We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Motel, Close to Corpus Without the Corpus Prices!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Coldspring, Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Nice Motel, Close to Corpus Without the Corpus Prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here while attending the Antiques Road Show. It was a nice place to stay. The beds were comfy, The room had a Microwave and fridge. There was a nice big flat panel TV. A neighboring guest was a bit loud, but only for a few minutes around 10 PM. Generally, the accommodations are clean, comfortable, quiet, and nicely maintained. The breakfast is much better than expected. Nice warm food as well as the usual continental fare. My wife was especially fond of the Texas shaped waffles. The location is great. It is only 8 miles from the Convention Center. There are several restaurants in the vicinity. There is also a large Wal-Mart right across the highway.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the property, on the ground floor. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bureaucrat377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    45
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
70
34
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just got back from Corpus Christi over the Father's Day weekend. I could not find anything in Corpus on the beach that I could afford and most were full for the weekend. So I decided to try the Best Western Plus in Portland Tx just across the bay from Corpus. We were there to see the Texas Aquarium and to go to the beach which by the way was only a short drive away (maybe 8-10 minutes at the most) I am really glad I chose this Best Western......the price was good ($99) compared to much higher in Corpus. The hotel was clean and our room was equipped with a fridge and microwave. There was a free breakfast and the usual amenities but best of all the people were very nice and helpful. Employees can make or break your experience and they were terrific. Our beds were comfy the bathroom was clean and of course I checked for bugs but thankfully none were found! There were some scuffs on the wall next to one bed probably from kid's shoes but over-all the room was great. Even though we were right next to the elevator and ice machine we heard nothing. I would definitely recommend this hotel and intend to visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houtexgirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. It appears to be fairly new and is in good condition. Our room was immaculate. It was a fairly large room; king with a kitchenette—two burners, microwave, fridge, kitchen sink, and cabinets. The TV was a little small and far from the bed, but I guess that was okay in the end. Nice big bathroom with walk-in shower. They have breakfast in the morning—waffles, premade egg dishes, bacon, hot/cold cereal, fruit, toast, bagels, yogurt . . . about anything you could need. The people are very friendly. We were scheduled to stay three nights, but had to cancel the last night due to a death back home, and they were very accommodating (although we did cancel it on the afternoon of the day before the cancelled night). They have a small pool but we didn’t use it. It looked nice though! They also have a small workout room. The location is very handy for us—very near our friends whom we visit and also pretty close to the bridge over to Corpus. We would definitely stay here again on our return to the Corpus Christi area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenlh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The suite is a large room with a separate bedroom. The living area and the bedroom both have Televisions. The hotel is new and feels good. The only problem is that they bought JVC televisions and the remote is hard to use. We stayed here 2 times while in the area. The 1st was pre-booked, the 2nd time we came back because we liked it. There is a restaurant/bar next door we walked to which had a lot of items on the menu, steaks, Tex-Mex, seafood. It was a decent stop. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Corpus. This is a nice place to stay with a short drive back to the Corpus, Aransas Pass, or Rockport areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vsbernhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its excellent location. It is within a 10 -15 minute drive from all Corpus Christi's major attractions. Plus we love the free hot breakfast, not just cereal and bread like some other hotels offer. The rooms were very clean and I did not hear any other guests or traffic noise during the night. What most amazed me is the honesty of the staff. I received a call a few hours after we left to inquire whether we had "forgotten anything". At that point I had not even realized I left behind my wedding and engagement ring and a ruby ring. The cleaning staff could have easily pocketed these items. Needless to say I am very thankful they called and ensured the safe return of my rings. I will definitely be returning to this hotel on all my future trips to the Corpus area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel was a nice place to stay, building is new and rooms are clean, attractive and up to date. Full breakfast was good. Computers with internet access readily available. We recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyMom422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Creek, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel is the BEST! It is conveniently located to major attractions, to the beach, and to shopping. The building is super clean, the beds are extremely comfortable, they provide a wonderful breakfast, the pool is awesome, and the employees are very pleasant. We've stayed there several times this summer, and we are planning a trip back next week. The prices are extremely reasonable, and it is worth your time to check out this hotel! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
8.0 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi - Portland
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Corpus Christi Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland
8.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
#9 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn
Address: 1707 US Highway 181, Portland, TX 78374-4147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing