We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garza Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Post
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were on a long drive to Austin from Taos and just happened across this adorable brick hotel as we were looking for a place to find a good cup of coffee for the road. The kind Irish owner, who was outside watering plants, invited us in and said he would make a pot of coffee for us since there wasn't a coffee shop in town. After one look at the beautiful interior I started thinking we should spend the night, then after a lovely conversation with the amazingly hospitable owner, we were sold!

We lounged all evening in the elaborately-decorated library, which included ornate, original tin ceiling tiles, and was stocked with vintage books. Later I enjoyed a relaxing bath in a stand-alone tub and then cozied up in a comfortable bed in a beautiful room. I felt transported back in time to the early 1900s, and it was a real treat.

Included in the room rate was a delicious breakfast in the morning, complete with fabulous, friendly service by the innkeepers.
We visited the many shops on the cute, red stone street in the morning. What a gem this hotel and little street are! It is the perfect place to stop for a refreshing experience of history, comfort, hospitality, and beauty while traveling across Texas.

I should note that there are train tracks nearby (which is why the hotel was built in the first place, back in the day). The trains are loud but not frequent. Also, the lovely wooden floor is creaky. I think the trains and the creaky floor both add to the historic experience and charm of the hotel. Earplugs are good if you're sensitive to noise. Thankfully the rooms have the modern convenience of a/c, which is important in Texas!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellopiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garza Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited Post, TX on our way to New Mexico and wished we had an extra night to stay. Very relaxing place, our room and bedding was very comfortable and the breakfast was tasty. Loved the victorian setting of the living//dining room and several of the guests had attended a murder mystery at the hotel....we will be coming back for that event. Great place to stay in your are visiting Texas Tech. Visiting the fabulous art museum of a local rancher. Had an awesome guide to explain the items and such a treasure for this historic town. Loved finding out the history of the city and Mr. Post (creator of Post Toasties cereal). We also attended a gospel concert and play which was enjoyable. Amazing talent and treasure in this small west TX town. Who would have known it?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolynntsu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The murder mystery event hosted by the garza hotel was a delightful and FUN experience from the moment we walked in the door. The staff was warm and welcoming and went above and beyond to make sure that everyone had a great experience. Though it was our first murder mystery, one couple said it was their third in Texas and was by far the best one in Texas they had attended. The food, both dinner and breakfast, was exceptional quality. I can not say enough great things about this establishment. In fact, we had so much fun, as we were leaving we booked another event for us and two other couples in our family. We can't wait to come back to our new 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewagner0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Murder mystery night at Hotel Garza is an epic social event! It has been a long time since I've been to a BB and actually was treated to a breakfast that was fresh and hearty. This place if first class from top to bottom and the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The murder mystery event hosted by Ian and Ruth Torrens at the Hotel Garza in Post, Texas was an absolute blast! The accommodations were beautiful, the food fantastic, and the mystery game event kept everyone guessing! The tone of the whole weekend is so upbeat and fun, that you cannot help but have a great time! It is definitely a trip to remember, and one I hope to experience again very soon!

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently, with regular rooms and suites available. Not every room comes w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We enjoyed a fun-filled night full of games, mystery, and drinks! It was a great evening and a welcome change from the same old New Years routine. We found the hosts to be charming and very welcoming. The rooms in the hotel are all decorated differently, and are all very quaint and full of personality. This is our second time to stay here, and we will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you haven't had the Hotel Garza Murder Mystery Weekend experience....You definitely should! The hotel was built in 1915 I believe....it is so beautiful! So charming! Every room is decorated differently. Ruth and Ian, the owners, are just precious. The Murder Mystery weekend is definitely a weekend to remember! They make it so fun and it runs so smoothly, the food is excellent, their energy is wonderful, I don't know where they get it all to do all they do for so many. Murder, trivia, live music, singing around the fire.... Perfection!

The shops around are wonderful....red brick roads......the whole area is super charming! :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are so charming...I loved room 21...it was an old fashioned tea room/suite.....old cla...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Garza Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garza Bed and Breakfast

Address: 302 E Main St, Post, TX 79356-3339
Location: United States > Texas > Post
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Post
Price Range: $92 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Garza Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you enter Hotel Garza Historic Bed and Breakfast in Post, an official Texas Main Street City, you'll feel the ambiance of a 1915 western inn. More than 95 years later with modern conveniences in place, this fine bed and breakfast hotel offers overnight accommodations, scrumptious home cooking and true West Texas hospitality. The Hotel Garza Historic Bed and Breakfast is owned by Ian and Ruth Torres, who serve as resident hosts and invite you to come and explore one of the finest Main Streets on the Llano Estacado, just 36 miles from Lubbock TX. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Garza Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing