We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never can go wrong with a Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never can go wrong with a Hampton Inn”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently while visiting the Portland area and as usual, Hampton Inns never disappoint. They had just recently installed new rugs throughout and our room was roomy, clean, and smelled fresh. Bathroom was also clean and fresh. Comfortable beds and pillows, nice TV, everything looking new. We were very happy here. Staff was helpful and courteous. We plan on staying here during our next visit and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we Thank you so much for noticing our changes at our Hampton. We have worked hard this year to get our changes all completed before summer but we moving along. Hope to see you back real soon.

Thanks again from The whole Staff at The Hampton Inn Portland,
Jane Gimler/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    55
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
67
31
7
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and mother-in-law decided to take a mini vacation during a break in my wife's school schedule. They decided to stay in Portland, since it would be quieter the Corpus Christi. We booked with the Hampton Inn since we are Hilton Honors members and have always had great experiences with them. They should have realized there was going to be a problem when the room keys did not work and had to be remade. As it turns out this had to be done every day, a new key had to be made. While not a huge inconvenience it was an unnecessary one. Then, the heating element in the hot tub was out. This should have been addressed at check-in so that they could decide whether to keep the booking or look at another hotel. This was, after all, a vacation trip and the hot tub was a necessity. The worst thing though was waking to find a large cockroach running across the bed. This upset my wife and she decided at that point, it was time to go. She has informed me she will not stay at this particular Hampton Inn again.

With that being said, she did love the complimentary breakfast that was served. The cheese omelettes and ham/egg scrambled was very well prepared and tasty. She said the condition of he room was good, other then the cockroach, and that she would still stay at Hampton Inns, just not this one.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebe1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate you bringing this issue to me and allowing me to follow up with our pest control company, Which is Ecolab Pest control they give us a 100% back if our guest find anything in there rooms, ensuring that you and future guests are taken care of. I also apologize for the inconveniences you faced with your room key and the hot tub. If we had been aware of the issues you were facing during your stay, we certainly would have done our best to address them at that time. If I can assist you further, please do let me know. Thank you. Jane Gimler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I like to head down to the Texas coast every so often for some R&R and like the Portland area because its close to the Corpus Christi area but not as congested as some of the touristy areas. Since we go down there often, we usually don't go all out for a room preferring to stay somewhere not fancy but splurged a little for this hotel since they had a good rate if paid in advance. Hotel was in a good area and had lots of restaurants nearby. We arrived early and the nice girl at the front desk allowed us to check in early and gave us a room on 1st floor just down the hall from the desk. Noise generally doesn't bother us so that was fine and room was great. Pool and fitness center were good and so was business center. Breakfast was just ok but what do you expect from a hotel. Overall I recommend if looking for clean safe lodging in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LY1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are happy to hear that you experienced great service and a comfortable stay. It is our first priority to ensure that our guests are satisfied and we appreciate your great feedback. We hope you will stay with us again!

Thank You for your business,
Jane Gimler/GM
Hampton Inn Portland
jane.gimler@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I would definitely give the staff here 5 stars and the breakfast and evening reception are also very good. Rooms are reasonably clean but bathtub mold and mildew is totally unacceptable in a hotel of this caliber. Instead of removing the mildew and hiring a professional to regrout the tub, the hotel pasted plastic adhesive strips around the tub rim. These strips only promote the growth of mildew and are peeling back to expose it. With all the investment recently made in the public areas, you would think there would be enough money available for bleach and caulking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have contacted our housekeeping team to correct the problem. I understand the condition of the bathtub was of concern; I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, as cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. We will be fixing the issue in tubs as necessary and would like thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you as well for the kind words regarding our staff and dining options.

Thank you again for chosing us,
Jane Gimler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Seems to be an older hotel but clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San antonio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is not our first time staying at hampton hotels. In fact we paid for three rooms and my dad even enrolled in "Hilton honors" program. His room was good and so was mine. However my sisters room had little spiders in it and was given another room which was not comparable to what she paid for. The following morning we asked for an extra hour of check out which is offered but was first asked if we were all together. After saying we were the lady at the counter said she would only give one room extended check out and that we would need to move our luggage to that room. At one point before normal checkout someone was sent to my room to check and see if we had left yet? This is according to my 14 yr old daughter that was in the room before answering the door. I thought that was rude and even said this to front desk. All I was told was no one has ever complained before. I asked for a manager and was told none was available. I left at checkout anyhow.MAD.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I would not stay here ever again! 1st, [I have pics] the bathroom in my room had many spiders and they were unable to give me a similar room to fit my needs. 2nd the pool was dirty! 3rd For being a holiday..they did not have enough towels.
The response to all of my troubles was we have never had this happen! No apology just its never happened before! REALLY DOUBT IT!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Portland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northshore Inn
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi - Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Corpus Christi Portland
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corpus Christi-Portland
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Address: 1705 Highway 181 North, Portland, TX 78374 (Formerly Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 miles from Corpus Christi on Highway 181, the Country Inn& Suites Portland offers easy access to numerous outdoor activities as well as restaurants that are within walking distance. The two bays surrounding our hotel provide excellent fishing, boating, sailing, swimming, water skiing, and birding. In Corpus Christi, visit the Texas State Aquarium, the USS Lexington Museum and the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History. Start each day of your visit with a free hot breakfast and relax in a comfortable room after a day of sightseeing or bird watching. Make sure to take advantage of the free high speed internet access during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi/Portland Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing