We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of La Antigua

La Antigua
Ranked #19 of 48 Restaurants in Port Lavaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: A really great restaurant with a very low publicity profile in a town with generally poor restaurant choices. You should add this one.
Restaurant details
Description: A really great restaurant with a very low publicity profile in a town with generally poor restaurant choices. You should add this one.
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant has a different name on sign. Deep fried avocado was good. Drinks are are weak. It was busy but great service. A lot of families so it was very loud. If your looking for a quiet meal this isn't the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baileysmom2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Great Mexican Restrauant. Had deep fried avacodo stuffed with shrimp, never had this before and it was great along with their tortilla soup. We also had seafood enchilada it to was excellent. You need to use trip advisor in order to find this, unless your going for Mexican Restrauants. Would come back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mexican food - great value”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I took a party of six in here, kind of randomly. It turned out to be a huge surprise - the food was outstanding, the portions were large, the margaritas were tasty, and the service was quick and pleasant. Wow. They really fired on all cylinders. We will drive from Palacios to Port Lavaca a lot more often now. Get the fajitas with the creamy wine sauce - very tasty!.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic...............”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is awesome, clean, food presentation was beautiful, and the food was exceptional....Will definitely drive 2 hours back to eat there again. We were in Port Lavaca for the Flip Flop BBQ cookoff...and was ready for something beside BBQ... soooo glad we found this place. Exceptional...... Thanks, IBCA Judges and their team... Mike and Julie Jonas, Glenn and Catherine Haas...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Food in Port Lavaca, Texas - La Antigua, no longer called La Parilla”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

La Parilla is now La Antigua and is at the same location. I love the "El Pescador," which is grilled shrimp, onions, garlic, tomatoes, mushrooms, cilantro, and fresh jalapenos sautéed in white wine sauce. I also love their salsa, the "Chicken Pescador" and margaritas. The best Mexican style restaurant in Port Lavaca for sure! Service can be slow, but well worth the wait and the prices are great for what you get and I don't even eat the tortillas/beans/rice. I order the dish just for the shrimp or chicken and veggies in the sauce along with the salsa! I do wish that they would bottle and sell the salsa!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Antigua also viewed

Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing