We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel, very clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Port Lavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New hotel, very clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Port Lavaca is a very small coastal community, and this recently-opened hotel is clean, welcoming, and comfortable. The rooms are a nice size, and include a refrigerator and microwave. Beds are really cozy, with luxury pillows and linens and a down-filled comforter. Free breakfast in the lobby with coffee, tea, juices, a toaster and spreads for the breads, bagels, and muffins, and an interesting automatic pancake machine. You'll be directly across a small highway from a lovely coastal birdwalk, with a wooden walkway extending out over the water. We stayed here to visit family, and would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kapingram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
23
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, texas, usa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Made reservation via telephone directly to hotel, who had same price as any of the on-line reservation sites. On-line couldn't guarantee a bayside view, whereas the manager on-site did for an extra $5.00 per night. Perhaps being "off season" there wasn't anything to view in the bay other than a couple power plants. For being less than a year old, the room was rather shabby, furniture showing extensive wear. A/C worked really well, but temp in room got very warm at night even setting the thermostat below 70 degrees. On-site desk person was new to the area so couldn't provide recommendations for nearby seafood restaurants or sites to see, but fortunately I'd already researched eateries and historic sites on-line before I'd left home. Breakfast was pretty good but sausage patties were very greasy, had to pat them down with paper napkins. Might stay again if I ever visited the area again.

Room Tip: the bayside rooms are additional cost, but there's not really anything to see other than the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed here only a week after it had opened. There were only three other rooms booked that night, so it was a very quiet stay.

The GM was wonderful and went to no end of trouble to make sure our stay was comfortable. He told us about local restuarants, parks for the kids, hotel and room amenities. He was also very helpful when our microwave wasn't heating our frozen lasagne and let us use the commerical one in their kitchen.

The location was awesome. The breakfast room faces the bay, as did our room. It was too cold for us to swim, but if there is water our kids will be in it. So while they were in the pool we sat in the pool area looking over the bay. There is also an outdoor patio area for guest to sit on deck chairs too, which is a nice touch.

The entrance is a little tricky when trying to find the property but you can see the HI well before you get to it.

Great holiday, especially for the price, and best location in Port Lavaca.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great Service we checked in early with no reservations, no problem. When asked about the pool while checking in the manager handed me 2 extra towels immediately and told come back anytime for more if none were at the pool side.

Room Tip: Ask for late check out (2pm) if your somebody that wants to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I don't usually choose to stay with the Holiday Inn brand (I'm a Hilton snob) but like the last guy this hotel has a great location. I experienced nothing but excellent service my entire stay. The rooms were spotless and the staff was amazing. The GM was one of the most personable hotel people that I've ever dealt with and his leadership shows.

I wasn't so impressed with the choice of colors in the room (teal?), but the room was clean and comfy. It was nice to sit at the patio over looking the bay at night while our daughter swam in the pool, nice touch. The breakfast was the typical free hot breakfast but was very good.

If every Holiday Inn hotel was like this one I would cash in my Hilton points and stay exclusively with Holiday Inn, but alas it seems as this one is a needle in a haystack with it comes to this brand.

Nice work, keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is a two month old property that sits directly on Lavaca Bay. Best location in town. We arrived an hour before check-in. We were sent to a room that had not made up yet. OK, no worries, come back in an hour. We come back at the appointed time, no room. Come back in 15 minutes, no room. Now we get, "we will come get you when it is ready". 40 minutes later, we go check on the room, no room. After 20 more minutes, I asked to see the manager, no manager, but the phone rings and our room is ready. Not a great start.
The room was fine, hey it was new! The property was not in the kind of condition you would expect for a new place. Not great attention to detail. We are hoping to come sailing here 3-4 times a year. I hope HIE figures out that they are not getting the best out of the money they have invested. Be a damn shame to have to stay up the street, like I said, the location is awesome.

Room Tip: You want a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makinmajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Lavaca
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Lavaca
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Lavaca Inn
BEST WESTERN Port Lavaca Inn
#3 of 8 in Port Lavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Victoria - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Lone Star Inn & Suites
Lone Star Inn & Suites
#12 of 23 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast
18.3 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Port O'Connor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca
Address: 2629 State Highway 35 N, Port Lavaca, TX 77979-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Lavaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Port Lavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing