We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Lavaca(Port Lavaca)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn(Port Lavaca)(Great Value!)
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$69
$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Motel 6 Port Lavaca(Port Lavaca)
$82
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaparral Motel(Port Lavaca)
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
American Inn & Suites(Port O'Connor)
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Inn & Suites Victoria(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
51
32
6
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
32
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetlighthouse beachhot tubfresh fruitbottom floorroom was cleantoilet paperan upgradewould stay againbusiness tripportdeskhighwayharveyelevatorkeyshurricane
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 94 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent three nights there two weeks back. We got bay view rooms, which were absolutely worth the extra charge. There is nothing like waking up to that view. If is there anything that I regret was that for the price, the room was smaller than others we have stayed on, with no couch/living area, which is very useful when travelling with children. The dinning room and terrace looks out to the bay too, which our children loved! The staff was respectful, gentle, and caring. The lady at the main desk (I unfortunately didn't catch her name) went to the trouble of finding us an address for a local church and writing it by hand when the printer didn't work. The ladies at the dinning room were always patient and got everything that we asked for (within reason, of course). We enjoyed seeing dolphins every day from our room, and small crabs at night. The hotel has an enviable location, it's clean and their staff makes you feel welcome. The breakfast food was good, even the fruit was fresher than most hotels we have visited. The pool was clean, and the spa was also clean and working perfectly, which we have seen not happening in other hotels. The best way to show how much we enjoyed our visit was to hear our children to ask us 'not to leave" and to constatnly ask us on the way back "When are we going back? Can we go back tomorrow?" Thank you very much for a memorable visit, we will surely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Visitor56761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Visitor,

We are soooooooo delighted to hear you and your family had such a memorable stay. I cannot tell you how happy it makes us feel to know we are treating our guests like they should be. How cool your kids loved us. We love kids! Actually, we have a suite that has either a king or two queens. These rooms have a living area that has a sofa sleeper. But, the suites do not face the bay. Next time you are here we will be glad to show you the difference. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. It has definitely caused many smiles from the staff. We look forward to having your family with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First we arrived and they told us it would be an additional charge for a view of the bay. Okay, so were in our room 10 minutes and a boy about 11-12 years old opens are door with his key card and we are standing there looking like he's getting ready to rob us. I made our reservations on the internet and it was for 2 nights. The next day we go to breakfast and come back to our room and our key card doesn't work. Then we go out to dinner and come back to out room and again our key card doesn't work. First they tell us its our cell phone erasing the code and then they say we didn't say we were staying an additional night so they closed the key from working. (EXCUSE ME!!! I made reservations for 2 NIGHTS on the internet.) Needless to say we'll be staying at the La Quinta Inn next time down the street.

Room Tip: Our room was below running elephants
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skanniard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Skanniard,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I apologize for any inconvenience you may
have experienced while staying with us. It would be great to say that we don't make mistakes, but sadly we do. I will look into what might have happened and why someone was sent to your room. The clerk should not have assumed your keys were "wiped' out because of a cell phone. Often that is the case. We appreciate you letting us know about this. We will definitely inform the clerks and make sure this doesn't happen again. As far as being asked to pay more for a bay view room, if a standard room was originally reserved, then our bayview rooms are an upgrade and naturally would cost more. At our property, it is $5.00 more a day. If we didn't charge a little more and differentiate those rooms from standard, everyone would want one without having reserved it. We wish you happy traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I was in the area on business and made the right choice by staying here! Definitely request a bayside room as the views are amazing, breakfast was good, rooms were clean and comfortable. Only minor problem was my room was directly above the small workout room and someone was working at put 5 am one morning and I heard the machine below me - maybe a third floor room would have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianespence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Dianespence,

You are absolutely wonderful. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and tell us that we are doing our jobs in making sure guests have a relaxing and memorable time. Sorry about the early workout. We will be happy to get you on a higher floor or away from the exercise room next time you are with us. Truthfully the view on the upper level is even more breath-taking than on the lower ones. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you happy traveling.

Sincerely,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice stay in nice location. Checked in very quickly and checked out just as quickly. We used pool which wasnt anything fancy but decent. We also rented the bbq pit which was also nice under gazebo. We had to leave a deposit which was given back. Overall I would definately recommend this hotel when in Port Lavaca :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antsamnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the back area. This area is so relaxing. We could do some sprucing up in the pool area, but have sadly found any foliage/flowers we have in planters are so easily blown over by the occassional gust from the bay. Adding some color though would be an excellent idea. We do value your opinion and appreciate you as a guest. We will let the staff know that the service they provided is recognized. Again, thank you. Happy Traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

ON my way to Galveston I stayed at this hotel one night. the staff was friendly, i had a room ocean and pool view very nice. unfortunately the weather was not good. it was cold, windy and rainy day. the hotel is clean and the decoration is very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laamapola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

All of us here would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed the view and our service. It pleases us knowing we are being courteous to our guests. I agree though, the weather here sometimes puts a bit of a damper on all the fun and enjoyment one can have while here. Fortunately, there aren't too many bad days like that. We would love to have you come back and soak up some sun out at the pool. There always seems to be a nice, pleasant breeze. Again, thank you for chosing us and Happy Traveling!

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews