We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hayter St. Cast & Blast Group Back Again”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Taylor's Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port O'Connor, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FishBroke...
Hemphill, Texas
2 reviews
“Hayter St. Cast & Blast Group Back Again”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We booked this rental last year at the same time and it is such a great set up for what we were looking for we booked it again. Our group of 4 was getting together for its annual fishing and duck hunting weekend.Being able to keep our boat in a slip with a sling is very nice. Over all it offers most of what we need for our trip. Really there are only a few things that keep me from giving this rental 5 stars. I brought my own blow up bed this year since the small single in the upstairs bedroom is so low to the ground, its not bad for a kid but for an adult is a little hard to get up and down, a box spring would be nice. Also, a mounted flood light off the back deck for fishing or an underwater green light would be great. Again we brought our own lights but it would be nice not to have to carry lights with us. We did catch some trout and redfish under our lights so they were worth bringing. For a fishing or hunting trip, the house is a great place to stay and a great location to get to ramps, gas, groceries, and restaurants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2016
Thank you for your comments. The owner of this property will definitely take note of your suggestions
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on the ICW
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Great to hear you had such a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
415yvonne
Waco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We love this place. We have stayed in several places in Port O Connor and this is the best for fishing. This was the first time for the whole family and everyone had a blast. My son caught a 50 pound bull red off the back deck. We are already trying to figure out when we can all go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Great to hear you had such a good time and hope to see you soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishBroke...
Hemphill, Texas
2 reviews
“Hayter House Cast & Blast”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I booked this rental for me and 3 friends. We all lived together in college 20+ years ago and were getting together for a long weekend of fishing and hunting. This property was just about perfect for what we needed and where we needed it. The location was great for both the areas we fished and hunted, for the boat ramp, and for the main grocery/gas store. The boat slip and fishing cleaning station were a huge bonus and came in very handy. Also having a laundry house was nice too. The house had everything we needed and more. It had plenty of room for us and all our gear. The parking allowed for 3 big trucks and 2 boats.
The only things that would have made this house even better was if it had had flood lights and green light for night fishing (we did bring our own though), a large sectional couch with pull out in the living room instead of the couches that are there, and better mattresses. Also, a dog kennel where I could have been able to have brought my lab for hunting. The slap in there where one used to sit.
With all that being said, for the price of this rental I can do without those few things. I also loved the Cowan print on the wall. This particular print is of 4 friends who get together every year for a fishing trip. It was very fitting for our group.

We are already looking to come back in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and that it had a boat slip plus fishing cleaning station.
Liked least: mattresses
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rankin, Tx
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Waco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Boat slip which provided a great location on the intracoastal for launching to other fishing spots (Big Jetties or even the Army Hole).
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing