We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. It appears to be fairly new and is in good condition. Our room was immaculate. It was a fairly large room; king with a kitchenette—two burners, microwave, fridge, kitchen sink, and cabinets. The TV was a little small and far from the bed, but I guess that was okay in the end. Nice big bathroom with walk-in shower. They have breakfast in the morning—waffles, premade egg dishes, bacon, hot/cold cereal, fruit, toast, bagels, yogurt . . . about anything you could need. The people are very friendly. We were scheduled to stay three nights, but had to cancel the last night due to a death back home, and they were very accommodating (although we did cancel it on the afternoon of the day before the cancelled night). They have a small pool but we didn’t use it. It looked nice though! They also have a small workout room. The location is very handy for us—very near our friends whom we visit and also pretty close to the bridge over to Corpus. We would definitely stay here again on our return to the Corpus Christi area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenlh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    45
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
71
34
3
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The suite is a large room with a separate bedroom. The living area and the bedroom both have Televisions. The hotel is new and feels good. The only problem is that they bought JVC televisions and the remote is hard to use. We stayed here 2 times while in the area. The 1st was pre-booked, the 2nd time we came back because we liked it. There is a restaurant/bar next door we walked to which had a lot of items on the menu, steaks, Tex-Mex, seafood. It was a decent stop. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Corpus. This is a nice place to stay with a short drive back to the Corpus, Aransas Pass, or Rockport areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsbernhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its excellent location. It is within a 10 -15 minute drive from all Corpus Christi's major attractions. Plus we love the free hot breakfast, not just cereal and bread like some other hotels offer. The rooms were very clean and I did not hear any other guests or traffic noise during the night. What most amazed me is the honesty of the staff. I received a call a few hours after we left to inquire whether we had "forgotten anything". At that point I had not even realized I left behind my wedding and engagement ring and a ruby ring. The cleaning staff could have easily pocketed these items. Needless to say I am very thankful they called and ensured the safe return of my rings. I will definitely be returning to this hotel on all my future trips to the Corpus area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel was a nice place to stay, building is new and rooms are clean, attractive and up to date. Full breakfast was good. Computers with internet access readily available. We recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyMom422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Creek, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel is the BEST! It is conveniently located to major attractions, to the beach, and to shopping. The building is super clean, the beds are extremely comfortable, they provide a wonderful breakfast, the pool is awesome, and the employees are very pleasant. We've stayed there several times this summer, and we are planning a trip back next week. The prices are extremely reasonable, and it is worth your time to check out this hotel! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked our stay one day in advance and we had no problems doing so. We went straight to the Hooks game and then out to eat and checked in about 12pm. The lady at the front desk, Jackie, was very friendly and courteous. When we asked for a late check out, we were granted it without question. We ended up extending our stay at the last minute and the Front desk Manager, Sam, was very understanding and helpful. We asked for alot and they made every concession to insure our satisfaction. We were asking for pool towels left and right, we woke up at 9:55 and asked them to leave the breakfast out a few extra minutes to give us time to get downstairs and make some waffles. When we asked for things like toothpaste, bandaids, extra conditioner, we were given whatever we needed. The most important thing to us is cleanliness and safety, and every where in the hotel met our strict criteria. The room was very clean, from the bathroom to beds to the smell of the air when we first walked in. This hotel actually has a temperature setting for the air conditioning the way you have at home. The Pool area was very clean and well kept. One very big surprise was the behind the scenes staff. The lady in the breakfast area was very nice in helping me with my young children, even offering to change the TV in the eating area from political hoopla to cartoons which made a huge impact on them. The housekeeping staff were very professional and a pleasure to interact with. Everybody spoke english so there were no language barriors. The front desk lady we had the most interaction with was Karen, and she played the most important role in making our stay a very pleasurable experience. She said she had only been working there for about four weeks and I would say that she was an excellent acquisition. The entire staff was very friendly and professional. The entire hotel was very CLEAN and well kept. I tip my hat to whoever manages this hotel because they obviously understand that the people they hire our their greatest asset. The hotel is about one mile from the bridge that leads to the downtown district of Corpus Christi. We wanted to stay in a two story hotel for safety reasons and this hotel was very safe and modernized. It was family friendly and did not have the ritzy bussiness type atmosphere. We will be back to Corpus Christi again and there is no way we would stay anywhere else. We got every thing we wanted here for a lower price than the competition.

Room Tip: Just make your reservation online then call them and they will help you with the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

The hotel is new, nice, and clean with an outdoor pool/hot tub and small workout room (cardio machines only). The rooms are spacious and include a refrigerator and microwave! The breakfast is pretty good, and the staff went above and beyond in customer service. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Corpus Christi area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jastuhlsatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Corpus Christi Portland
8.0 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi - Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Portland
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn
Address: 1707 US Highway 181, Portland, TX 78374-4147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Best Western, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing