We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day 2013!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Port Lavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed on Valentine’s Day 2/14/13. We had bay view room #326, all I can say is AMAZING!!! From the first telephone contact to see if there was an available room to our checkout, everything was PERFECT. The staff, the room, the view, the fresh smell, the bed & linens, the housekeeping, TOP NOTCH. I was so impressed that we actually had CUISINART COFFEE POT, not the silly little coffee pods, we actually brewed a 4cup pot of coffee! We missed breakfast but that was because I forgot it was over at 9:30 weekdays, I thought it was 10 am but that is for weekends. Our room was nicely decorated and SPOTLESS!! Wifi was flawless! A perfect location on the bay and we had a beautiful bay view from our room. It was too chilly to use the pool and hot tub but it was so inviting as our room was almost directly over the hot tub and it looked just as spotless as the room.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

WOW!!!! You make us blush. Actually, thank you so so much for such a glowing review. Hearing such happy remarks like yours makes us feel appreciated and reminds us of why we do what we do. I am excited that your stay was so memorable. I wish every guest can experience such a wonderful time with us. Thank you again. You sincerely made our week. Come back and see us. Take care and Happy Traveling.

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is located on the bay with bay view rooms. It's nice to wake up in the morning facing the bay. The only thing is they don't have rooms with balcony, however they do have public balcony facing the bay which is very relaxing. The staff is great and the rooms are nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tayja71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We want to thank you so much for your comments. It is absolutely wonderful to hear we are doing our job in making sure your stay was and will always be memorable and beyond expectations. We hope you come back and visit us again. Oh, bring friends. Happy Traveling.

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

the check in staff was great the room spotless nice bed breakfast perfect location god nice view of the port lavaca bay once they are finished remodeling and the paint dry's this will be a very nice place

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience with us. We responded shortly after your review posted, but since the response didn't post, we shall try again. The staff truly appreciates hearing such praise. Hearing that we are doing well, makes us feel good as we strive to make sure everyone's stay is memorable. The views ARE spectacular and we want to know that our customer service is just as spectacular.

We were doing some minor touch ups recently and will always be doing them, just to make sure the appearance of our property, and your home away from home, will always look new and fresh. Sometimes though maintaining and upkeep does pose an inconvenience to guests, so we apologize if any work was a bit unsightly.

We would love to welcome you back. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts. Happy Travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nicely located on the bay. Great views from your room. The rooms are spotless clean with comfortable furniture and bedding. The staff were very friendly, polite and eager to please. A good value. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn. Nice free breakfast service.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I would like to thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the property and staff. I will make sure everyone know about your review. I am super excited you enjoyed your stay. It's a good feeling to know we did a good job. Please come back anytime. Thanks so much and Happy Traveling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Checked in Saturday night with no bites and woke up next morning with red dots all over my legs. Two hours later they turned into welts. I looked it up on the internet and they were bed bug bites - confirmed by my doctor. I have over 100 of them. According to the hotel, they didn't find any evidence of bed bugs and don't believe my bites are from their hotel (what else do you think they would say?), so I guess I slept walked to another hotel and got the bed bug bites that magically appeared all over my legs the night I stayed in their room! Don't stay here!!!! This experience has been miserable and I didn't ask for anything from them but a refund of my $100 night charge!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLWeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

All staff at the Holiday Inn Express Port Lavaca take guest safety, comfort and health to heart. We are in this business because we enjoy creating memories for guests while they are with us. While we feel what you experienced is unfortunate, there has been no evidence that your room is or was infected with bed bugs. Not only did the entire management team thoroughly inspect this room, we had a highly qualified and licensed exterminator thoroughly inspect the room (bed, linens, carpet) TWICE and he too found no evidence. Furthermore, there have been four other guests who have stayed in the same room as you and there have been no reports from them. Again, we sympathize with your condition but firmly believe it was not caused at our property. If anyone would like to see the exterminator's reports, please feel free to contact the hotel management and we will be happy to share them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I stayed here on 8/16 for 3 nights since we were in town for a wedding. The room was very clean and we had a great view of the bay. We talked to the cleaning staff a few times during our stay and they were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was okay. There were plenty of choices. The hard boiled eggs were the best and a nice change from the scrambled (powdered) eggs. The pool was really nice, but there were never enough towels. I spoke to an employee at the pool and asked for towels and he called the cleaning staff and they brought two towels. There were 3 in our family and another family of 3 at the pool. I had to ask again to bring more towels. The last night, we went for a late evening swim and no towels again. The young blond girl at the front desk referred us to Tropics when we inquired about a good seafood restaurant. The place is located on the bay and has a great view. BUT that was it. The seafood was not fresh, it was frozen. The service was sub-par. We ate there on a Thursday night and they ran our of salad and baked potatoes. When I was finished with my meal, they asked if I still wanted my potato. When I complained, they offered to substitute it for a dessert. Don't eat here, if the staff at the hotel refers you. Not sure how this restaurant stays in business.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPortLavaca, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

I want to thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you had a pleasurable stay, although not having enough pool towels is not acceptable. We will do our best to make sure there are plenty available. I appreciate you bringing that to our attention. I apologize that you did not enjoy your visit to the restaurant suggested. Usually, they are highly recommendable. The clerk, however should have given you more options and a variety of options. There are several great places to eat at. Again, thank you for reviewing us. We hope you come back to Port Lavaca. Take care and Happy Traveling.

Sincerely,
Jeff Sabedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The room was clean and pleasant, well-appointed with a comfortable bed. The hotel sits on the edge of the bay with a great view from the common balcony... a good place to unwind. Keep in mind the hotel is raised ~12-15 feet above water level and the parking lot, so everything is UP, as in stairs or elevator. The complimentary breakfast is good if routine. Only two coffee choices, no gourmet stuff. Fresh - and very good - chocolate chip cookies are at the desk in the evening.

Room Tip: It costs more, but consider a bay side room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPLTX, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Jim K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We find our views great also. It's a great way to step away from everything and relax. We look forward to you continuing to choose us. Let us know if we can be of further assistance. Happy Traveling!

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Lavaca
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Lavaca
10.8 mi away
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn
#3 of 8 in Port Lavaca
152 reviews
18.3 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Port O'Connor
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca

Address: 2629 State Highway 35 N, Port Lavaca, TX 77979-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Lavaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Port Lavaca
Price Range: $145 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing