - in a villa, because the room they put us in that time was not at all what we reserved, luckily I had a copy of my booking with me.

Yes the people are very friendly and some of the rooms are nice, but the condo they put us in was a dump - imagine if I hadn't asked what size the beds were? I would have driven 3 hours for my family of four to share a fold out couch... Frankly, I can't believe they actually get people to pay for a room with a fold out couch only as the bed...?

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Blestwith2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We booked Tanglewood for our annual family reunion. This was the first year for the reunion to be held at this location and it turned out to be a big hit! The whole family was able to find activities to fit each individual; not to mention, the condominiums we stayed in were beautiful. I would recommend Tanglewood for all occasions if you want a beautiful, relaxing and fun-filling vacation or just for the weekend.
--John Parfait, Bailey, TX

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jdparfait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

We had a weekend getaway at the Tanglewood Resort, in Pottsboro, Texas. The resort is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. The restauant and service was great. We got the Romantic Rendezvous package and upgraded to the Villa Suite w/jacuzzi. The food at the restauant was wonderful and the suite was perfect.

Overall I would say this is probably the best resort I have ever stayed in. We loved it and will be going back in a few months.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robgptx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2006

Very comfortable facility, lot of amenities, very nice staff, complimentary bikes, complimentary daily paper, complimentary coffee maker and supplies in room (must provide bottled water). The only complaint: drinking water is salty. Must provide bottled water in rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maribelturcios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2006

I absolutely loved Tanglewood. I stayed in in one of there Master Villa Suites, which was just phenomenol. I could not have asked for better facilities. The location was just what I was looking for to just get away for the weekend. Everything was perfect there. The staff was great, I work in the service industry myself so I'm very hard to impress, but I definetly reccomend this place. And I couldn't have asked for a better deal, this place is definetly priced right. The ammenities were just terrific, I loved the huge jacuzzi tub, the rooms was very spacious, there was even surround sound in the living room, the kitchen had everything you could need, washer/dryer, a nice big porch, and right on the lake. I couldn't have asked for a better stay, they definetly provided the comfort I was looking for. I look foward to going back. No need to look anywhere else b/c this is definetly the right place. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zach013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

This resort is a wonderful, family friendly place to vacation. The food was fantastic and the waitstaff was extremely kind. Throughout the entire weekend, people were overly helpful and always willing to help. The pools are a fun place to hang out with the kids and the grounds are beautiful for walking and enjoying the lake view.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Farmmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsboro
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Denison
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Texoma Hotel & Suites
25.0 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sand Bass Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denison North-Lake Texoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Address: 290 Tanglewood Cir, Pottsboro, TX 75076-4869
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pottsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Price Range: $150 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil Texas setting of Tanglewood Resort. Situated on Lake Texoma, Tanglewood Resort offers the finest accommodations, a wide variety of exciting activities, excellent meeting facilities and an experienced, qualified staff sure to make your stay memorable. From excellent dishes from our Commodore Dining Room to a casual pool-side experience at Skooners Vacation Bar & Grill, Tanglewood Resort offers a wide range of resort amenities: Relax at one of our 3 pools or hot tub. Enjoy volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, or a tennis or pickleball match at one of our tennis courts, or sit back and relax.Located just north of Dallas/Ft. Worth and a short drive from Oklahoma, Tanglewood Resort provides the perfect setting for both personal relaxation and business retreats. The Tanglewood Hotel features 120 spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms. Looking for accommodations that are more spacious for the family and family pet? Our 126 beautiful villa rooms will not disappoint with options from 350-1400 sq feet of space. In addition, the hotel is home to the reception and registration area, state-of-the-art meeting space, poolside lounge, gift shop, pool hall, and Nautilus Fitness Center. Built to overlook the Conference Center, many of the rooms feature breathtaking views of Lake Texoma. The two buildings are adjoined by an enclosed 30-foot skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Hotel Pottsboro
Tanglewood Hotel Pottsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing