We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable time. Excellent location on Lake Texoma.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Celina, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable time. Excellent location on Lake Texoma.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Everyone in our group (total of 13 people) had an awesome time! We loved your resort. The kids swam many hours in the pools and loved the sandbox and playground. They also enjoyed the treasure hunt activity and the smores around the campfire at dark. Your resort is very kid friendly. The guys had a wonderful time on the striper fishing trip. We ate at the Barnacles restaurant at the resort twice and both times (although a little slow) the food was delicious. Every employee we encountered at Tanglewood resort went out of their way for us: the front desk receptionists, the two guys who cooked the hamburgers/hotdogs at the pool area, and the ladies at the spa who worked us in after-hours since we didn't realize they were closed on Mondays. It made for a great weekend get-a-away and everyone is already asking when we can go back! Hope we can make this a Labor Day tradition!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    74
    52
    55
    35
See reviews for
122
116
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a tough one... I guess I stay in too many nice resorts and Hotels when I travel? The couple we traveled with liked their room and want to return. My wife and I however have a different viewpoint

The Grounds and location are nice overall. Our room however, left a lot to be desired. The painting was done poorly. The Tub/Shower needed to be caulked. Our TV was an old model ( other couple had a widescreen) and the remote didn't work. We had ants; they sprayed when I complained, but... next morning.. there they were again. There is no room service . There was no Wi-Fi service. Cell phone coverage ( not their fault of course) was bad. And to top it off we had a non-smoking room, but ... smelled like smoke from the previous tenant. Overall , it needs to be remodeled. As someone else stated, correctly I might add... "hilton price, motel 6 quality".

The more I looked around, the more issues I found. I finally quit looking. They need a new manager that cares and puts some effort into this facility. It has the potential to be excellent. They cater to a lot of families ( you can tell by their advertising); for me this was a turn-off. Looks like it could be a great place for Adults/Couples if they marketed it correctly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickkcir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The staff we encountered on the most part were great and friendly. The rooms and hallways need updating as does the rest of the property. A big issue is being a smoker and walking out the front door a 3a.m. to smoke and the front doors are unlocked and no staff to be seen at the front desk and how easy it would be for someone to walk in unknown a commit crimes against guest. The gift shop is a joke. The pool area is in dire need of restoration and in need of towels that belong in a pool area and stocked and cleaned before the pool area is opened. Should be able to get sevice at the pool at a resort.
The dinning room needs cleaning, sitting along the windows there were crumbs and dust along the baseboard and we were first in the dinning room for dinner on Friday night. Tried twice to get a medium rare Prime Rib and failed. They cook the Prime Rib too early and ends up over cooked and not up to pare for the price you pay. 2nd night ate in the smoking area next to the bar and tere are 2 2tops next to the windows. The wooden ledge that meets the table top was full of dust and dead flies..To me your paying $100.00 for Filet Mignon dinners you deserve to be in an area that is clean and mantained, at least looks like it has been vacumned recently. Cory in the Yaght Club (bartender) is great as well as most of the wait staff. The Barnacles is ok, but sitting on the patio you can expect to wait 45 minutes for a club sandwich, then they screwed us out of the bacon for our club sandwich both days ordered.
Good luck having your rooms cleamed before 4 p.m., called and was blamed on a full house, didnt seen full at all. When room was cleamed they left the dirty cups all over the room with water in them and didnt give clean cups.
Have stayed here a couple of times because is only and hour from Frisco and convenient for weekend getaways with the wife. Will be reconsidering next time.
BIGGEST GRIPE.................The 18% RESORT CHARGE............everytime you eat etc..after talking to numerous employees they said its to pay their wages and give them more money, but they say they don't see the change and have been told not to tell the guest when they complain, makes the waiters miss out on their tips the biggest part of the time because people dont want to pay 18% resort chrg and pay 18% for a tip..36% on top of your dinner, no thanks....
They need to sell that crap they call artwork on the 3rd floor hallway and spend it remodeling and looking for better Management..........

Room Tip: another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chaspeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I say this hoping I don't offend Motel 6. This hotel was in desperate need of a makeover, and there was no sound proofing in the walls at all. It is a great hotel if you are 20 something looking for a Vegas style cheap hotel that you can stay out really late partying and then have some place to crash. If you are a family, this is not a very good hotel. The hydraulic door closers are set to slam and they do not enforce any type of noise ordinance as far as I could tell. I finally got to sleep about 2am once everyone decided the party was over and stopped yelling in the hall and slamming their doors.

I was disappointed because this is the perfect distance from my house for a quick weekend getaway and I was really hoping we had found a good place for that. As others have said, the staff is great, it is the same type friendly staff that I have encountered at other resorts. The prices on everything other than the rooms is really good too.

I cannot give them more than 2 stars simply because while all of the amenities are really good, it doesnt make much difference if you cant get a good nights sleep so that you are able to enjoy them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Service and general experience of Tanglewood resort were positive. Service at the front desk and in the dining areas were good and we were treated well at the golf course. To be fair, our children 3 & 8, had a nice time.... That being said, the building itself is falling apart. The rooms are dark and dingy. There are areas of the hotel were you actually feel like you have time warped into the 60s or 70s. The pools were poorly maintained...plaster (bottom of pool) was new but the tile and stones around the pool were falling off and the water was so murky you couldn't see the bottom of the pool. Also, there is a tower to get an incredible vantage point of the lake but that's only if you can endure the frightening elevator ride, shakes all the way up and down and it looks like people have tried to climb through the ceiling to escape up the elevator shaft. Tanglewood has lots of potential...a couple million dollars in renos and they will be on there way.... We would love to go back but we won't be doing so until their website site says "Newly remodeled rooms and pools!" Heading back to the Cliffs at Possum Kingdom for now...

Room Tip: Ask if they have any newly remodeled rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IneedApool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tutrainer17
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The pools were the main attraction for our young kids and there were a blast! We had a wonderful time there and the staff was very helpful. We also ate at Barnacles and the Commodore resaurant. Baracles was as expected- a poolside bar and grill with the usual. The Commodore restaurant exceeded our expectations- a complete homerun for a memorable steak dinner. We had hoped for all the ladies in our group to get a pedicure. However, the prices were high so we went into Denison and all had one there. Our family enjoyed the entire trip. We spent the majority of time with the kids at the pools. It was perfect!

Room Tip: We got the cheapest rooms available and they were completely adequate. We hardly spent any time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutrainer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Family reunion at Tanglewood Resort - The staff makes this place. The pool area is nice and clean and the service there is good. The lower pool is tough to get into because of the distance from the side to the water and ladder. No steps going into this one. The upper one has stairs going in. There are no accessible pools for anyone with even a minor problem with steps.

The building itself is in disrepair. The entire electrical panel was falling out of both elevators. The tubs in all our rooms didn't drain and the water pressure is a joke. The tubs were slanted to the side so you had to keep moving. There were ants all over our window sill. The elevator never really 'matched up' with the floor so there was a definite walking hazard.

The food was really good...and not ridiculously priced. The facility is very attractive....just needs some TLC....lots of it.

We enjoyed our stay. The view from the tower is beautiful. There were many activity options here too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsboro
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Denison
25.0 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Denison North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Denison/Sherman/At Texoma Event Center
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Texoma Hotel & Suites
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Property: Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
Address: 290 Tanglewood Cir, Pottsboro, TX 75076-4869
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pottsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil Texas setting of Tanglewood Resort. Situated on Lake Texoma, Tanglewood Resort offers the finest accommodations, a wide variety of exciting activities, excellent meeting facilities and an experienced, qualified staff sure to make your stay memorable. From excellent dishes from our Commodore Dining Room to a casual pool-side experience at Skooners Vacation Bar & Grill, Tanglewood Resort offers a wide range of resort amenities: Relax at one of our 3 pools or hot tub. Enjoy volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, or a tennis or pickleball match at one of our tennis courts, or sit back and relax.Located just north of Dallas/Ft. Worth and a short drive from Oklahoma, Tanglewood Resort provides the perfect setting for both personal relaxation and business retreats. The Tanglewood Hotel features 120 spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms. Looking for accommodations that are more spacious for the family and family pet? Our 126 beautiful villa rooms will not disappoint with options from 350-1400 sq feet of space. In addition, the hotel is home to the reception and registration area, state-of-the-art meeting space, poolside lounge, gift shop, pool hall, and Nautilus Fitness Center. Built to overlook the Conference Center, many of the rooms feature breathtaking views of Lake Texoma. The two buildings are adjoined by an enclosed 30-foot skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Hotel Pottsboro
Tanglewood Hotel Pottsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing