We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place for a Quick Stop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texas A1 Steaks & Seafood

Texas A1 Steaks & Seafood
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With 76 entrees and salads, Texas A1 Steak and Seafood is sure to have what you crave. Having 2 locations serving Corpus Christi and Portland, a scrumptious meal is never far away.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place for a Quick Stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stopped in here while on our way to South Padre Island. We had a bit of a wait to get seated, but other then that service was fine. We both had burgers (I know I know, it's a steak house). They were well cooked and came out of the kitchen pretty quickly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wpgrailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, plus a little better than expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Walked over to this restaurant since I was staying that Holiday Inn right next door. There was not much to choose for eating out in this town, which was disappointing because of how close it is to Corpus Christi. The food was better than I expected. My boyfriend tried the 10 oz. steak with fries, and the steak was actually seasoned pretty well and had its own taste. I tried the berry salad, which was surprisingly more fresh than I expected. Didn't expect such a healthy option at a steak house. Our waitress was very nice. We were both pleased and a little surprised, and would come back if back in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra8489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Out of the way Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Used an app to find a restaurant and this one caught my eye so we decided to try it. So glad we did. I had the best rib-eye I have had in a long time and my gal was very pleased with her Southwest Chicken dinner. Prices reasonable and service friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return for one of their flounder dinners.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marksw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good Food, Service Not So Much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've eaten here half a dozen times or more in the last 6 months, which should tell you that something there is appealing. The food is really good, the kitchen staff really know what they are doing. Never a problem with the food quality or taste, it's first class.

So far, I've only gone in for lunch when they have lunch specials. Like other new restaurants in Portland, the interior design & look is good & appealing. The problems I've encountered deal with the wait staff.

I almost always order from the specials of the day menu, which is hand written and standing at eye level inside of the entry doors. The price breaks on the specials (which change from day to day) are decent (sometimes several dollars or more) which explains why I go then.

Not only is the food good, but the portion sizes are large enough that I'm filled up about half way through and take the rest home in a doggie box for dinner that night or lunch the next day. In my estimation it's great value for good food.

The wait staff is mostly younger first time servers that either haven't been trained properly to be attentive or they don't want to be. I see many of them gabbing with one another rather than monitoring their assigned tables for customer assistance. It's clear to me that wait staff turnover is frequent. It also makes me wonder if the Portland locals are not good tippers or the wait staff inattention to detail leads to smaller tips and promotes turnover.

The weekday lunchtime manager knows his stuff and knows what is needed for a good customer experience. He also tends the bar. After the third time in a row a new waitress did not ring up the reduced price for the lunch special, I was ready to call it quits. He persuaded me to ask for him as a waiter and my issues with wait staff have never happened again. Now I sit at the bar and he does his magic taking care of lunch.

The lunch salads are great. I usually get the seafood salads with fresh crab, & shrimp, or the Cobb salad, they're all great and big enough to take home half.

The seafood stuffed chicken is also excellent. I haven't tried the steaks yet because I'm trying to reduce red meat & loose weight, but they smell heavenly when a server walks by with one. I'll have break training soon and get one to let you my assessment, but steak & seafood are their signature offerings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas A1 Steaks & Seafood also viewed

Portland, Texas Gulf Coast
Portland, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Portland, Texas Gulf Coast
Portland, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Portland, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas A1 Steaks & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing