We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portland
2 reviews
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff was very courteous and professional. In addition, the complimentary breakfast was excellent. During our stay, the power on that side of town went out for an hour and the staff handled the situation very professionally.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 126sama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you TripAdvisor Member,
We appreciate you wonderful comments....Yes Sunday morning was a little hetic due to the City wide outage and we Thank you for being patience with us and understand that this was out of our hands.

Please come back to see us here at The Hampton Inn Portland

Thank you again,
Jane Gimler/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    54
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
64
29
7
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This was a business trip and a convenient location. Choose a smoking room, my mistake, will not do that again. The check-in girl needs to concentrate on the guests and not here I-phone and watching u-tube. I could hear the plumbing of other guests using the bathroom. Fitness room and breakfast were both fine, I do like Hampton Inn as a brand

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NXW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was welcoming and the hotel was both very clean and well decorated. It is so nice to come in after a long day and be able to go to the lounge - get a cold beer and take it to the room while changing for dinner. Breakfast offered a wide variety and good quality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Louise D,
We truly appreciate your wonderful comments about our Hampton Inn Portland, we try to do our best to make all guest feel welcome & we do our best to help with all our guest needs. We are a corporate market but sure is nice to have traveler's that come to visit all of So. Texas as well.
We look forward to your visit again,
Thank you so much,
Jane Gimler/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We came to Corpus for Spring Break. We arrived much earlier that anticipated. The staff were friendly and not put off by our early arrival. They had a room ready. It was very clean and comfortable. We wanted to go to the beach and the staff were able to direct us to an area that was family friendly and away from the college crowd. It was amazing. The staff acted not only as gracious hosts but wonderful tour guides and restaurant critics. We will definitely return to this Hampton Inn again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you Christina M,
It was our pleasure having you and your family at our Hampton Inn! All of our staff work real hard in keeping our hotel clean & fresh and the entire staff also take much pride in our hotel and that is what makes our hotel different.

Thank you so much for all your kind words,
Jane Gimler/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We love to stay here when we come to Corpus Christ.The rooms are always clean,the beds always very comfy and we are always assured of a quiet and restful sleep. We travel every year and we only stay at Hampton Inn. We love the breakfast too! They have something for everyone. My kids are picky,but always have a good variety of foods to choose from. I like to stay health conscience and they always have fresh fruit and yogurt along with oatmeal and a variety of breads.My hubby is always going to get his eggs with some kind of breakfast meat,so he is a happy camper!Looking forward to the next trip there!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much Joann S, we appricate your comments on your stay with us at The Hampton Inn Portland, we do our best to have the best customer care to all our guest. The entire staff Thanks you not only for your comments but for allowing us to serve you and your family each time you stay with us here in Portland,Tx.

Thank you again,
Jane Gimler/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent accomodations, staff, and facilities. Convenient location to shopping, restaurants, and the highway leading to Corpus Christi, Texas. The complementary brekfast was outstanding - including both hot food, cereal, and rolls. The Happy Hour was very enjoyable with drinks and snacks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you Robert D,
We try to train our staff to treat other like they like to be treated and even though I have a young staff they try and it's great to hear that they are doing great. We appreciate your business and if there is anything else we can do for you please feel free to contact us.
Thank you again and look forward in your visit again,
Jane Gimler/GM
Hampton Inn Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here during the Thanksgiving holiday to visit family members living in the area. The staff here was so friendly and the rooms were clean. Thumbs up to the cleaning crew. Even though on Thanksgiving morning we may have been the only guests, they still put an awesome breakfast in the lobby. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Yes even when there is only 1 family in house or 20 we put out our full breakfast, we are so happy that you choose our hotel for your family holiday, Our staff is here to help anytime you are in our area.
Thank you again and Here is Wishing you a Happy New Year!
Jane Gimler/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi - Portland
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Corpus Christi Portland
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corpus Christi-Portland
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northshore Inn
8.0 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland

Property: Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland
Address: 1705 Highway 181 North, Portland, TX 78374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 miles from Corpus Christi on Highway 181, the Hampton inn Corpus Christi/Portland offers easy access to numerous outdoor activities as well as restaurants that are within walking distance. The two bays surrounding our hotel provide excellent fishing, boating, sailing, swimming, water skiing, and birding. In Corpus Christi, visit the Texas State Aquarium, the USS Lexington Museum and the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History. Start each day of your visit with a free hot breakfast and relax in a comfortable room after a day of sightseeing or bird watching. Make sure to take advantage of the free high speed internet access during your stay. Now accepting CLC cards for our Corporate clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi/Portland Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing